We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welsh oasis of hospitality”
Review of Hafan Deg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hafan Deg
Ranked #1 of 2 Maeshafn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Welsh oasis of hospitality”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Cat Smith is an innkeeper par excellence. Staying at Hafan Deg (Fair Haven) is like being at home in the green countryside of Wales. I stayed one night while walking Offa's Dyke National Path. Cat picked me up, settled me in, and provided for my every need. Breakfast was wonderful as was the packed lunch. I stayed about an hour longer in the morning, reluctant to bring our pleasant conversation to a close. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noughte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
73
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

After a tough day's walking the Offa's Dyke, Cat went above and beyond all our expectations to make us welcome and comfortable. A wonderful comfy bed, a fantastic pub literally just yards up the lane, chickens in the garden, great breakfast, and Cat even picked us up from the trail, dropping us back there the next morning to continue our walk.
Thank you Cat for being such a welcoming host in such lovely peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 619Graham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived at Hafen Deg in the early evening of Monday 2nd June, and were welcomed by Cat before we even got to the door. Immediately I knew we would get along well, Cat is a very hospitable host, always laughing.... We were shown to the double room which is on the ground floor, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The tea tray had lovely biscuits, good quality tea/coffee and two bottles of water. There was a good supply of towels and toiletries. Cat suggested that if we wanted a meal we could try the local pub just up the road...so after freshening up we walked to The Miners Arms, and were very surprised to be welcomed and shown to a table which Cat had very kindly reserved for us...next to her table :) To be eating a meal next to your host and her family could have been a bit awkward... but we all chatted and had a good laugh, especially at the end of the meal, when the landlord hadn't got any Disaronno or Bailey's... We walked back to Hafan Deg and had a wander round the extensive garden, what a lovely peaceful place with a great view. Within minutes we were joined by David with Colin and Hamish the beautiful Labradors....and Cat with some Disaronno and Bailey's..which was thoughtful and much appreciated. Following a good nights sleep we went for breakfast, into the family's own dining room, there was plenty to choose from... fresh fruit and yoghurt, Dorset cereals, juices etc. followed by an extensive breakfast menu. The food was cooked absolutely perfectly and as I requested... 'very' lightly cooked scrambled eggs and black pudding. I also enjoyed the Welsh Honey Marmalade. We were royally entertained by Darcy while she was eating her second breakfast. We left feeling that we had spent time at a friends home and not a B&B. Thanks for the laughs...

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and I am sure that they are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Since our last stay at Hafan Deg which was excellent, it was an absolute pleasure to return. Cat , David ,Darcy and all ,make it a real family affair and the quality of bedroom and breakfast even better than last time. We feel we have made new friends and this is no doubt due to the wonderful attitude Cat displays towards her guests. Darcy is a delight and 2 nights weren't enough, we look forward to staying in contact and visiting again in the near future, perhaps with parents to share the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyEpstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Cat made us very welcome and our room was large, clean and well decorated. Hafan Deg is situated in a very beautiful area and is a walkers paradise. We enjoyed a great breakfast, including white pudding which was excellently seasoned. The only downside was the scrambled egg, which I specifically asked for to be be kept soft, but was overcooked.
If you are in the area, or planning to go, book with Cat. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here with another couple for just one night on sat 26th, wish it could have been for longer as was sad to leave. Cat was an excellent host and certainly does make you feel like a friend and not a guest. Both rooms are amazing one with a great view and the other with its own garden space. Breakfast was awesome with everything you can imagine. Try the miners arms which is within walking distance for a evening meal, food is fantastic.Have got to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker choose the room at the back of the house or if you want a fabulous view to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just stayed the one night. Our room was a good size and very well equipped. Decor clean and fresh. Very substantial breakfast. All of the usual continental offerings, hearty local cooked food and even porridge which will keep my wife on the go all day.
You are made to feel very welcome and Cat is an excellent host.
With some much choice in the area the Hafan Deg stands out as real quality. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a room with a small garden for dog owners, the Windsor I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John14152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maeshafn
4.4 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
7.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
6.1 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hafan Deg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafan Deg

Property: Hafan Deg
Address: Village Road, Maeshafn, Mold CH7 5LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Mold > Maeshafn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Maeshafn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hafan Deg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hours drive from Liverpool and Manchester and thirty minutes from the historic city of Chester yet situated on a hillside, on the edge of the quiet hamlet of Maeshafn you will find Hafan Deg. Surrounded by forest and set in three quarters of an acre of natural garden, Hafan Deg sits perfectly in its surroundings within the tranquillity of The Clwydian Range. This area has been designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty whose landscapes, culture, flora and fauna are considered an asset to the nation. Within striking distance of Offa's Dyke Natural Trail, Llandegla Mountain Bike Trails, Snowdonia and the North Wales coast you will have no shortage of things to do. Hafan Deg is a unique house, full of character and offering high quality accommodation. You will sleep well in our large comfortable beds and be offered breakfast in the spacious slate-floored dining hall complete with a high beamed ceiling. Whether visiting the area for pleasure or on business, guests are sure of a warm welcome from Dominic and Sandrine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hafan Deg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing