We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place, Lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hafan Deg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hafan Deg
Ranked #1 of 2 Maeshafn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place, Lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December '13, we were welcomed my the lovely Cat, who made us feel right at home. The room was big with a queen bed and flat screen TV, the bathroom was big with bath and separate shower and the underfloor heating was lovely after a days walking! Perfect for our dog too as our room had its own little garden. We will definitely be going back time and time again. Overall a great B&B, with lovely staff. :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
65
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

i am away from home quite often and have stopped in many different b&b.this is quiet simpley the best i have ever found.cat the owner is a diamond,she makes you feel so at home you could be part of the family.super modern but with a great feel you cannot help but relax.nice pub just down the road but carefull dont eat to much as cats breakfast is a knockout.just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Honestly the reception you'll receive at this lovely little B&B is almost beyond words Catriona and her wonderful family make you feel so welcome its ridiculous. Talk about home from home! A location that is truly stunning, a hearty breakfast more suitable to a king and hints and tips for the surrounding area of what to do and where to go in abundance. Quite honestly by missing out on a stay at Hafan Deg and you're really missing out. Keep up the impeccable work Cat and massive thanks for everything Al x

Room Tip: The Windsor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlBane847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Hafen Deg whilst visiting family in nearby Mold. Cat is one of the loveliest people and her hospitality is amazing. We arrived about 7 and were shown to our rooms. As a family of 5 we were given all the guest accommodation. Our sons had the spacious twin room, we had the suite with a huge bed whilst our daughter had the cosy single next door. Our room had a lovely sitting area. The underfloor heating was a treat as were the electric blankets. Such a comfortable nights sleep.

We ate at the local pub - good food and ale! The next morning we spent a good hour over breakfast, so much delicious food. Unfortunately we only stayed one night but plan to return. Lovely family, dogs, home, an absolute pleasure to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

You may ask, was my last review just pie-in-the-sky? Was I merely carried away with the moment? Did enthusiasm cloud my judgement? Was I being a bit poncey? Nope!! Not a bit of it! We (myself, wife and aged ma-in-law) went back, 6 and a bit months after the last time. Not only was it every bit as good, it was better! This time, the eggs were freshly laid by Cat's own Rhode Island Reds (Ruth, Rebecca and Rachel) and you wouldn't believe how good they were. The eggs, that is, although the hens were pretty well behaved, if slightly peckish! The brecky was, as ever, enough to keep you going through the day, Cat was, as ever, one of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet, the welcome was, as ever, 110% and the Enjoyment-Factor was, as ever about 130%. Little Darcy was, as ever, a bundle of joy. Oh, did I mention, the beds were so comfortable that getting up was a major wrench? Hasta la vista, chum! And the sooner the better!

Room Tip: It won't matter - they're all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafydd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visiting family in the area, this was a fantastic find, In a small hillside village close to a market town. We were impressed by the location as we drove up but meeting Cat and entering Hafan Deg we immediately felt at home. Our room was well appointed with 2 comfortable beds (made up as superking), oustanding views, tea/coffee facility (well stocked including fresh milk), wifi, TV and good bathroom.
That evening we walked to the local Pub, the Miners Arms, for drinks and dinner with family who had driven out to meet us. It's a realy friendly "Local", apparently the hub of the village.
Breakfasts were a joy with a veritable feast on offer and all the better for chatting with Cat as she served us..
We stayed 2 nights and were sorry to leave but having found Cat and Hafan Deg we know we will be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mjpa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. It is so convenient for touring the area, in the middle of a tiny village but not too far from the main road. You will never be disappointed with a stay here, Cat greeted us like old friends and gave us fresh coffee and cake. Our room was lovely with a seating area and also a private outdoor area with decking, seats and a table. We also had a single room within our "suite" which Cat said would be handy if my husband snores! Breakfast was superb. There are plenty of mirrors in the room, hung in very convenient places with plenty of light, perfect for getting ready to go to a wedding. Really sorry to say goodbye to Cat and family, felt like we had known her forever and were leaving a lovely and dear friend. Hope to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maeshafn
4.4 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Plas Hafod Hotel
Plas Hafod Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
6.1 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hafan Deg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafan Deg

Property: Hafan Deg
Address: Village Road, Maeshafn, Mold CH7 5LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Mold > Maeshafn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Maeshafn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hafan Deg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hours drive from Liverpool and Manchester and thirty minutes from the historic city of Chester yet situated on a hillside, on the edge of the quiet hamlet of Maeshafn you will find Hafan Deg. Surrounded by forest and set in three quarters of an acre of natural garden, Hafan Deg sits perfectly in its surroundings within the tranquillity of The Clwydian Range. This area has been designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty whose landscapes, culture, flora and fauna are considered an asset to the nation. Within striking distance of Offa's Dyke Natural Trail, Llandegla Mountain Bike Trails, Snowdonia and the North Wales coast you will have no shortage of things to do. Hafan Deg is a unique house, full of character and offering high quality accommodation. You will sleep well in our large comfortable beds and be offered breakfast in the spacious slate-floored dining hall complete with a high beamed ceiling. Whether visiting the area for pleasure or on business, guests are sure of a warm welcome from Dominic and Sandrine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hafan Deg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing