We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ........”
Review of Hafan Deg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hafan Deg
Ranked #1 of 2 Maeshafn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing ........”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a surprise to come here and meet up with an ex student running the most amazing B&B. We have stayed in quite a few but this little gem, hidden amongst the most wonderful scenery beats them all .

Cat, David and the girls made us so welcome from the time we stepped out of our car to when we left. The house is amazing, our room was huge with a separate seating area and our own private garden and the bed was so comfortable. And then, the most fantastic breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble for Cat and she even made sure we had fruit and drinks when we set out for the day.

Excellent, luxury and unbeatable. What a lovely family, who helped to ensure we had a special few days. We'll be back very soon.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic, one has views, the other a private garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcyduck, Owner at Hafan Deg, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I hope the zip wire experience went well and good luck with the rest of the fundraising! X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
71
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed for one night on Thursday 15/8 as part of an activity break in N.Wales to raise sponsorship for a community support trip to Africa.
We were abseiling and zip wiring on the Friday so we needed to be refreshed and ready for the tasks ahead on Friday morning and the owner, Cat, could not have been any more welcoming or helpful. From tea and crumpets when we first arrived to booking a table for us at the local pub everything was perfect.
We stayed in the 2 bedroom family section and both rooms were very comfortable, warm and had Tv'S with integral DVD players.
Breakfast was substantial and tasty!
Cat's warm and lovely approach even extended to sponsoring my daughter to do the Friday activities! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time at the hafan deg, we were stayed for two nights for a friends wedding at the plas hafod as its is not too far to travel to. It is in a lovely location very pretty and peaceful and some great walking areas. Our room was lovely very spacious with a lovely little private garden out the back. Big selection for breakfast e.g pastries, yoghurt,cereals and of course a fantastic full breakfast with fresh eggs supplied by the resident hens! Also had dinner at the local pub(miners arms) just down the road which cat had booked for us, good tasty food there aswell. We will definitely visit again when we hav more time on our hands to do more of the walking in the surrounding areas . Big thank you to cat& her lovely family for being so welcoming and we can't wait to try out he hot tub which had just been installed when we arrived;))

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martiwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We can't wait to come back to this B&B. My boyfriend and I stayed here to celebrate my birthday and our first night away as a couple. I originally found bryntirion but it was booked up and they recommended Hafen Deg. It turned out to be our little haven.
Maeshafn is a wonderful tiny countryside village on the outskirts of Mold and has a lovely pub (Miners arms) down the road from Hafan Deg.
After making a wrong turn and ending up in the middle of the woods, we eventually found a place to turn around and found the correct drive way. If you come to the Hafan Deg, after you come through the village, make sure you stay on the right hand side. There's a tiny sign which we missed until it was too late.
The owners Cat and Dave (and their family) were warm and welcoming. Cat showed us to the family room and where everything was. This room had a small seating area but best of all, there was a door to get to a small patio area which was a little sun trap. We sat out cuddling up on the rocking bench having a pre-meal drink. We had our evening meal at the local pub Miner's arms (which was great food).
The room was comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. Even the bathroom had a bottle of radox bubble bath!
We'd read on here about the great breakfast but we could hardly move after Cat's breakfasts! There was so much choice, even what time would be best for us. Let's just say, the fried breakfast set us up for the night of partying ahead of us.
Would we go back, yes we can't wait to book again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is almost certainly the best B&B I have stayed in, we couldn’t have asked for a more friendly and welcoming experience from start to finish. We were guests at a wedding locally and were greeted by Bucks Fizz (the drink, not the 1980's band), tea & coffee on arrival by the owner and even given a lift later that day to the wedding venue to save a taxi fare. We truly could not have been made to feel more welcome all weekend. The accommodation itself is set in beautiful countryside and a short walk to a small village including a pleasant local pub. Rooms are spacious and immaculately presented, clean and have everything you might need. Breakfast was also freshly cooked, lovely food. Cannot fault the place at all and hope to be back in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcyduck, Owner at Hafan Deg, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hafan Deg and very much look forward to seeing you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely B&B after a meeting in the area and were amazed. We only live 10 miles from Maeshafn but were pleased that we opted to have a night away. Cat and David were superb hosts and the room was nothing short of 5*. The bed was comfortable and the room was beautifully laid out leaving us wanting for nothing.
Cat is bubbly and entertaining and nothing seems to be too much trouble for her. She really makes you feel relaxed and at home.

This B&B is an absolute gem and we will be recommending to friends and family who are visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've been in a goodly few B&Bs over the past 40 years or so, but this one came as a surprise. There's Good, there's Very Good, there's Incredibly Good, there's Outstandingly Good and then there's Hafan Deg. Never have I been made to feel so welcome, the family were really lovely (especially 3-year old Darcy), and the coffee with biscuits within 5 minutes of walking through the door were more than welcome. The beds were absolutely fantastic, the house really full of character ....... and then there was the breakfast! How Cat managed to heap so much on one (large) plate is totally beyond me, and there was toast and home made jam to follow!!! (OK, so I could have had the peanut butter, Golden Syrup, marmalade. Nutella, Marmite or million other spreads, but you can't beat home-made!) The views from the garden are incredible (a much over-used word, but I can't think of a better one) and it was all set in some of the most tranquil scenery in the British Isles. We all say we are going to go back, but how often do we? Well, I've already booked, that's how good it is. Furthermore. I'm looking forward to it. Oh, and the coffee in the rooms is Filter coffee, which is rarer than hen's teeth, so therefore a real treat. Better it elsewhere if you can, but trust me, you're going to be pushed!!!

Room Tip: Look, don't just hang about wondering, do something about it before somebody beats you to it! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafydd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcyduck, Owner at Hafan Deg, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
It was a pleasure having you to stay at Hafan Deg and look forward to your return visit in October! X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maeshafn
4.4 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
1.7 mi away
Plas Hafod Hotel
Plas Hafod Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gwernymynydd
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
447 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hafan Deg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafan Deg

Property: Hafan Deg
Address: Village Road, Maeshafn, Mold CH7 5LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Mold > Maeshafn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Maeshafn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hafan Deg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hours drive from Liverpool and Manchester and thirty minutes from the historic city of Chester yet situated on a hillside, on the edge of the quiet hamlet of Maeshafn you will find Hafan Deg. Surrounded by forest and set in three quarters of an acre of natural garden, Hafan Deg sits perfectly in its surroundings within the tranquillity of The Clwydian Range. This area has been designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty whose landscapes, culture, flora and fauna are considered an asset to the nation. Within striking distance of Offa's Dyke Natural Trail, Llandegla Mountain Bike Trails, Snowdonia and the North Wales coast you will have no shortage of things to do. Hafan Deg is a unique house, full of character and offering high quality accommodation. You will sleep well in our large comfortable beds and be offered breakfast in the spacious slate-floored dining hall complete with a high beamed ceiling. Whether visiting the area for pleasure or on business, guests are sure of a warm welcome from Dominic and Sandrine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hafan Deg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing