We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our most enjoyable meal....”

Le Rocher De Malendure
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Basse-Terre
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our most enjoyable meal....”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had been looking for this restaurant on our drive past Plage de Malendure, and thought it would be on the left. It is on the sea side, and we were there at night, a sunday, after a day of snorkling. There was one table occupied, per level, so lots of privacy... and we laughed when asked if we had reservations! the place was barely occupied! I froze for a minute, thinking we'd be turned away. If you have a reservation, you get a seat by the railing. My husband said "I guess you get a better view of the darkness with a reservation."... so we did not have the view others have spoken of. But we got great food. We ordered 4 entrees, not to be confused with "mains" , the heavier portion. of american meals..." entrees" here are what we call appetizers. The presentation was wonderful. And rum had nothing to do with it, .... we only shared a local beer... sooo tired from being in the sun/water for the day...The " Feroce Avocat" we'd ordered everywhere on Gwada, and this one was great: smoked fish spriralling out of the top like a volcano....Then a pureed fish soup that was unusual, delicious, mysterious and served with a mustard mayo to dip our bread into. A salade crudite, lightly dressed with something silky, then poisson en brochette, with a different salad....a delightful evening...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Underhill_VTfromVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    192
    62
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Frozen seafood”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a "pierrade" entrée like it was recommended to us but found that the fish pieces were tasteless, and probably frozen. I guess it was still fun to grill our own fish. The sauces for the fish were so-so.
The atmosphere was nice, overlooking the sea. Service was so-so also. The waiter that we had (probably in training) told us the "pierrade" was "bourratif", meaning to say that it was enough for two people (french for "it will stuff you up"). Poor choice of words but true...
Les beignets de ballaous as appetizers were good on the other hand.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanmarc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan, italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“terrific raw fish - reallyboutstanding in gwada”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

very nice position, excellent wide menu, good wine list - we has a fantastic poisson "a la pierrade" for two, (raw marlin, tuna, dorado), an impressive ceviche, really good desserts - it is a new management but the quality is excellent, one of the best restaurant we ever visited in the caribbean

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silkroad91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, NL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Dont miss the "fondant au chocolat" and the sashimi”
Reviewed March 20, 2010

excellent restaurant, great fresh fish and dont forget to leave space for a dessert, the fondant au chocolat with a fresh vanilla pod inside is just the best ever:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gensac
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant In Guadaloupe”
Reviewed January 29, 2010

If you go the Guadaloupe this is not to be missed. I was there in November 2009. The restaurant is perched on a small cliff overlooking the Caribean. The restaurant is open air on a wooden terrace. It specialises in seafood althouth there are other dishes available. I ate there twice with my wife and enjoyed it immensly both times. The menu is imaginative and has a modern feel. There is an "Vivier" where you select live crawfish and they cook it for you. We ate shasimi of Tuna; Marlin in coconut; crawfish etc... They have a very interesting childrens menu that is not "chicken nuggets". The restaurant has a range of menus. We had a very reasonably priced menu for lunch but of course we splashed out for the evening. I have attached a couple of photos of the restaurant interior and one from a dive boat looking at the restaurant to give an idea of the location. We dressed very simply for lunch the first time having just finished diving. The second time was our wedding anniversary in the evening where we dressed up. I am a foodie and found this to be the best restaurant on Guadaloupe so dont miss it. They also have bungalows with views over the sea. If we went to Guadaloupe again I would give these a look as the location is perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tofty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rocher De Malendure also viewed

Bouillante, Basse-Terre Island
Bouillante, Basse-Terre Island
 
Basse-Terre, Basse-Terre Island
Bouillante, Basse-Terre Island
 
Bouillante, Basse-Terre Island
Bouillante, Basse-Terre Island
 

Been to Le Rocher De Malendure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing