We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in West Wales - unexpectedly excellent fare”
Review of TyGlyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TyGlyn
Ranked #1 of 4 Ciliau Aeron B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived from Italy, London, The Cotswold and Swansea through rolling countryside and undulating hills for the first time as guests of TyGlyn hotel on a weekend break in time for tea and scones. I chose the venue for our get together as we do not live near to each other and wanted to spend quality time together. We are brother and sisters and spouses - 8 in all. We were pleasantly surprised by our rooms and crisp clean white bedding and towels as well as teamaking facilities. Each room was light and airy with good views over the garden. Sigh of relief for me as all approved of my choice.

We all met for breakfast at 9 am the following day nd were happy to be served by smiling waitresses and piping hot top quality breakfast. What a start to the day. We ate out on the first night by the harbour where the weather sheltered us with its warmth. On the second night we had our meal at the hotel as we had paid for two nights as well as breakfast and one night's dinner. The food and service can only be described at cordon bleu. All courses were perfect, matched only by perfect service. We wished we had eaten at the hotel the previous night.

Needless to say, I had high praise from my brother and sisters for choosing this hotel and I have the highest praise for TyGlyn and fine dining we received there. Luckily I had booked this weekend break since January 2014 and even luckier, the weather was perfect for sightseeing.

West Wales was an eye opener for those who had not gone there before. The people and the food gave us one of the most memorable times and we will definitely go back.

Claudette Cordelia

Room Tip: I telephoned before booking to check out the room situations and any special need I had.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claudettecordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for TyGlyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We go for Sunday lunch regularly, find that everything is excellent , food improved to very high standard since new chef took over, treated like family by all the Staff, lovely lunchtime, will keep going.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Some friends had booked a two night stay here on a Groupon deal, & had invited us down to have dinner with them. We thought it would be a good idea to book a room for the night, so we didn't have to drive home & could all have breakfast together. I heard good reports from work colleagues who had eaten here.
We were in room 10, on arrival there was an overpowering smell of airfreshner. The hotel allows dogs, & there were doggy nose marks on the low windows, we also found hairpins on the floor. The room looked like it had been recently decorated, but the carpet was old & stained. The wardrobe & chest of drawers didn't match, & there was only one chair. The tea tray was on the dressing table in front of the mirror so had to be moved when drying hair doing make-up etc. The shower room was nice & bright, but there were dirty marks on the back of the door, could have been cleaner. The toilet is in a corner by the side of the shower cubicle(no bath) & is a bit cramped, not much elbow room. The walls are very thin & you can hear people talking in the next room, & hear them flushing the loo in the night. We found the bed to be comfortable but the pillows were quite hard, so didn't sleep too well. In the hallways & stairs the wallpaper is peeling & looks shabby.
Our dinner was fine, good choices on the menu. Breakfast consisted of small boxes of cereals, (no fruit or grapefruit), orange juice only. Cooked selection was one rasher of bacon one sausage, one egg, 1/2 tomato & mushrooms, & toast. The staff were attentive, & the hotel is is a nice peacefull location. We paid £100 for one night b&b, which seemed expensive for what we got, I was expecteing better, the hotels website makes it look like a really classy place. I would say that if you had this on a groupon or similar deal then it probabily is good value. They have a fair bit of work to do, & I would suggest they pay more attention to cleaning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdinaCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have just returned from a two day break with Amazon Local. Very peaceful and quiet location. I think this establishment is probably a work in progress. We checked in, our room was ok, small points that you could pick holes in, but nothing major that would detract from a short break. We sat in the lovely garden and thoroughly enjoyed watching the Red Kites which were in abundance all through our journey in this beautiful part of Wales. We were served a cream tea whilst enjoying the serenity of the surroundings. Evening meal was taken and the food was good, the wine was averagely priced. Breakfast was fine. There were lots of places to travel to from this location. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, but there were lovely gardens surrounding our view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonnedate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I spent one night half board here with my husband and two friends, it was booked through Amazon Local, amazing deal, we were checked in by two friendly staff on reception, we were in room 10 which was large bright and clean, the beds were comfortable, one double and one twin,
lovely bathroom, white fluffy towels, plenty of hot water in a nice roomy shower, the TV was a bit dated, not a problem for us as we didn't switch it on. Our friends also had a very nice room, smaller room 8,with lovely views. As It was a lovely warm evening we had a few drinks outside,
very pleasant looking out over the fields. Our meal was excellent, well presented, and delicious,
more than plenty of everything from a varied menu, we could not fault it, service was very good,
the staff were very obliging friendly and attentive. We all enjoyed the cooked breakfast, again good service from friendly staff. We would stay here again, when the refurbishment is completed
it will be a perfect peaceful country retreat.

Room Tip: Room 8 has lovely views, Room 10 is large and bright looking over a car park across to fields
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hairset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding here in May and what a lovely place it is. Sadly the weather wasn't in our favour to appreciate the grounds and the views around the hotel. As we travelled quite far we was lucky enough to stay in the hotel for the night. The room was lovely and comfortable the bathroom has recently been updated in our room which was lovely. Throughout the wedding all the staff were very helpful and friendly and was a great place to host a wedding.
Breakfast the following morning was lovely and cooked to order which was lovely.
Would recommend this place for a short stay or wedding venue

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank gc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I had my 40th birthday party here in April, it was fantastic. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. My guests were passing on excellent reviews about the buffet and all had a very good time. We also had a room which we found also to be lovely. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciliau Aeron
0.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#8 of 43 in Brecon
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
395 reviews
Show Prices

Been to TyGlyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TyGlyn

Address: Ciliau Aeron SA48 8DD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Ciliau Aeron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ciliau Aeron
Price Range: $89 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TyGlyn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your TyGlyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TyGlyn Ciliau Aeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing