We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super..fantastic...wonderful!”
Review of Y Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Y Talbot
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Certificate of Excellence
Vientiane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super..fantastic...wonderful!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were super impressed with Y Talbot. What a great place! The Pub/hotel itself is a beautiful building in the centre of Tregaron. The rooms are newly refurbished and offer all the modern comforts while the Pub is wonderfully traditional with open fires, fine ale and classic tasty food.
Breakfast offered a delicious continental buffet or traditional cooked breakfast (huge..great for walkers). Everyone working there were so very kind and helpful and the management were also very flexible to our changing needs (we booked for 2 nights to attend a wedding in the area and ended up staying 5!). I stay in a lot of hotels around the world and don't comment on websites much, but occasionally you get inspired. In this case I thought "I must just write something about this place on TA".
The immediate countryside around Tregaron is breathtaking and Y Talbot offers the perfect base to explore the area whether you like walking, mountain biking or just exploring the country in the car.
Well done the new management and staff of Y Talbot. You really have elevated this pub/hotel to a whole new level. Top marks! I'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelaustintaylor, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay, we find that guests are often quite taken with mid Wales and vow to return. Look forward to seeing you again.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    71
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
80
121
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well, in answer to the title of this piece... Its both. On the one hand a beautifully renovated Hoted in the midst of its final upgrade, tastefully and thoughtfully put together with imagination and good taste. We stayed in room 1 which, although was a bit on the 'snug' side, is, nevertheless beautifully presented with a comfortable bed, nice linen and a sumptuous en suite. Breakfast is cooked to order from excerllent ingredients and many a four star Hotel should take note! We are a bit fed up with the 'buffet' style, mediocre and tepid fare at most establishments and this was not, just good; but very good! We were a bit dissapointed with the evening menu choice, but once again the quality of the produce and standard of cooking was very good. We understand that the menu will become more cosmopolitan after the new kitchen is built and we are certain this will improve ones experience. As for the adjacent pub, more of a tavern really with a fair selection of real ales which we had not tried before, and ,as this inn has recently been awarded best regional real ale pub; not surprisingly very good. I especially appreciated the opportunity to sample before buying, good marketing ethic and one that could and should be mirrored elsewhere. In closing, this was our first trip to mid-Wales and we found the scenery extraordinarily grand, equall to that of the grandest international scale. A warm welcome awaits tourists to this part of Wales from the locals and the 'Y Talbot' hotel/pub. We hope to return sooner than later. Malcolm S Stott

Room Tip: Choose a refurbed room, its worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelaustintaylor, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for visiting Mr Stott and for your very constructive and pertinent thoughts, we hope that you will try Y Talbot and the unsung glories of Mid Wales again. We have now spent two years overhauling Y Talbot and we've been very fortunate to have very committed staff who are eager to learn new skills whilst retaining a real enthusiasm for our customers. Y Talbot is still a work in progress but we are aiming to provide very comfortable accomodation , great food and drink and a good welcome. Watch this space for further developments on our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Have visited The Talbot may times over the years, and now that the refurbishment is almost complete, future visits will be even more enjoyable. The bedrooms, dining room and lounge have been tastefully revamped, the bar meals are great, and breakfast was beautifully cooked. Owner Mick and his staff are always friendly and helpful. Fully recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PA_n_RA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelaustintaylor, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Gwyndaf and his team of builders are now on the home straight with the opening of our new kitchen and toilets in early November a major milestone. I can't wait to start planting up the new beer garden-it would just be nice if the rain eased off a bit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having been to this part of Wales on many occasions, staying in a number of the local hotels, over the last few years to visit relations, we were highly impressed by the refurbishment of Y Talbot, The refurbished rooms and restaurant are first class. The quality and choice of food is excellant. We found the staff both friendly and helpful. Whilst other refurbishment and extensions (whilst keeping the character of the other public rooms) continues, you would not know this was going on, as screened off and not disruptive /noisy. We would definetly recommend staying at Y Talbot,

Room Tip: Obviously whilst refurbishment of all the rooms continues ask to stay in a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_M1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelaustintaylor, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your comments, we are seeing an increasingly strong following for our food and our refurbished rooms have received some really positive feedback. Our renovation continues apace- and we will commission our new kitchen and toilets in November with all rooms completed by Easter 2013-like you we look forward to completing this extensive renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very clean bedding towels room. Excellent breakfast and evening meals. Very freindly staff. Just one draw back, our room was directly above the kitchen area and we heard everything, even the staff having freindly chat.

Room Tip: Room was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelaustintaylor, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again. Concerning noise form the kitchen we are building a new kitchen to the rear of the building which we will move into in October-this will remove the problem of noise which can affect our standard twin rooms currently in the morning and until 10.00pm in the evening.
Please visit us again to enjoy the improvements that we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Called in here for a drink whilst travelling the area. Happened to ask if bar staff knew where local cheese farm was. The landlady (I think that was who she was) heard our request. Went to her pc, printed out details of cheese farm, rang them to see if they were open and even found the name, address and phone number of another cheese farm in Llangybi.

What splendid service - and we didn't even have a meal - just crisps!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelaustintaylor, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Hafod Cheddar, it's a really good locally made cheese and it features extensively on our menu at Y Talbot. Incidentally the lady to whom you spoke is my wife and fellow owner Nia. We look forward to seeing you again on your next cheese tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We are in the hospitality trade and tend to be particular about where we stay and eat. Had an all-too brief one night break at Y Talbot but will definitely stay again. The Inn is one of the most cosy and atmospheric in Wales and sitting in the public bar (flagstones and fire) is very relaxing and the staff very helpful and friendly. Food can be eaten in either the bar or the newly converted restaurant - the renovations have been done to retain the character of the room but with a bright and modern slant. The menu appears quite conventional but the quality of the food (local welsh produce) is exceptional and the method of preparation is very modern and skilled - definitely amongst the best pub/hotel food that we remember having. We had one of the newly renovated rooms and had a super night's rest. Excellent bed, spacious sparkling shower room (amazing power-shower) and quality fixtures and fittings. Combine all this with magnificent scenery and almost empty roads - a great get-away (bird/wildlife enthusiasts must visit Cors Carron).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canalbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thankyou very much for visiting Y Talbot and for your kind words and encouragement, all the more appreciated as you yourself have long experience in running hotels and guesthouses.
We are aiming to provide great quality food and accomodation and excellent service in this historic and characterful inn and with the completion of our renovation later this year will be able to focus all our energy on looking after our customers. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tregaron
9.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
698 reviews
12.2 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
217 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Hafod Hotel
The Hafod Hotel
#2 of 2 in Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach)
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Talbot

Property: Y Talbot
Address: The Square, Tregaron SY25 6JL, Wales (Formerly Talbot Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Tregaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Talbot is an historic Grade 2 Listed Inn situated on the town square in the bustling market town of Tregaron. Under new ownership since 2010 the property has been sensitively restored to offer 13 high quality rooms, restaurant and characterful 16th century pub all set in a superb landscaped garden. The Welsh speaking staff offer a warm "Croeso" to guests from near and far. Whether its for a weekend break in the stunning and tranquil Cambrian mountains, for a feast of Welsh cuisine or for a wedding or celebration Y Talbot can cater for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Y Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Talbot Hotel Tregaron
Y Talbot Tregaron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing