We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Y Talbot Tregaron”

Y Talbot Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Tregaron
Price range: $21 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Y Talbot's restaurant offers our full menu at lunchtime and evening 7 days a week. The restaurant offers excellent but friendly and informal service and has recently been refurbished to a high standard with restrained decoration and interesting prints and pictures telling the history of the area. Groups of up to 40 are welcome, booking essential.For groups over 12 a pre order may be required. The restaurant may be booked for exclusive use by arrangement and subject to availability. Head chef Dafydd Watkin was trained by Marco Pierre White and produces classic dishes from the best fresh,local ingredients. We are able to source top quality fish, beef, lamb and cheeses from within a 20 miles. Booking is recommended for tables of more than 6 and at weekends.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent Hotel
Beautiful food, especially the lamb cawl
and a great pint of Guinness in front of a beautiful open fire

Thank KevinD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

I can only comment on one quick visit when I dropped in for a bar meal bite while travelling. Being in a hurry I ordered a cheese sandwich and an apple juice. Why on earth do people grate cheese for sandwiches - it is messy and unnecessary. My gripe is the price - £7.55 for a cheese sandwich and apple juice is ridiculous. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank billio2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

I hope that you will visit us again to sample some of our other dishes, clearly the cheese sandwich didn't work for you! We focus on freshly cooked food using high quality ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. Our apple juice (Frobishers, £2.30 per bottle) is made of 100% pressed apples and contains no additives, flavourings or colours. The cheese sandwich (£5.25) is made from mature Hafod cheddar from Llangybi and Pollack Bakery bread from Tregaron with homemade chutney.
We could use cheaper ingredients but we don't because our customers value both the quality and provenance of our food. I would particularly recommend our home made corned beef sandwich made on the premises from local beef-delicious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had dinner here whilst visiting friends in Lampeter. Unfortunately couldn't dine in restaurant as even though only 7.15 pm, we were told by the waitress she was laying up for breakfast! So dined in one of the bars. The gammon,egg and chips was good, although the chips a bit disappointing (a bit like oven chips) I would have preferred a few hand cut seasoned chips to accompany the good quality gammon and eggs. My companion had the pie of the day, which was good, although a bit more mash and veg would have been nice. We had the cheese board which for £6.50 was a bit sparse. Only 6 biscuits, and no grapes, apple etc.and the butter was served rock hard. This was a shame. We shall no doubt return and try again to dine in the restaurant and see if any improvements made. I will add photo of cheeseboard.

2  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks very much for your feedback, apologies for your not being able to dine in the restaurant-we are open 7days a week, lunchtime and evening, booking is recommended at weekends, the waitress to whom you spoke clearly failed to make that clear.
Point taken on the Welsh Cheese Selection, we use some excellent local cheeses such as Hafod Cheddar and Gorwerdd Caerphilly with home made chutney but some slices of celery or apple would compliment them very well-have mentioned it to the chef.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had Sunday lunch at the Talbot over the Christmas holidays and was very impressed.

Food was great, as were the surroundings and our waitress, Becca, could not have been more friendly and helpful.

They even vaccum packed our left over meat to take away for our Dog!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank davidjinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Manager at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal at Y Talbot! I have just typed up the menu for today's Sunday Lunch which includes Game and Hazelnut Terrine and Roast Welsh Rib of Beef, hope there's some leftovers. Becca says diolch yn fawr iawn for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stopped off at Y Talbot Saturday lunch time, this being our second visit. We both ordered the homemade beef burger and chips. It's great to be asked how you;d like your burger cooked and they arrived medium rare as requested and extremely tasty. Service is friendly and efficient and there's a lovely atmosphere in this extremely characterful pub (if a little cold...they could have done with lighting the fabulous looking woodburner in the Inglenook). My partner couldn't resist a home made brownie to take away and it really was delicious. Great value and well worth a visit if you're in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cargriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Glad that you enjoyed the burger, we are lucky to have great quality local beef so it would be a shame not to cook it to our guests' individual taste. Apologies for the stove not being lit, it needed some maintenance and will be ready this week to provide a really warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Talbot Restaurant also viewed

Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach), Ceredigion
Borth, Ceredigion
 
Llandysul, Ceredigion
Pontrhydfendigaid, Ceredigion
 
Lampeter, Ceredigion
 

Been to Y Talbot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing