We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food generally good,bit pricey though”

Y Talbot Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Tregaron
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Y Talbot's restaurant offers our full menu at lunchtime and evening 7 days a week. The restaurant offers excellent but friendly and informal service and has recently been refurbished to a high standard with restrained decoration and interesting prints and pictures telling the history of the area. Groups of up to 40 are welcome, booking essential.For groups over 12 a pre order may be required. The restaurant may be booked for exclusive use by arrangement and subject to availability. Head chef Dafydd Watkin was trained by Marco Pierre White and produces classic dishes from the best fresh,local ingredients. We are able to source top quality fish, beef, lamb and cheeses from within a 20 miles. Booking is recommended for tables of more than 6 and at weekends.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food generally good,bit pricey though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here whilst visiting friends in Lampeter. Unfortunately couldn't dine in restaurant as even though only 7.15 pm, we were told by the waitress she was laying up for breakfast! So dined in one of the bars. The gammon,egg and chips was good, although the chips a bit disappointing (a bit like oven chips) I would have preferred a few hand cut seasoned chips to accompany the good quality gammon and eggs. My companion had the pie of the day, which was good, although a bit more mash and veg would have been nice. We had the cheese board which for £6.50 was a bit sparse. Only 6 biscuits, and no grapes, apple etc.and the butter was served rock hard. This was a shame. We shall no doubt return and try again to dine in the restaurant and see if any improvements made. I will add photo of cheeseboard.

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback, apologies for your not being able to dine in the restaurant-we are open 7days a week, lunchtime and evening, booking is recommended at weekends, the waitress to whom you spoke clearly failed to make that clear.
Point taken on the Welsh Cheese Selection, we use some excellent local cheeses such as Hafod Cheddar and Gorwerdd Caerphilly with home made chutney but some slices of celery or apple would compliment them very well-have mentioned it to the chef.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had Sunday lunch at the Talbot over the Christmas holidays and was very impressed.

Food was great, as were the surroundings and our waitress, Becca, could not have been more friendly and helpful.

They even vaccum packed our left over meat to take away for our Dog!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Manager at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal at Y Talbot! I have just typed up the menu for today's Sunday Lunch which includes Game and Hazelnut Terrine and Roast Welsh Rib of Beef, hope there's some leftovers. Becca says diolch yn fawr iawn for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice to be asked "how would you like your burger cooked"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stopped off at Y Talbot Saturday lunch time, this being our second visit. We both ordered the homemade beef burger and chips. It's great to be asked how you;d like your burger cooked and they arrived medium rare as requested and extremely tasty. Service is friendly and efficient and there's a lovely atmosphere in this extremely characterful pub (if a little cold...they could have done with lighting the fabulous looking woodburner in the Inglenook). My partner couldn't resist a home made brownie to take away and it really was delicious. Great value and well worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cargriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Glad that you enjoyed the burger, we are lucky to have great quality local beef so it would be a shame not to cook it to our guests' individual taste. Apologies for the stove not being lit, it needed some maintenance and will be ready this week to provide a really warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Twelve of us came here for a family meal whilst staying nearby, all ages from 1 to 60! Food was exceptional. Home made, fresh, well presented without being too fancy. Good portions and very tasty. The service was friendly, helpful and prompt. We did have to ask for a window to be opened as the fresh paint, or something, was a little strong, but it was not a problem. All brilliant considering the refurbishment is still being done. We would come here again in a heartbeat, lovely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zanthewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for visiting us and see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had to be tried”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Read the good reviews elsewhere so had to try for myself. We had Sunday lunch which was excellent, nicely presented, hot and nice to have everything homemade. The service was warm and efficient. The real ale was in really good condition. I tried the Wye Valley HPA also Evan Evans and Felinfoel on the bar. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We pride ourselves on offering good local food, ales and ciders and have just been named West Wales Pub of the Year. Thanks for visiting us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Talbot Restaurant also viewed

Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach), Ceredigion
Llandysul, Ceredigion
 
Tregaron, Ceredigion
Tregaron, Ceredigion
 
Tregaron, Ceredigion
Pontrhydfendigaid, Ceredigion
 

Been to Y Talbot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing