We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach in North Grenada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Levera Beach

Levera Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An important waterfowl habitat and sea turtle nesting site near Bathways beach.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach in North Grenada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Levera beach is beautiful and also, on the day we visited, completely deserted. There are wonderful views across the bay to Sugerloaf and also further North to Carriacou.
A couple of warnings though:
There have been incidents of theft from cars on the beach (though this happens where we live as well). We didn't leave anything of any value in the car and, as advised, we left the car unlocked and windows down. We had no problem.
Secondly, although the sea looks inviting, it is very dangerous swimming here as the undercurrent is strong. Go to Bathway up the road to swim as the beach is protected there by a limestone reef

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenWillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
berkshire, england
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Breathtaking surroundings and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Empty sandy beach with a few fishing boats and waves crashing on the shore. Worth the effort to get there passing Bathway Beach on the way.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank taffy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quiet place for lunch, best place for turtle watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Best place to see leather back sea turtle nesting during the season, but please go with a guide as it does give money back to the local community and encourages them not to poach the animals or their eyes. Great place to bring a picnic lunch for the day. Probably wouldn't recommend swimming here because of the surf but beautiful views of the little islands on the north side of grenada.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very secluded beautiful beach BEWARE !!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Yes this is the most amazing beautiful beach and the tur tles should you be lucky to see one are protected. Our accommodation was just a 15 mins walk. One morning while we were having breakfast with our host, our room was broken into and all our cash, phone, jewellery and purse was stolen. I WAS TOTALLY SHOCKED The police came (all four of them and took a statement) We later had to make another at the police station in Sauteurs. Speaking to other people at the airport this was not an isolated case...... apparently we were probably being watched, even on the beach and at our accommodation. Please be AWARE YOU ALSO WILL BE WATCHED !!!!!
Now back home after a week will are still awaiting a report from the Grenadian police, we cant process any claims for our loss without this. This is one holiday I'll not forget.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 410DEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful, beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

On the northeast corner of Grenada, Levera beach is about as far away from the main tourist areas as you can get. But wow, is it pretty. It's protected from the Atlantic by several offshore islands, and there's just no one else there. If you're anywhere in the area, this is the beach to go to.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levera Beach also viewed

South Coast, Saint George Parish
Levera National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Carriacou Island, Grenada
Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
 

Been to Levera Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing