We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
spectacular waterfalls and pools and vegetation

guide was interesting and informative..you do need sturdy footware, walking sticks (supplied) and... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Trip86086
Definitely worth a visit

Its a pleasant 30-40 minute hike through the rain forest to get there. The waterfall is beautiful... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
oasve
,
Brooklyn, New York
Read all 249 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Grand Etang National Park
from $62.99
More Info
from $59.99
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $405.29
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
157
69
18
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
69
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seven sisters beautiful waterfall walking stick great hike zip line decent shape entrance fee tough hike slippery rocks local guide young man tarmac road local flora and fauna your feet water shoes bucket list flights of stairs
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 249 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

It's a bit of a steep downhill to the falls (there are free walking sticks after paying your entry fee; no real need for a guide) but we did it in 23 min.

Swam for an hour and could have stayed MUCH longer - really loved it! Only visited the "easy to reach" 2 sisters - didn't hike up further, but still had a great time. Unsure how one would get to the lower pool so we stayed in the upper one and bobbed around - it was so refreshing!

The hike back (uphill!) only took us :30 longer so we were pleased! It was a bit muddy and slippery so definitely watch your step; might not be ideal for younger kids (we have a 6-yr-old who wasn't wit us but we think she would have struggled a bit) or if you aren't too nimble on your feet.

Would love to have the chance to visit again!

Date of experience: March 2014
7  Thank Joslyn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We took this trek with Tom from Land and Sea Taxi Tours. Tom was soooo sweet with one of the members of our crew who had bad osteoarthritis and had some difficulty with the trek. The terrain is tough but the end result is soooooo worth it. The falls are beautiful and the water heaven to swim in. I suggest good hiking shoes that also can get wet, I use Keens and they worked perfectly with good traction. Wear your bathing suit under your clothes, you may want to take a dip after sweating through the trek. If you like photography, taking a wide angle is a good idea.

Date of experience: March 2014
8  Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We really enjoyed visiting this magical place and would recommend it so long as you don’t mind a bit of a hike and a scramble. We were lucky in that the ground was dry, but we could see that it would be very muddy if it had rained much recently. We’re fairly fit and nimble, though middle aged, but still much appreciated the use of the sticks provided to help one along the way. We took swimming things with us and had no trouble finding a spot to change in. Swimming in the pools was delicious, colder than the sea, but not unpleasant and we were lucky enough to have the pools to ourselves.

We accepted the services of Warren, who was a very good guide. I wouldn’t say that a guide is essential, but if you’re not super young and fit, it’s good to have someone to lend a hand if needed. Additionally, Warren was knowledgeable about the environment and happy to talk about life in that part of the country. Some of his stories, particularly about the alleged antics of Mona monkeys, needed to be taken with a pinch of salt, but we found chatting to him entertaining and informative. He also performed spectacular dives down both waterfalls for us. We paid him $15US which we considered a fair rate for the time spent and service provided.

Date of experience: March 2014
9  Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

its a little out of the way, but very easy hike around 1 mile. nice pools under waterfalls to swim. a little dirty right after a rain, but still nice water. bring a lunch for a picnic. cost was $5-10

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank ted s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I were in Grenada off the Emerald Princess Cruise ship on Jan. 23, 2014. We took JnJ Tours Island tour with Stan Grainger and assistant. We visited Annabelle Falls, Spice Shop, Grand Etang Rainforest park, Volcano Lake and Grand Anse Beach.
The falls and surrounding area was just beautiful. This area is lush and green with amazing plant life. At the spice shop we learned about different spices growing on this island. The smell was just intoxicating here! Loved it!
Had a view of Volcano Lake from the Grand Etang Rainforest area, and here we got to see Mona Monkeys come out of the forest and spend some banana eating time entertaining us all. They were wonderful! Very exciting to see them in the wild.
The last stop was the beach and we were able to be shuttled back to the ship at our leisure. My husband and I walked a great deal of the beach enjoying the beauty and the sounds of the waves. I got great deals from the ladies in the market area and a very tasty pina colada. The beach chair venders were a bit pushy, but a no thank you did the trick. I got my own drink myself even though there were many who were more than happy to get it for you. I just never like to trust a drink in someone else's hand especially randomly on a beach. It was just a beautiful spot to relax and enjoy! Stan Grainger and his assistant were professional and informative. We would not hesitate to join him again on another tour!

Date of experience: January 2014
8  Thank Rowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews