We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lots of fun and beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Etang Lake

Grand Etang Lake
Grand Etang National Park, Grenada
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$140*
and up
Full Day Pure Grenada Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surrounded by a rain forest, the lake is located in an old crater some 1,700 feet above sea level.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We only stopped here briefly and look forward to going back to do some of the hikes next time. This time though we did get to play with the very friendly Mona Monkey. They come right up to you especially if you have a banana. :0)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    64
    56
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The rainforest is not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Complete with hiking trails and monkeys, a trip to the top of Grenada is a wonderful, soul satisfying experience. Plan on at least a couple of hours on site if you are hiking, half that if you're not.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crannogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not that special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A long drive to see a small lake, very misty and wet on the day we went so the alledged views were fleeting and also there were no monkeys were around. There were the usual vendors pushing their products on all the visitors and an entertaining calipso band. We had a drink in one of the bars and a homemade cake to eat which was a decent price. If we had had better weather I think we would have enjoyed the trip more but we did see the jungle like interior and lots interesting of flora and fauna.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wellyelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Place Worth Visiting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent half a day in Grand Etang recently and it was enjoyable. The center is rich with history and information about the park. I also saw three mona monkeys in the forest. However the lake is in needs serious clearing of these tall grasses before it covers the entire lake!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Grand Etang National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked a half day tour from the Flamboyant Hotel Grand Anse. The National Park is an amazing trip which included an encounter with the monkeys at the entrance to the park. Our tour organiser was Tom Sanderson who attracted the monkeys with bananas. They come out of the trees and perch on your head to eat the bananas. We have some great photographs with monkeys sitting on our shoulders. We stopped at the Grand Etang Lake where Tom attracted the fish by throwing bread in to the water. We sat on the lakeside pier with out feet in the water. The fish nibbled at our feet which was a different experience. The park is green with lush vegetation. Tom is a great guide as he pointed out all the natural vegetation including cocoa trees, nutmeg trees, turmeric plants. He picked the fruit and tubers showing the plants in their natural form. We stopped at Concorde falls where we swam in the freshwater pool. Grenada is a beautiful island with fantastic beaches. The tour gave an insight in to the local culture and a great understanding of how local people live. It is all very well to enjoy the beach but it is essential to take a trip to the interior to make a most memorable experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank manctraveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Etang Lake also viewed

Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
Belmont, Saint Patrick Parish
South Coast, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Grand Etang Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing