We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Glow Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Candle Glow Apartments
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice clean place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for one night, because we got in too late to catch the ferry to Carriacou, this is a wonderful place if you are traveling on a budget. Rita is really nice. Nothing fancy, just a bed and a shower (communal kitchen) but very clean...

Room Tip: these are apts do not know what bigger ones look like
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaskangirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I've been staying at these apartments for a few years. This is the only place to stay in Grenada. It's near local shops, bank,supermarket. It's about 5-10min walk. This place is clean, quiet. You have internet wireless connection, cable TV. If you prefer to cook, you can use the kitchen facilities. There is also A/C in the room

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brownsugar224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The service was great... The stay was great, clean has ac which we all want in the heat.. The owner was very helpful and friendly. You do have to carry essentials but other than that the stay was great.

Ada T.

Room Tip: Stayed the apartment 3 bedroom. Very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AgathaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Last February, I was flying to Grenada and needed a place near the airport to spend one night. I was looking for an inexpensive, not frills place to crash before moving to a marina the next day. I found the Candle Glow Apartments through a Trip Advisor Search. The place appeared relatively new, clean and inexpensive, so I decided to make a reservation.

I made the reservation on line. At the time, I think the reservation went through a European Agency. Anyway, when I made the reservation, I ended up getting double booked; however, a quick return email to the agency resulted in removal of the second booking. I also included a note to the owners that I would be arriving late on American Eagle.

I arrived in Grenada about 21.00 and it was after 22.00 when a taxi dropped me at the Candle Glow. We drove in through a narrow road, past a repair shop and up a narrow street behind (?) the apartments. There were no lights, no signs and no directions to the office. I finally found someone to ask where the office was and was told it was in the house up on the hill. I hiked up the hill in the dark with my luggage in tow and found the owners. They evidently didn't get the note about my late arrival, figuring I was a no show, but were very friendly and walked down the hill to show me my room.

The room was a plain, single room with no frills and no tv, phone, etc. The room was new and clean. It was cool enough outside that opening the windows made it comfortable sleeping. The walls and door were thin and sounded like other tenants were in my room. The owner's dog spent a lot of time barking outside my door.

The next morning I climbed the hill again to check out. The credit card machine wasn't working so I had to pay cash. The owners were a nice couple and we spent some time talking.

I would probably stay there again under the circumstances, as a place to crash and move on the next day. It would probably be okay for a long term stay. I think there were a lot of medical school students staying long term there.

It is not really "near" anything. It is two or three blocks to stores and restaurants, a half mile to the "mall" and a mile or so to Grand Anse.

  • Liked — Inexpensive, close to airport and marina.
  • Disliked — Trying to find where to check-in in the dark.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank xcntry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Caribbean
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

I stayed here for a month while I looked for more suitable accommodation. I don't like living where many apartments are, and this one had a few, rented out to students who are louder than I would like, though relatively speaking they are not that loud.

The owners are a retired couple who lived overseas for many years. They are very detailed with the billing so everything is clear cut.

The one bedroom apartment was clean, airy, cool and well laid out. If you are a temporary lodger, note that it does not have appliances, towels ETC, unless you are staying in the studio I think. Good thing I had checked ahead of time what they had so I could bring essentials with me.

The apartment is just near the entrance to Lance Aux Epines so very convenient for the buses, and it is also close to one supermarket, and a plaza which has a fruits and veggie shop and a cinema.

  • Liked — Clean and airy, also the owners are very nice people
  • Disliked — That it was basic and did not have many amenities
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LorraineMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
2.2 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#8 of 12 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#7 of 12 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
2.6 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Glow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Glow Apartments

Property: Candle Glow Apartments
Address: Lanse Aux Epines | Grand Anse, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candle Glow Apartments is a brand new family owned and operated holiday apartment complex located in Grandanse the heart of the tourist district in Grenada. We are within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the world famous Grandanse Beach. We have one or two bedroom fully equipped apartments and studio hotel room units. All units are air-conditioned with own bathroom, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Candle Glow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Glow Apartments Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing