We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maca Bana”
Review of Maca Bana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maca Bana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently spent 8 days in the Pawpaw Villa at Maca Bana and every aspect was wonderful!! The staff at Maca Bana don’t only strive to make your stay enjoyable, they exceed expectations. I am somewhat of a neat freak and the staff had the villa spotless every day and fresh flowers in every room replaced daily. Always plenty of fresh linens left and the bed was so comfortable. The grounds are immaculate and the plants beautiful. The infinity edge pool was great with wonderful views and our private hot tub was used every afternoon.
We ate almost all meals outside on the isolated deck and enjoyed the spectacular views from high on a cliff. Highly recommend the Sunday barbecue at the Aquarium. Food, staff, and music was great. The beach was wonderful and so refreshing to never be crowded. We had help with chairs and snorkeling equipment without a problem. The bar on the beach was a delightful way to begin or end the beach time.
Never had any problems with water pressure or hot water as previously posted. Also, the hill people talked about going back and forth to the Aquarium or beach wasn’t bad. I expected a dirt trail. There is a paved driveway down to it. Walked it just fine in casual sandals and flipflops. Airport noise that had been written about was minimal and not bothersome and we were outside from early to late every day. The jet arrival and departures are generally during regular waking hours.
Nickson (general manager) arranged a car for us for the entire time that was promptly delivered. We went all over the island; however, we will change that approach next time. Nickson has a great individual that picks you up at the airport and next time we will use him rather than rent a car the entire time. Driving with not great signage on the island and fast native drivers was a bit of a challenge for us. Next time we will rent fewer days and sign up for tours or drivers and sit back and enjoy the rest of the time. Lastly, the people of Grenada are the most friendly we have encountered in the Caribbean.
We will definitely go back again to this wonderful paradise and explore the island and the friendly Grenadines more. Nickson, you have a great resort and wonderful staff. Congratulations and we deeply appreciated all of you making our trip so fantastic!!
Jan and John E

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheMongooseIsLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Jan and John E,

Thank you for sharing feedback with us following your recent stay at Maca Bana.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel, and that you enjoyed very much your room and the service. I will certainly share your kind words with our team.

The team and I would like to thank you again for choosing Maca Bana, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Maca Bana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Worth the price. Excellent accommodation perched on the side of a hill with outstanding views. The resort seeks to be very environmentally friendly, so solar panels, etc. in evidence, as well as no harsh chemicals in either the pool or jetted tub outside. Boutique in multiple ways from top of the line appliances in the kitchen (we opted to cook dinner for ourselves and eat outside on the terrace overlooking the incredible view of St. George in the distance), flowers everywhere, extra towels, beach towels, fruit and a lovely 'get started' batch of goodies in the frig, drop dead gorgeous view from balcony, bay window with seating, fantastic air conditioning, but a screen on the door if you opt for the trade winds, very private, I could go on and on...and a short walk down the hill to the amazing Magazine Beach....one of my favorite hotel rooms of all time.

Room Tip: Let them know at reception what you are looking for in a room, as each room is very unique.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Ann,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We do hope you come back in future.

All the best from the Isle of Spice!

The Maca Bana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I visited Maca Bana for the second time last week, my first visit was in 2011. It was just as wonderful an experience this time around as my first visit. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Raeanna warmly but professionally greeted us at reception, checked us in and went the extra mile of spraying our room for any pesky bugs before we retired for the evening to make sure that we had a comfortable nights sleep. We also ate at Aquarium and I would definitely recommend. The restaurant is ideally situated overlooking the beach and has a lovely ambience. The staff too were friendly and our meal arrived promptly. Grenada is a small island and anyone who says that Maca Bana is remote and difficult to travel to elsewhere on the island could never have stayed in Grenada. Maca Bana is literally minutes away from the airport, from Grand Anse shopping centre and the capital if you need to pop to town, but it also has the benefit of being nestled discretely in a lovely quiet part of the island, so you get the best of both worlds. Would highly recommend again and again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, General Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us on Trip Advisor, and for having visited us.

We consider all our repeat guests as friends and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.

Please be assured that the entire team strives to deliver excellent service and an excellent product to make every stay an unforgettable one. Our wish is to always share a unique experience with you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in this little piece of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at the MacaBana Villas multiple times. The staff are friendly, the service is 5 star, and the views are breathtaking. And the restaurant will serve you some of the best food on the island directly to your villa. You can even have the chef come cook in the kitchen for you since the kitchen is a Chef's kitchen!
The most relaxing and beautiful area of Grenada!
-Shervin & Kristen

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSherv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, General Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

Jan and John,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for your review and we will be happy to welcome you back to Maca Bana.

Thank you and regards

Nickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I am shocked that this hotel has so many positive reviews! The rooms are so removed from luxuruious that they are almost uncomfortable. The location is super close to the airport and not at all peaceful. It is also very remote and difficult to travel elsewhere on the island, especially for dinner once it is dark. This almost forces one to eat at the restaurant. The restaurant is overpriced and the food not at all up to par with the prices. I knew that we would have to climb up and down to the beach, but I did think that climb would be worth it. The beach leaves much to be desired and is super rocky! If it is the beach that you are after than you will need to travel each day as we did away from the hotel. Not at all what I was expecting. The hotels "green" features were well intended but a bit over the top as far as finding a good balance between going green and accomodating the guests. For as much as a room here costs per night, one would expect to still be able to feel the shower water - meaning no pressure whatsover. Not ideal after spending the day on the beach! Also had an issue with bugs in the room - we were both covered in new bites each morning. I would have given this hotel 3 stars - I do not believe that I have ever left a one star review - had it not been for the horrible exeriences that we encountered with the staff at this hotel. Never in my travels have I been treated so rudely and encounted a manager that was so "fake." He may greet you with smiles and "warmth" but right under the surface is an incredibly selfish person that really only cares about the bottom line. If you are looking for genuniue, you will not find it here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank infinitelove8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I spent some time in the avocado villa and absolutely loved it! I have been in hotels on every continent and this is hands down the best overall experience I've had thus far. This is truly Grenada's best kept secret!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, General Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Podie,

Thank you for your kind words! We were so delighted that you chose Maca Bana for your honeymoon retreat, and very glad that you enjoyed the experience to the fullest.

Congratulations again and many happy returns to you both!

The Maca Bana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just finished a lovely week here, with two small kids aged 3 and nearly 5. Maca Bana deserves the great reviews it already has.

If you've got small kids, take their advice and stay in the Pineapple villa. Doesn't have the sheer views of the villas on the cliff edge, but it still has a great view to die for (better than we expected) - and it's obviously much safer! No danger of them wandering off as far as the cliff, so just a little drop off the rent of the garden to make sure they avoid. So no safety worries, and tonnes of benefits: great jacuzzi in front that they basically lived in, riot next to the pool which is small but lovely with awesome view, closest to the path down to the restaurant and beach, and a lovely villa too. Everything you need. Nice touches too like the Nespresso coffee machine, giant fridge freezer, lovely dining area outside, great hammock, etc.

The Maca Bana staff, Raeanna and Nickson, were great. Nothing was a problem. And the best part about this place (apart from the views) was the Aquarium and beach combo at the bottom of the hill. Aquarium has great food, good bar, lovely staff, turtles for kids to feed...! And its situation is great. A really lovely corner of a beautiful beach, far enough away from the Rex hotel at the other end of the beach, and a very far cry from the busy touristy Grand Anse beach further up the coast.

In short, we can't fault it. Even with small kids. This may not be a hotel with kids club and other things to occupy kids. But ours used up half of every day with jacuzzi, beach and turtles alone! Maca Bana is not cheap either, clearly. But it worked a treat for us for a week. And it would be great for couples too, especially if you get one of the small villas near the cliff edge with awesome views (and far enough away from anyone like us with kids in Pineapple!).

I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.9 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel &...
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
711 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
17.9 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Grand Anse
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Bana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Bana

Address: Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range: $390 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maca Bana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maca Bana is an intimate boutique hotel comprising 7 artistically designed, solar-powered ‘banas’ with gorgeous ocean views and private massaging hot tubs above our tropical Aquarium Restaurant on Magazine Beach. Laid-back luxury and unrivaled privacy for a sensual & inspiring holiday experience in a warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, West Indies, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maca Bana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Bana Hotel St. George`s
Maca Bana St Georges
Maca Bana Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing