We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Honeymoon”
Review of Maca Bana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maca Bana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I spent some time in the avocado villa and absolutely loved it! I have been in hotels on every continent and this is hands down the best overall experience I've had thus far. This is truly Grenada's best kept secret!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, General Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Podie,

Thank you for your kind words! We were so delighted that you chose Maca Bana for your honeymoon retreat, and very glad that you enjoyed the experience to the fullest.

Congratulations again and many happy returns to you both!

The Maca Bana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just finished a lovely week here, with two small kids aged 3 and nearly 5. Maca Bana deserves the great reviews it already has.

If you've got small kids, take their advice and stay in the Pineapple villa. Doesn't have the sheer views of the villas on the cliff edge, but it still has a great view to die for (better than we expected) - and it's obviously much safer! No danger of them wandering off as far as the cliff, so just a little drop off the rent of the garden to make sure they avoid. So no safety worries, and tonnes of benefits: great jacuzzi in front that they basically lived in, riot next to the pool which is small but lovely with awesome view, closest to the path down to the restaurant and beach, and a lovely villa too. Everything you need. Nice touches too like the Nespresso coffee machine, giant fridge freezer, lovely dining area outside, great hammock, etc.

The Maca Bana staff, Raeanna and Nickson, were great. Nothing was a problem. And the best part about this place (apart from the views) was the Aquarium and beach combo at the bottom of the hill. Aquarium has great food, good bar, lovely staff, turtles for kids to feed...! And its situation is great. A really lovely corner of a beautiful beach, far enough away from the Rex hotel at the other end of the beach, and a very far cry from the busy touristy Grand Anse beach further up the coast.

In short, we can't fault it. Even with small kids. This may not be a hotel with kids club and other things to occupy kids. But ours used up half of every day with jacuzzi, beach and turtles alone! Maca Bana is not cheap either, clearly. But it worked a treat for us for a week. And it would be great for couples too, especially if you get one of the small villas near the cliff edge with awesome views (and far enough away from anyone like us with kids in Pineapple!).

I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Maca Bana for our honeymoon this past October. Let me start by saying that the service was expectional from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner and given a tour of our villa, Coconut. During the course of our stay, the manager, Nickson, was readily available to assist us with all of our needs. Every staff member that we encountered was very friendly and courteous. Our villa was very spacious, clean and secluded; perfect for a honeymooning couple. The view from our patio, where we enjoyed a chef-prepared breakfast every morning, was more than words can describe! We spent most of our time on Magazine beach, which was absolutely amazing! Most days it was only my wife and I on the beach. Maca Bana provided us with beach chairs as wells as snorkel gear. The snorkeling was quite enjoyable. The Aquarium restaurant provided excellent drinks and lunch as well. We also frequented the restaurant for several great dinners. Nickson also arranged for us to have a rental car, so that we could enjoy the rest of the beautiful island. I do recommend a rental car, as Grenada has much to offer. Overall, the location, service, and dining was excellent! It not only met, but exceeded, our expectations. It was the perfect honeymoon! Thank you again to Nickson and the rest of the Maca Bana and Aquarium staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iadarola1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Maca Bana is a fabulous place to stay, private and restful. The restaurant by the beach is wonderful, please try it. A car is useful to get around as its a bit away from St Georges. The team at Maca Bana could not be more helpful & I would recommend it to anyone. The only slight glitch was the Wi-Fi which was a tad intermittent but don't go there to work - just enjoy! It is fabulous!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I were looking for somewhere to go for our wedding anniversary this year, and Nickson sealed the deal for us with his exceptional service and salesmanship. We stayed 2 nights at the Paw Paw Villa, and it was simply amazing! We're Grenadian nationals and it was great to get away from the bustle of our daily rotuine and just relax for a while. From waking up to breathtaking views to rejuvenating in our personal hot tub at nights, Maca Bana proved that you don't need to travel to experience luxury. Our only regret is that we had to return to work, but we talk about returning to the Paw Paw Villa all the time. Such an awesome experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the views from the Paw Paw Villa are unrivalled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

All of my expectations were met or exceeded. The staff, while very responsive to our needs, were never obtrusive. Very friendly and efficient. Nickson is gold! The location of the resort may be a little isolated, however, a short 15 minute, and inexpensive $40.00 EC or $16.00 US, taxi ride put us in the middle of St. George's. We came to really appreciate the peace and quiet that came with the remoteness. The kitchen was stocked with fruit, eggs, coffee, tea, bread, and meat and cheese that lasted us several days. Very convenient. The room (Paw Paw) was well-appointed and had an absolutely beautiful view. We had a very good lunch at the Aquarium restaurant and thought the service was great. Having travelled in the Caribbean before, I was aware of the need to adjust to "island time" while here and not feel the need to rush along. I am planning on returning to Maca Bana with friends soon.

Room Tip: For couples Paw Paw cannot be beat. There is a walk up a hill to get back from the beach but easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Neither of us had been to the Caribbean before and we chose Grenada after much research on Paul's part. He'd heard and read that Grenada was less commercial and friendlier than other islands we were considering and we couldn't be happier with our decision to spend our week at Maca Bana. We stayed in the "Coconut" villa which came with an incredibly equipped and modern kitchen (including a HUGE bowl of fresh local fruits and breakfast staples), an outdoor hot tub with breathtaking views, plenty of comfortable places to lounge, housekeeping that went above and beyond...our villa was so nice that it was tempting to just "stay in"! When we did get out and about on the island it was great. Highlights for us were the outdoor markets and rum shops in St. Georges and (of course) the beaches. We ate most of our meals at the restaurant at Maca Bana (Aquarium), which is very popular in Grenada, so we were able to enjoy the company of fellow visitors and locals alike. We also enjoyed meals at BB's Crabback and music at Umbrella's on Grand Anse Beach. I would like to send a special "thank you" to Nickson for managing this little piece of paradise so well and to Ricky for driving us all over creation! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.9 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
17.9 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & Marina
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & M...
#1 of 1 in Petite Calivigny
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Grand Anse
866 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Bana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Bana

Address: Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range: $372 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maca Bana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maca Bana is an intimate boutique hotel comprising 7 artistically designed, solar-powered ‘banas’ with gorgeous ocean views and private massaging hot tubs above our tropical Aquarium Restaurant on Magazine Beach. Laid-back luxury and unrivaled privacy for a sensual & inspiring holiday experience in a warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Maca Bana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Bana Hotel St. George`s
Maca Bana St Georges
Maca Bana Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing