We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least the road up to Jessamine Eden”
Review of Jessamine Eden Botanic Garden - CLOSED

Jessamine Eden Botanic Garden
Attraction details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“At least the road up to Jessamine Eden”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

is good (one of the best in Grenada) but after that it is a rip off. US$10 per person to wander round what is obviously some person's unfinished garden project must be the most expensive tourist sight in Grenada. Yes, the gardens are 'peaceful,' yes. there is a minimal attempt to label a few plants and trees but to refer to location as a 'botanic garden' is just plain mis-selling.
There are three bee hives, a small display hive and nothing else to justify a "Honey Bee Tour" - which we were not offered.
We did walk around part of the estate of unmade and unmarked trails - notable for having more litter than Grande Anse Bay in the evening after a cruise ship departs.
Time to get real and either make this a real botanic garden or stop mis-selling. Go visit Laura's Spice and Herb Garden - Much more worthwhile.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pricey but pretty”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

stopped in after going to the falls for lunch. Have to book ahead no drop ins....and is not featured with tours at hotel
beautiful spot, very tranquil....food was delicious and well presented....little disappointed the server was so shy....wanted more info on the food and surroundings After all the meal was very pricey, but we figured having the place to ourselves was worth it

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank adventurelovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Glamorgan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful trip”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a wonderful way to see the island and enjoy the plant life - its tranquil and relaxing as well as being really informative

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Sussex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little bit of wonderment.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A truly wonderful experience. Apart from a beautiful place to visit, the meal we had was simply amazing, all locally produced fare and that is everything and absolutely superb service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lush, beautiful and relaxing is the first words that come to mind!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Me & my husband initially attended the gardens not knowing what to expect. Well, what can i say except Val & Jerry are fantastic host and cant do enough for u, but also provide u with the privacy needed at such a wonderful place. U could spend the whole day here, soaking up the sun, dipping in the water, picking all different fruits and tasting different flavours of honey from different seasons...It was the most amazing honey ever. I can not wait 2 return on my next trip to Grenada to show this place off to my family. I truely reccomend the 'Botanic Gardens' to be on your to do list.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sierra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jessamine Eden Botanic Garden also viewed

Saint George Parish, Grenada
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
Saint David's, Saint David Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing