We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for sailors”
Review of Tropicana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 St. George's B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2007

I came in from the airport, looking for a hotel for one night within walking distance of the yacht club, since I was joining friends on a boat the next day; this worked perfectly.

It's on the main road, right across from the Lagoon harbour (NOT the ferry dock), but still relatively quiet (at least in the off-season). There was no bar noise, no noise from other rooms, and only some road noise (and I'm picky). A little timeworn and bare-bones (a small room, one channel of TV, and no remote), but generally well kept, with functional air-conditioning, and safe for a woman travelling alone. By Caribbean standards, clean and relatively inexpensive at $70 US/night; I would say this is a budget price for this area. I looked at another place for $40 that was below my standards for cleanliness and safety.

The restaurant downstairs is reasonably priced by Caribbean standards (breakfast about $7, dinner about $15) and offers breakfast starting at 7 a.m., with some good local dishes. There's a big supermarket within a few minutes' walk, good for sailors provisioning for a trip. You can also walk into the main part of St. George's in about 10-15 minutes.

This is not on the beach or very close to the beach. It's simply good for sailors who want convenience and those looking for a short-term lower-priced hotel. For a hotel after a sailing trip, I'd probably go to Grande Anse instead.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninko999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night. We arrived on Grenada at approx 9pm and our final destination was Carriacou, unfortunately the ferry to Carriacou doesn't run that late, so we made advanced reservations with The Tropicana Inn for 1 night and we were going to catch the first ferry out in the morning.

Upon arriving, there was nobody in the front desk. So, we inquired in the attached nearby restaurant/bar, and got the person in charge. Apparently she was either tired or was put off by the necessity to check us in. She said the only room left was a "triple" (we did make reservations for 2 at least a month in advanced), of course we were just happy to have any room at that time, and I've never heard of a "triple" before - so game on. She explained the required deposit on all rooms - $20 in U.S. Dollars in case we swipe the key and or make phone calls. So I paid the deposit and got a receipt so I could get it back in the morning before departing.

A "triple" means 3 single beds in Grenada, apparently. It must also mean dingy walls and sheets. But I've travelled quite a bit and this was okay, even though the walls were thin and didn't go all the way up to the ceiling, I was still okay.

After unpacking, showering, and grabbing a couple of rum punches we went to bed - in separate beds of course (our luggage was happy to have it's own bed as well). We awoke in the middle of the night to the sounds of a small waterfall and stream. Realizing that this sound was coming from our triple, we were a bit concerned - turns out we had a trap door right under us that was part of their sewer system. Oh well, we just pretended we were in the forest and went back to sleep.

The next morning at checkout we again played the "find the front desk person" game. We finally won and found her after approx 15 minutes. I turned in my keys and verified that I did not make any calls, and handed over my receipt for the $20 back. Apparently, this was confusing to the staff and they spent 30 minutes trying to get in touch with their staff member who checked us in. Meanwhile, it was getting close to our ferry time and I had to leave - without my money. The "manager" didn't seem to care and even though I had a receipt and even though they had the original carbon copy in their possession (and we all looked at it together) they could not return my money. I was a tad upset - how many other people have they done this to?? It was just too obvious that either 1. They didn't trust their own staff or 2. They had a bunch of practice at this.

Approx 1 week later I returned to Grenada from Carriacou and still had my receipt. I stopped back in at the hotel and played the final game of "find the front desk person", this time I found her in less than 5 minutes - my skills must have improved over the week somehow. After the same game of trying to look over my receipt (again), trying to call the original front desk girl (again), and telling me to wait (again), I finally got a bit more firm with them and they finally gave me my $20 back - they tried to give me $20 EC (their money), so we played the game just a little while longer before they finally gave me back all my money.

I don't know what the deal is with this hotel, but they seem not to really be concerned about us tourists - unless it's getting into your pocket. If you're looking for a hotel with a non-concerned/and or hiding staff, with dingy walls and sheets, with triples, with unexpected surprises under your bed, and you want to try your luck at getting your deposit back then you have found your dream hotel!!

There are many other hotels on this island and from the people I met down there, they get treated better at the other hotels and the accomodations are nicer.

I wish I had more hands, so I could give this hotel 4 thumbs down.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: He tenido habitaciones en el segundo y en el tercer piso y la vista es excelente, pero recomiendo l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth1998_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
2.3 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#6 of 11 in Grand Anse
274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
137 reviews
3.6 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
293 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,859 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Lagoon Road, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price Range: $55 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing