We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and very welcoming”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Had a brilliant week at the Gem. Our hill view room was clean and comfortable and the reception staff really helpful. Also, everything in the room worked!
A free safe deposit service is provided for valuables although we were told that crime on the island is very low.
The lovely beach is very close and clean fresh beach towels provided whenever you want them.
This is not a luxury resort but we did not want that. We wanted to see the real Grenada and were not disappointed. Definately dive the Bianca C (I recommend the dive centre Aquanauts) and do a day tour of the island. It is a lovely place and we would really like to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubamonkey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
44
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

If you want a high test resort, to be separated from the wonderful Grenadian people and a lot of fancy amenities, don't stay at Gem Holiday. If you like a simple accomodation, a friendly staff and a lovely beach and pool, stay at the Gem. For us, it struck the perfect balance of a bit of luxury (pool, lounge chairs) with a simplicity and down homeness. No, it isn't fancy, yes, the furniture could use "updating", but the Sur la Mer restaurant is great, the beach has a fantastic and friendly community feel to it. Grand Anse feels as though you could be anywhere. Why bother to go all the way to Grenada and stay in a place that could be anywhere USA?. The walk to the bus is about 10 minutes (come on, you can do it) then hop on a Grenadian bus for a mere 2.50 EC straight into St. George (or anywhere else on the Island for that matter). The best thing about the island is the people, so rub elbows! Don't miss the lush interior, the walks to the waterfalls. And enjoy this special hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likestotraveloregon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic of Trinidad & Tobago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I went to Grenada with a group of 8 friends last year. If I had read any of the neurotic-cheapo reviews here, I could have missed out on a lovely, well placed little hotel in Grenada's Morne Rouge Area(SW of island, next to Grand Anse Beach).

The staff was courteous, efficient and the Ocean View Apartment was big, clean with all the basic amenities, refrig, living room & dining room furniture, big comfortable beds and a spacious bath with daily room service. The hotel is at the end of a sloping inlet which gave a very cozy private feel to my group. And getting to the grocery or grand anse beach felt like walking around a single city block of any major metropolis.

I've visited the beautiful spice isle a few times, but this was my first time to morne rouge and the beautiful 'bbc beach'. The beautiful turquoise water is so calm, clean and teeming with flying fish(YES Grand Anse is overrated!). The on-beach restaurant and bar and disco(open from thursday to saturday I think) were all reasonably priced and the food was tasty and the service great.

To those quick to judge and demean the place, I say 'this is a decent, clean budget hotel with good amenities for the money, excellent customer service and well placed for an enjoyable holiday on one of the nicest beaches in the Southern Caribbean! I tell all my friends about this hotel and look fwd to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c00lfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Decanting from a boat in Port Louis (excellent restaurant there, by the way - run by an Italian - Giancarlo - and his excellent staff) we looked at several hotels along Grande Anse Beach - soul-less and 'typical' touristy affairs until our tax driver deposited us at Moun Rouge Bay and in front of the Gem Villas - a rather dated looking collection of buildings but fronted by a warm, welcoming and enthusiastic owner - Julia. Here we found an 'efficiency' apartment - bedroom (with air con - an absolute MUST); kitchen, diner, sitting room, balcony and the most icnredible view over Moun Rouge Bay - populated by about 5 people. The beach crowd swelled a bit when the cruise ships came in to St George's, but otherwise it was blissfully empty. The locals came down with picnics at the end of their working day and the bar on the beach kept us amply supplied with food/drinks. Free beach towels/chairs for residents. Absolute heaven. Check this out, I urge you. It's a gem among the dross - and Julia's new development might just be the swankiest on this beach .. but I loved the apartment (and visiting cats!) The disco is a bit loud (not quite the soundproofing as advertised); it's easy to walk over the ridge and sample the other restaurants on the main beach. Thanks Julia for making our stay the most enjoyable. (PS: Have lunch at the Heights Cafe - on the north of the island - absolutely memorable and views to die for!)

Helpful?
Thank FlorenceNewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, IN USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Great place! Beautiful uncrowded swimming beach. Authentic Caribbean, very comfortable furniture, well appointed kitchenette, living/dinning areas, and bedroom. Nice terraces. Absolutely clean. A really special place. Great bar and restaurant. Music two days a week but low key and did not disturb us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Reviewer86 has got it spot on but has forgotten to mention how good the restaurant is with the chef creating a menu that you would expect at the larger hotels. When reading some of the negative reviews I can only conclude that the authors should have paid top dollar and followed the herd to Grand Anse.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank seasprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

This was my fourth stay at the Gem, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The distance from shopping can be a pain, but I enjoy the exercise. Besides, someone from the hoel may be going over the hill and will give you a ride. Failing that, there's taxi service.

Mourne Rouge Bay is the best beach, protected and with gentle swells instead of bashing waves.

The Bedeau/Moore family who own the hotel are friendly and interesting. All of the staff go out of their way for guests, in that friendly Grenada way.

For those who didn't like the furniture: the Gem will be opening a brand new building in Spring of 2009. The rooms do not have kitchens, but they are large and all someone looking for modcons could want.

By the end of my first stay, I was part of the Gem family and am honored to be!

  • Liked — Local ownership and beautiful location
  • Disliked — I love it all!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank westysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
230 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
16.7 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
1,069 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing