We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dream vacation”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I recently returned from my dream vacation at the Gem and on the top of my ‘to do list’ when I returned home was to write on how wonderful my stay was at this hotel. It is footsteps away from the beach and in my opinion is one of the most peaceful beaches on the island, absolutely stunning! To further compliment the beauty are the wonderful staff and managers. I have never met such friendly and welcoming people. My room was exceptionally clean! The cleaners are polite and know how to have a good laugh. The food at the restaurant is very tasty and the atmosphere is relaxing! I would suggest having the Lobster. It was so soft and succulent that I dreamed of having it every day, although my pockets can’t afford.
In terms of activities there’s so much to do. The staff is efficient in suggesting and organising different activities. I would suggest doing river tubing if you love water sports. Also visit the Westerhall Rum Estate. My trip was 100 % satisfying and I would be definitely returning to Grenada.
My experience is in quite contrast to M W from Penzance, United Kingdom, who stayed at the Gem in April. Note that I also stayed in April and have no complaints whatsoever. I am beginning to wonder if this person even stayed at the Gem. This hotel had NO bad odours; in fact the flowers around the area give it a refreshing smell. I thought I must point this out because I would hate for people to be put off by this comment because they would truly be missing out on a gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    57
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
43
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Old and smelly room. I really don't mind old, but paying for the privilege of living with bad odor doesn't compute.
The photos online really misrepresent what you find on site. Don't chance it: if you wait until you're there, your option will be to waste a half day changing hotels, and paying a 3 night penalty for cancelling your booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex_jasper, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Holiday Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
These clients telephoned on Wednesday 9th April requesting an early check in. We agreed to an express check in on the 10th April. They arrived and was given an express check in. After registration, they were advised that they had paid for a standard gardenview unit. I briefed them on the hotel facilities and took them to their room. On arrival in the room the male partner commented that the room was beautiful, I opened the balcony and went into the bedroom put on the air-conditioner and left saying “do enjoy your stay with us”.
The gentleman came into the office late evening on 9th April and said that he was checking out. My colleague asked why and he stated that it was not what he expected and that he would be checking out. My colleague asked him if he wanted to see a superior oceanview room, to which he responded that he had already made other arrangements. PLEASE REMEMBER THE ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL, SEVERAL HOURS AFTER THEY CHECKED IN.
Kindly note that this hotel never charged the penalty and that there was no time spent trying to obtain another hotel, another lie. In fact these people joined their friends who were staying at another hotel within close proximity. THAT IS THE MAIN AND THE ONLY REASON THEY DECIDED TO CHECK OUT.
Please remove this vindictive, malicious and untruthful summary of the Gem. There are no odour in our rooms and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms.
Signed
Loraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Exactly what we needed. The best location in Grenada and the best value too.

We lived in Grenada for 6 years and always stay here if we needed a hotel when we return. The palm-fringed Morne Rouge Beach is about 500m long and well protected and so perfect for kids and about 40m in front of the hotel (only their beach front bar between the sea and the rooms).

As always the staff couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming and friendly. Despite the large apartments (balcony, living room, kitchen, bedroom with double and single beds and bathroom) being more like self-catering size, they were cleaned every day with new towels and they even did our washing up (which we didn't expect).

Close to Grand Anse and a large supermarket it is easy to self-cater if you wish (cooker, microwave, toaster, kettle and all the bits and pieces you'd expect) but also close to lots of restaurants too. We think it is EASILY the best vale / location in Grenada and we'd strongly recommend it. You are also supporting a locally-owned hotel and not one of the expensive corporate chains. Rent a car and explore the stunning island too, you wont regret it.

Room Tip: 'Garden' rooms are much less expensive but still have a balcony with a view to the sea (~50m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

First, I am writing this review for my wife who traveled to Grenada in March 2014 with some friends. Although the lodging wasn't what anyone would call 5 star, it was very nice especially for the price. Grenada is about 200 miles off the shores of Venezuela, so it was very warm/tropical even in March. My wife said that even though it was very warm, there was very little humidity. The beaches near the Gem were very nice and well maintained. She also said that the Gem's staff were VERY friendly and accommodating. I even wrote them an email asking them to arrange a massage for my wife as a treat and they were very happy to help!

Room Tip: Get the 2 bedroom apartment with kitchenette so you can buy food at the local market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Gem met all our needs perfectly. The rooms are very comfortable at a rate that is hard to beat. Everything is very clean and the kitchen adequately outfitted. The management is excellent. The location is great. I always feel so welcome in Grenada.
A couple of points; you need a car to get to the grocery etc..., it is an apartment not a hotel resort although you do get to use the facilities of the sister hotel Kalinago, there are a lot of steps so if you have mobility issues think again.

Room Tip: The garden view room balconies are more private and still have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ttchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at the Gem with my two daughters during the middle of August 2013 and it was a fantastic experience! The location of the Gem is great as it is located basically on the shore of a beautiful golden sand beach! What made this such a special holiday for us were the cleaness of our apartment, being able to walk to the beach and the friendliness of all staff, especially Velma who supported us in our apartment -thank you Velma. We found Julia, the manager and her husband Mr Moore, extremely approachable and kind. We appreciate that they did all possible to ensure we had a great experience at their resort.We shall be returning to the Gem when we visit Grenada again. Julia, we are looking forward to meeting you, Mr moore and your beautiful girls again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudette48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a week at The Gem and had a wonderful time. We were visiting family on the island during our stay but the staff at the hotel were very helpful in suggesting trips, evenings out and what to do. The service from the reception staff is faultless always helpful, knowledgable and make you feel very welcome. Our apartment had a sea view and was amazing at sunset. It was clean and had everything we needed. The air con is only in the bed room not throughout however, it's very powerful so if you leave the doors open the apartment cools down quickly.
The best thing was the location. Being so close to the sea meant we could go for a swim every morning. The sea was clear and full of fish. We were lucky to be the only ones on the beach most mornings.
The worst is the noise from the club but it only happened one evening during our stay and it was only a music sound not any troublesome behaviour.
I would recommend getting a car if not there is a good taxi guy that the hotel uses.

Room Tip: We had number 8. Good sea view if you go one level up its probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
3.5 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel &...
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing