We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
South of England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spent a few weeks self-catering here at Gem Beach Resort. I was really happy as the apartment was very comfortable with an air conditioned bedroom. Apart from a couple of snags (which were quickly dealt with), I could not fault my experience. The apartments are very close to the most stunning beach. The beach bar is literally on the beach, and sitting there enjoying a rum punch is hard to beat.
We did not have a car, but enjoyed the hilly (and hot) walk over to the next bay where there was an excellent supermarket. We would also enjoy using the local buses to get to St George's to pick up the wonderful local fruits and vegetables at the market.
The thing that made Gem stand out for me was the staff. They could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They are a credit to the owners.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthofEnglandWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
44
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from spending 8 days at this beautiful hotel. We had an ocean view and it was beautiful just watching the sunset and sunrise. One of the best beaches, calm, quite relaxing. On a Wednesday and Friday you can attend the club with no charge. Julia and her staff were very courteous, helpful ( willing to call taxi, informing you about the best places to eat etc) and made you feel at home. Rooms were always clean, with fresh linen everyday. We had security 24/7, especially at night, so I felt quite safe. I was a little worried but after seeing the sercurity I felt comfortable. There is also a safe where you can leave your jewellery, passort etc. Would of like to stayed longer, but duty calls. Keep up the good work Julia and your hard working staff. Room #9

Room Tip: Room #9 Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loganrigoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are a woman traveling on your own, Please do not stay at this hotel or the the other hotel owned by the same family. Called Kalinago.

It is not safe and the people who run it does not care enought to deal with your situation if any thing happens to you.

I was robed of gold jewelry and in-spite of reporting it to the owner and the police nothing has been done.

I have been reluctant to write a negative review about this hotel as am a patriotic Grenadian and wish to support business run in my home land. This is not sour grapes but that beautiful beach that the hotel is next to, is a public beach where they cannot stop who come there. The hotel also runs a disco on Wednesday and Saturday, that attracts a lot of unsavory people who make it their job to pray on single women. I have lost jewelry worth £200.00, For a moment it was not put in the safe, my door was locked, The sliding door, is left open by someone to allow entry, so that when you return to the room, it looks as if no one has entered. You may remember that some months ago a single woman had to fight off an attacker who entered her room with a machete.

Gem ? Not if you are a female traveling on your own..... Trust me there are other GEM on our beautiful Grenada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Anthea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just back from a week at Gem Beach-wonderful location how a Carribean holiday should be. As all the reviews say-one of the best beaches on the island. The Appartment is just back from the beach-sea view (over building in front) -first or second floor. 'No frills'-and excellent in this category. Air conditioned bedrooms-essential in the Carribean for comfort from heat and mosquitos (get some 'off'' repellent it works!). The beach is ideal for those who want a quiet beach holiday- we did. Gem Beach Resort is run by Julia and her family excellently-they will deal with every request promptly-book taxis which are cheap and necessary to get around the island. If you can go to Aquarium for the famous Sunday Barbeque-book in advance. Gem resort includes apartments 1 or 2 bed self catering or hotel (more touristy-newly built with swimming pool didn't look at rooms but looks very nice from the beach. Restaurants in the resort for meals from breakfast to evening meals. Walk to next beach (Gran Anse) 5-10 minutes (hill) has many more places to eat-get a burger at ''Umbrellas' won't dissapoint. See the Underwater Sculpture Park (42ECD/pp with Dive Grenada (on Gran Anse Beach)-excellent service). If you need a tour guide see Cat Eye Taxi & Tours-famous on the island.

Room Tip: Higher floors for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mytravelreviews-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A group of us recently spent 3 nights at the Gem after returning from a sailing trip in this part of the Caribbean. To my surprise, the rooms were actually very spacious suites. They were very clean and had nice ocean views. The desk staff personnel were very courteous and helpful, even escorting us to the rooms upon arrival. The food at the restaurant was good and tasty, but the restaurant had very short hours. Fortuneately, the restaurant next door was open earlier and later and was also good. The one drawback was on the Friday night before our sailing trip -- apparently the night club at the hotel has a big bash on Friday nights and the noise and vibration was terrible. And it went on until 4 AM!

Room Tip: If you are there on Friday, make sure your bedroom is in the back and shut the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Gem Holiday Beach Resort is a nice hotel on beautiful Morne Beach near St. George's in Grenada. The service at this hotel is outstanding. While I was there, I wanted to watch an NBA basketball playoff game that was being broadcast on a channel not normally on their TV cable. Management had the Direct TV man come into my room to reprogram the TV so I could watch a game that otherwise would have been unavailable to me.

Steve

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smk47807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on Honeymoon, for a week in April 2012, so small and personal, we were greeted by Julia, who was lovely, the room was prepared Honeymoon style and good complimentary Champagne, and Flowers, the Air con was Fab, freezing at times, just what you need in tropical temps, Friendly staff and so helpful, they had good relationships with the nearby hotels too. would defiantly stay again this time with the children.

Room Tip: We had Sea View - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
16.7 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing