We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem is a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Gem Holiday Beach Resort is a nice hotel on beautiful Morne Beach near St. George's in Grenada. The service at this hotel is outstanding. While I was there, I wanted to watch an NBA basketball playoff game that was being broadcast on a channel not normally on their TV cable. Management had the Direct TV man come into my room to reprogram the TV so I could watch a game that otherwise would have been unavailable to me.

Steve

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smk47807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on Honeymoon, for a week in April 2012, so small and personal, we were greeted by Julia, who was lovely, the room was prepared Honeymoon style and good complimentary Champagne, and Flowers, the Air con was Fab, freezing at times, just what you need in tropical temps, Friendly staff and so helpful, they had good relationships with the nearby hotels too. would defiantly stay again this time with the children.

Room Tip: We had Sea View - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

After reading previous reviews we initally only booked 4 nights at the gem before departing for Carriacou and decide to book a further 7 nights on our return . Julia the manager and her staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable . The appartment was very clean and spacious with a lounge, Kitchenette and bedroom ,although the furniture and decor where a bit old, the location and veranda made up for that. Our towles where lovley and soft and changed daily and the bed was really comfortable, we have stayed in 5* hotels with less comfortable beds . The only downfall is the Friday night disco although you dont hear the people or the music but the drone of the beat can be heared, but it was only 1 night. The beach is the best on the Island and very safe swiming.

Room Tip: we stayed in a sea view number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loughie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and WOW i must say this is a spectacular resort for its 2.5 star rating and reasonable price!! The staff and management are incredibly friendly,honest, helpful and a pleasure to be among. Always smiling!!!

The room was beach front, clean, and everything was working up to standards. The kitchen was fully equipped and some days I just had a nice 15 min stroll to the local supermarkets and stayed in and cooked.

The restaurant meals were superb, however I would have liked to have more local options.

The resort is situated on what i would consider to be one of the best beaches I have visited whilst on my stay. Very peaceful safe and calm beach . Locals on the beach very helpful and loved their local art and craft.

There is a nearby club but surprisingly my sleep was never interrupted by it. And I am easily awakened at nights!

I have now discovered an escape heaven and would definitely recommend the Gem.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good 2-3 star resort, I would definitely recommend Gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is really a Gem, all i think that they need to put in is a Pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaliniHarridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and even though there were problems initially (with lack of hygiene and poor cleaning) really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful and if you found anything not to your liking they would do their best to change it. The rooms are very large and even though most of the furniture is either ancient or broken, it really did not bother me as its only a two star resort and the problems was fixable. The place is dated, but because the rooms are large this for me compensated that fact. Awesome location for a property, and quite possibly the best swimming beach on the Island. Night club next to accomodations and restaurant Fantasia is really noisy at times (especially fridays), so expect to be kept up til the wee hours then. Negatives aside, Great Island with heaps to see and do. Abundance of cheap eateries; Nutmeg, Andels restaurant, above supermarket next to bus station and Spiceland mall have lots of cheap choices. Really expensive for what you get is BB's on the waterfront.
Travelling by bus is really cheap and one can go nearly everywhere if you are prepared to either offer the driver a little more or walk the difference.
Highlights are: Belmont Estate and the cheese and chocolate factory.
Bathways and Levera beaches which are truly beautiful
A drive round the coastal sides of the Island
And of course Grand Etang

Room Tip: choose top floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonetree777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Vacation was perfect. Place was clean, staff was helpful and friendly. Food was fantastic,especially when dining and overlooking the lovely bay. Morne Rouge Bay is heavenly. This is indeed a paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweetee_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.5 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#6 of 11 in Grand Anse
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range: $86 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing