We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Must Go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Must Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and WOW i must say this is a spectacular resort for its 2.5 star rating and reasonable price!! The staff and management are incredibly friendly,honest, helpful and a pleasure to be among. Always smiling!!!

The room was beach front, clean, and everything was working up to standards. The kitchen was fully equipped and some days I just had a nice 15 min stroll to the local supermarkets and stayed in and cooked.

The restaurant meals were superb, however I would have liked to have more local options.

The resort is situated on what i would consider to be one of the best beaches I have visited whilst on my stay. Very peaceful safe and calm beach . Locals on the beach very helpful and loved their local art and craft.

There is a nearby club but surprisingly my sleep was never interrupted by it. And I am easily awakened at nights!

I have now discovered an escape heaven and would definitely recommend the Gem.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good 2-3 star resort, I would definitely recommend Gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    11
    8
    10
See reviews for
27
41
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is really a Gem, all i think that they need to put in is a Pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaliniHarridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and even though there were problems initially (with lack of hygiene and poor cleaning) really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful and if you found anything not to your liking they would do their best to change it. The rooms are very large and even though most of the furniture is either ancient or broken, it really did not bother me as its only a two star resort and the problems was fixable. The place is dated, but because the rooms are large this for me compensated that fact. Awesome location for a property, and quite possibly the best swimming beach on the Island. Night club next to accomodations and restaurant Fantasia is really noisy at times (especially fridays), so expect to be kept up til the wee hours then. Negatives aside, Great Island with heaps to see and do. Abundance of cheap eateries; Nutmeg, Andels restaurant, above supermarket next to bus station and Spiceland mall have lots of cheap choices. Really expensive for what you get is BB's on the waterfront.
Travelling by bus is really cheap and one can go nearly everywhere if you are prepared to either offer the driver a little more or walk the difference.
Highlights are: Belmont Estate and the cheese and chocolate factory.
Bathways and Levera beaches which are truly beautiful
A drive round the coastal sides of the Island
And of course Grand Etang

Room Tip: choose top floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonetree777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Vacation was perfect. Place was clean, staff was helpful and friendly. Food was fantastic,especially when dining and overlooking the lovely bay. Morne Rouge Bay is heavenly. This is indeed a paradise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetee_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed a week, very comfortable and roomy...slept like a baby! Staff very helpful, good food and well appointed restaurant. Good onsite facilities , including pool, pool bar, snacks, private beach and water sports. Close to other restaurants , hotels, supermarket and ther essentials. Handy location for airport, bus and main through roads. Great for families, couples or singles alike. Run by family members who all care for your well being and very happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussex_boy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The trip was absolutely perfect I can say! The island was full of enjoyment with friendly lovely natives. We arrived on a hot sunny day and as soon as we got of the plane and arrived at the hotel, my family and I were greeted with cool refreshing fruit punches. I must say if you've heard of the life on the Caribbean, Grenada is the one to be! From the unpolluted unspoiled environment, rivers, beaches, nature walks, to night life, all Great! Staying at the Gem was like putting the icing on the cake. The warm welcoming hospitality, the constantly smiling faces, the great room service( I mean not once did we have to come back to an unclean room, fresh sheets and towels daily). The staff looked after us well, ensuring we were as comfortable as possible, well informed so we never missed a bright moment in our holiday, advice on the local heritage and must see's! On top of that a hotel could never been more brilliantly situated on its own private tropical bay with such warm water and white sand. It was like a paradise in a paradise!! Every day the kids woke up they would jet down to the beach as if it were the only thing that existed. The food was absolutely delicious. I was no stranger to Caribbean food prior this trip but the attention to detail and just the mouth watering taste of the food, we dined no where else! In the words of the locals 'Big Up to the Chef! And the entire team at the Gem Hotel. You made our time incredible... Already planning our next trip!!!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are stunning. At morning, sunset, all day perfect. I'm sure the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roushan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Having seen the spectacular bay I thought all would be well, how wrong could I be. The rooms were dirty, old and in desperate need of updating.The Manageress rude and unhelpful, the security non existent and the noise from the adjacent night club awful! We all felt uneasy at night especially as we were unable to secure the door properly.What should have been a wonderful holiday was ruined by the tired hotel and staff, there are plenty of other hotels in Grenada which for the same price you can have far better accommodation and gratuitous staff. Avoid like the plague!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank waracs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.1 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#8 of 14 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Kalinago Beach Resort
Kalinago Beach Resort
#1 of 20 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, West Indies and Priceline so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing