We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tutti Frutti all day tour”
Review of Sunsation Tours

Sunsation Tours
Ranked #1 of 44 Tours in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer island tours, shore excursions for cruise ships, off-island trips, information and advice; we put you in touch with providers of services we do not supply ourselves, i.e day tours to the Grenadines, sailing, snorkelling, golf, diving, "adventure jeeping" ...
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tutti Frutti all day tour”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Tour included what we wanted to see - nutmeg processing plant, cocoa processing plant & rum distillery. Also Grand Etang & Concord waterfalls. Lunch included at Belmont estate was wonderful. A/C in van needs improvement. Complimentary bottle of water provided. Because some stops were on east side & some on west side, there was lots of driving through towns. Driver did provide commentary and would stop to highlight different fruits, native sites, etc. Disappointed that cocoa processing was a self-guided tour, but then discovered there was a guided tour but we didn't have enough time to do. If I had to do it again, I might choose 2 half-day tours instead. I would call this tour company again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank syracuselax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    35
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great trips and guides”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This should be the 1st company to try if you're looking for trips in Grenada. I've done most of their trips over 3 visits to Grenada and never been disappointed. Johanna goes above and beyond to help and the guides are knowledgeable and super friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Japet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CousinJo, Owner at Sunsation Tours, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on one of our tours soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the Highlights of the trip”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We hired Desmond for the day to take us on the tour of the island including, Grand Etang, the Cocoa Processing Center, Belmont Estate, the Nutmeg processing Center and Laura's Spice garden. We learned so much from this guide. He truly made the day spectacular. We saw Mona Monkeys and got private tours at all the stops mentioned above. What a great day of learning about the heartbeat of Grenada - its spices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb & Knowledgeable Service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our third trip to Grenada, the Spice Island. This time we were flying with BA instead of Virgin but as Johanna had always given us excellent service in the past, we booked a Sunsation private taxi tour directly with her. Johanna has a deep love of the island and has lived there for many years so is able to give really helpful advice on the various tours offered.

On our previous trips, we have booked a wide variety of the set tours but last year we finished off with a private taxi tour driven by Ian. He has also lived on the island for many years and has proudly become a citizen of Grenada. He took us to beaches and viewpoints off the main roads and showed us the hidden Grenada. We particularly loved Bathway Beach, Levara Bay & the Southern Peninsulas.

We were keen to have our tour this year with Ian again and he did not disappoint. He managed to find mountain viewpoints and single track roads with hidden beaches. He is an excellent driver and an expert photographer as well as having great local knowledge. The day flew in as we explored the highways and byways of Grenada. We loved Paradise Beach in particular.

We would recommend the service at Sunsation Tours as second to none.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank inverness54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CousinJo, Owner at Sunsation Tours, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about Sunsation Tours. It was a pleasure having you on our private tour once again.
We always try to match guests with guides to really give our visitors the best possible experience.
Ian, just like you, is a hobby photographer and was able to understand what exactly you were looking for.
We are looking forward to seeing you back in Grenada in the not too distant future. We will find new places to take you to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sunsational”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Sunsation offers a good variety of trips both long and short and that will suit all budgets. I went on the Tutti Fruitti all day tour and was impressed on how well it was thought out. Our guide, Glen, was extremely well informed about the island and certainly about its vast variety of crops and herbs. We had just about the right amount of time at all of the stops and the guides were very good. Stopping for lunch at the Belmont Estate was a really nice touch. A very good day out.
I'm also pleased to say that I took the Virgins Ahoy cruise to Hog Island as this was one of my holiday highlights. A superb day out on the Shadowfax catamaran topped off with a lobster lunch on the beach and a friendly and fun crew who were only too pleased to ply you with drinks (alcholic and non-alcoholic) all day long.
An excellent company offering superb tours made even better by the hardworking and ever attentive Johanna who will go out of her way to help. It is a pleasure to have met her( and I'm still older). Hi Jo.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunklaymin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CousinJo, Owner at Sunsation Tours, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is much appreciated. I'm happy to know that you had a great time. I will pass your praise on to Glen and the crew of Shadowfax.
I hope that we see you again some time soon. There's so much more to do and to discover. You never got around to doing the sunset cruise.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunsation Tours also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Sunsation Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing