We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Adventure Tours Grenada - Caribbean
Ranked #16 of 44 Tours in St. George's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Cardiff, South Glamorgan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

See the real island and enjoy the atmosphere - great value for money. Great fun educational and really enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Your chance to be a big kid”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This tour was fun from start to finish. The guides were laid back and up for fun, the location was stunning and fortunately the recent rains had boosted the river levels to give extra speed along the way.
This trip IS NOT suitable for people with restricted mobility, people who have a major dislike of being splashed and getting seriously wet or people who have a fear of deep water (even though you are provided with a life jacket).
However if you really enjoy water based rides then you must try this. One of the best hours of our holiday!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HillsandCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
“Freedom Float extreme FUN”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Do you crave an adrenalin rush; do you seek excitement and fun? Then Grenada Adventure Tours River tubing experience will certainly give you that. In this free-floating tubing experience, the riders are untethered and carried by the current of the river. The drive out of the town of St. George’s through the scenic, breath taking Atlantic east coastline, takes you on to the Balthazar Estate. First stop, I was given the introduction and safety briefing. After the briefing I was provided with a life vest and a tube before getting into the river. From the word go, the adventure is one that grips you with a feeling of utmost excitement. The exotic scenery of tropical vegetation and wildlife, is something to behold. The thrill of the ride down the river, and ultimately the last pool where I took a swim before getting back to the hotel are experiences that will stay with me forever. I implore visitors/ vacationers to Grenada to EXPERIENCE RIVER TUBING. I can assure you that this is one experience that you WILL BE coming back for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun, Great Adventure”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our trip with adventure tours was simply amazing. We booked our tour through our virgin holiday rep (Inge) who highly recommended the jeep/river tubing combination. We were pick up from our hotel with the company's 4x4 open back jeep. This was a great way of seeing the island since we were invited to stand by the guide and get a 360 degree view of the area we were driving through. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. This tour takes you from an urban setting to a rural setting. So we got a great idea of Grenada. On arriving at the pond as describe as the pond of youth, we did not want to leave, the pond was really warm and we felt very comfortable, it was the best part for my wife and I. Then it was off to the river tubing, the part our kids enjoyed the most. It was a great ride down the river and was very safe. All in all, we would do definitely do Adventure tours again on our next visit to Grenada, which we hope is next summer. This trip is a must do on a visit to Grenada.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“River tubing with lots of splashing”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The trip to the river was quite adventurous since the road was washed away along steep cliffs with no guard rails and a speed demon driver. Once we got there, we put on helmets and life vests then the river guides gave us a brief orientation. From there it was a big disappointment, but perhaps this was because the water was relatively low.

The guides literally pushed us through the rapids and then splashed us in an apparent effort to make the trip more exciting. It wasn't just light, playful splashing, it was full body splashes at unexpected times - and not fun. At one point my contact lens washed out and I asked - then begged - the guides to stop splashing. They smiled and made mocking comments to each other, "She doesn't want to be splashed" (in a snarky tone) but didn't stop, which was just plain miserable. At several points along the way, they require the entire group (around 40 people) to stop and hold onto a rope across the river so that we can then go one-by-one through the "rapids" (i.e., rocks that they would push us through and splash water on us). Since we had to wait for the entire group to collect, this meant waiting about 5 times for 5-10 minutes each; it would've been a lot more fun to be allowed to keep going, but maybe this was their way to make the river ride last at least an hour.

After the river tubing, we were given a cup of rum punch and could buy spices. I did buy a beautiful spice necklace that a local woman made and sold. That was the best part of the trip!

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this trip unless you enjoy the splash rides (like Splash Mountain at Disney) and that's all you're looking for in a shore excursion.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank spikemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Tours Grenada - Caribbean also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
Saint George Parish, Grenada
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Adventure Tours Grenada - Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing