We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalinago Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalinago Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 St. George's B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our return trip from the Carriacou Maroon and String Band Festival. the hotel itself is in a great location, on the beach in Morne Rouge Bay which is great for swimming. the prices were reasonable and the food good. the room was of a good standard. we had their king sized bed, it was that big that i had to send out the search party for my wife twice one night. the staff were attentive and pleasant. the only reason i did not give this hotel top marks was that when we went only 5 rooms out of the 29 were occupied so it would not be fair to grade the service on this but i am sure that the staff would get top marks on full occupancy. we went early in May and from what i can make out the period between Easter and the first week in May are usually low season so look out for bargains

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    98
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
115
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Kalinago is on a quiet beach with a gentle surf. It is a perfect setting for the sunset. Our room was very comfortable and the staff helpful. We would definitely stay again.
The access to the hotel could be difficult, it is down a very steep drive. Otherwise a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at this resort but ate in the restaurant and sat on the public beach in front of the hotel. Sign on beach Happy Hour 4-7 every day. To our dismay this did not include a rum punch! Complained about the mis information and we were given a 20% discount.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SurreyConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After 2 weeks on Grand Anse beach and 1 week on Carriacou, we returned to Grenada for our final week, this time on Morne Rouge Beach (April 14 to 20, 2011).

After much research, as usual, we chose the Kalinago Beach Resort directly on Morne Rouge Beach. It was built in 2010 and named after the Carib indigenous people, who in their native tongue called themselves Kalinago. The resort was very nice and suited us well, even though it didn't have a kitchen (small fridge though, which we found very handy -- we were still able to have our breakfasts and some other meals on the balcony). We opted for a room on the 3rd floor as the price differential between ground floor and upper was minimal. Also no mosquitoes higher up, not that we noticed any on the beach. Our room was the second from the end on the top (3rd) floor as seen from the beach (see photo). The room was very nice and spotlessly clean. Although reviews of the resort’s restaurant were mixed, we found the food very good, prices reasonable, and service friendly. Since Morne Rouge Beach is fairly small and has only the 2 hotels, it is very quiet. This hotel is exactly the kind of place we enjoy the most – small (29 rooms) and family run. The owners and staff are very friendly and will help with anything you need.

The resort had an enjoyable free drink and appetizer gathering one night (manager’s weekly cocktail party) and on another day guests were taught how to make Grenada’s national dish, “Oil Down.” Most of the guests attending joined in and we all had fun chopping various vegetables for the dish. We needed to leave for our turtle tour before the dish had finished cooking so they saved some for us to have the next day – it was excellent.

The Morne Rouge Beach has lovely sand and is excellent for swimming since it’s so calm. Snorkeling, however, was not worth the effort. This beach is next to Grand Anse (south) and it only took about 15 minutes to walk up and down a hill to get to the Grand Anse Beach where we went for a number of early morning walks and bought groceries nearby.

We give the Kalinago Beach Resort high marks and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 3rd floor - wonderful views from the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug47travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I loved ourselves at Kalinago beach resort. Our room was the deluxe suite and was well decorated by one of the staff.The entire ambience was so good we agree to return there. Everything,even the food we tried was good. My favorite dish was the cod fish with plantain,while my wife loved the buffalo wings. So we are looking to return to see our home away from home and the hospitable and professional staff. So if anyone is thinking of a place to get away, consider this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the second time we visited Kalinago. The staff are the best, always friendly and go out of their way to make your time with them perfect. The food, the hotel, the beach, the drinks...doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Reading some reviews continues to convince me that some people constantly look for flaws rather than looking at the many plus points of being on a delightful Island with a developing tourist industry. The menu is simple (are not all the menus at all the restaurants?) and is always an indicator of good food; the service was faster than most of the places where we have dined over the last two weeks and the tuna was hot and served with an excellent ginger and lime sauce. Coffee was good and overall the bill reasonable at EC$ 160 for two

Given some people want the negatives: the dining room has walls of dark painted walls - and the tuna had bones in it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.0 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#2 of 14 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalinago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalinago Beach Resort

Property: Kalinago Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Bay, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalinago Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, West Indies, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kalinago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalinago Beach Hotel St. George`s
Kalinago Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing