We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach OK, substandard service and hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalinago Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 St. George's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's quite some hike to this hotel, which we rather enjoyed, but it won't be for everyone. The hill out the hotel is 5 minutes of sweating!

The beach on the hotel is pretty nice, though it smelt bad at times and there weren't enough chairs and no umbrellas at all. No drinks service on the beach, which brings me to the biggest problem - service.

There is no service at this hotel and no management. This manifests itself in a number of ways:
- Small things like shampoo and coffee not refilled
- Sheets not changed during the stay - had to ask specifically
- Often no towels available for the beach
- Staff would sit on the beach chair next to you eating lunch, spill lunch down their clothes and then go to the bar to serve you a drink without washing their hands
- Often no-one at the bar at all - would have to go and pour my own glass of water

And as for amenities - non-existant.

- Room Service: (I called a bunch of times and they never turned up)
- WiFi: does not work in-room and is the worst I have ever experienced at a hotel. Don't hope to make a Skype call.
- Tea and Coffee: No coffee machine, though I eventually convinced reception to give me one/
- The hotel restaurant was completely shut during our stay with no warning

The island itself is OK and the Grand Anse beach, a 15 minute walk away is a much nicer beach. It's supposed to be busy in season, but at the end of November, it was quiet. Stay there if you can.

Food was a major problem and there are few good places to eat. You can walk from the hotel to La Luna in 20 minutes, which was OK Italian food. From La Luna you could walk 2 minutes down the beach to the Beach House, which was excellent. The Aquarium is a $20US taxi drive each way and is excellent. Be careful - good food is really expensive on this island, expect $100US a head.

Taxis are not that cheap - $20US to go pretty much anywhere, but they are generally polite and air-conditioned.

So in short - I can't recommend this hotel. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get close to the reception on the ground floor, where you can walk to your room from the beach and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 265 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Super friendly staff, clean spacious rooms. Breakfast not included - but it is reasonably priced, tasty, and served on a balcony overlooking gorgeous Morne Rouge bay. The resort is literaly on the beach - and with the tropical temperature you don´t even need a towel; jump in the water and let the sun dry you off or hit the shower in your room right away.

You are however dependent on a taxi to get groceries, go the atm or go sightseeing. Still, it is not far from St. George and the taxi drivers are very reliable.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, with direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

First time in Grenada. A beautiful island, we had previously been to Antigua as well as St Lucia, of course many things similar, but the difference with Grenada was that the people - inside and outside the resort - were much more friendly and welcoming, than our experience of the other islands.
The location of the Kalinago resort is very nice on its almost private Morne Rouge beach, the problem is that to get anywhere else, for shopping, eating, whatever, it is necessary to climb quite a steep hill - not something the average person wants to do more than once every few days!
Other than that, the resort was generally clean (although the pool could do with a more regular clean). As already said the staff were excellent, and impossible to mention all but deserving a mention are Christel in the pool bar, and Kelroy, the gardener, maintenance, handyman.
We did a couple of trips, quite expensive, but worth doing to see the island.
The "spicy half day" takes you to the Waterfall, nutmeg station, rainforest etc.
Second was the one day catamaran round the island trip. Unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to go 'round the island' instead we had to make do with up and down the west (Caribbean) coast. A little disappointing but the crew of Carib Cats (Cpt Francis & 1st mate Fedon) did their best to make it a good day, and they succeeded!
Watch out for a vendor on the beach known as Mike - he is a very dishonest man!
There are a few restaurants nearby, though the menus in all are quite limited. That said, if you do find something you fancy, the quality (& quantity) of food is very good. The Boulangerie in Grande Anse is worth a visit.


  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris1190472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just back from our trip to Grenada, our vacation birthday getaway for this year, Grenada
is a lovely place, very countrylike and the beaches are beautiful, my daughters and i stayed
at Kalinago Beach Resort, the hotel rates were quite affordable and it is located on Morne Rouge beach which is a lovely beach that comprise of calm, warm waters and white sand.

We did arrive early from our flight and was promptly checked in, the room was clean, the
beds quite comfortable, the bathroom was large and had enough clean towels for our use,
the room didn't have much of a kitchenette, just a small refrigerator and a counter with some
dishes for breakfast, i requested a microwave and this was brought to our room promptly.
There was also A/C and a ceiling fan to keep the room cool and cozy, the flat screen tv and
other furniture also added a homely touch, the phone in the room didn't work so the staff had to come up to deliver messages but i was a bit disappointed with the view from our
balcony, the view is always important to me so i will give it a seven on a scale of one to ten.
I had requested a room with a great view of the ocean but we were checked in on the second floor at room 10 which is to the northern end of the hotel, our view comprised of some construction and beach front, i couldn't get a good view of the pool either so i tried to focus on the beautiful beach that awaited us.

The staff at Kalinago is quite friendly and accommodating especially Stacy who made us
feel so welcome and at home, the rooms were cleaned daily and the towels replaced with
fresh ones, the pool is a nice size but it should be cleaned more regularly as their were
flying insects in it each time we used it, however it was still relaxing to swim in and the swim
up bar was nice with refreshing drinks at hand, you also get a welcome drink which is non alcoholic upon arrival. There is a restaurant on the premises but i didn't get around to dining there as we ate out the couple times we were out sightseeing, the famous Grand Anse beach is within walking distance, we were given a lot of information on places to go and things to do while in Grenada, by the competent receptionists alanda and Stacy who was quite helpful in that area which made our trip even more fun filled, there are more to see and experience so we will definitely be back.

There really was no major hiccups while staying at Kalingo beach resort, it is nestled a bit away so there is no vending around and the entire beach, pool and hotel surroundings were quite peaceful which added to meaning of a vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms located in the center and on the southern end offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownsugar261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at kalinago during the carnival season and it was the best .It was our first time to grenada and definitely not the last , we always figured that we well travel and don't go back to the same place, but grenada we got to come back.
The resort is excellent the room are very clean and modernize .The garden are so colorful and beautiful what we really loved while sitting on the balcony.
The staff ; they the most FRIENDLIEST STAFF I have ever seen going out of there way to making us happy. We always travel but the staffs here are a really good asset to the company.
Just to name a few Abby ,lyntia , and christel who talked to us and gave us idea everything about tours and her cocktail is the best I have ever experience. The food at the restaurant is very good . We ate there a few time and we enjoyed it . We went out to other restaurant and enjoyed also.
Kalinago you well definitely she us soon
We loved it

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank besttriptochill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visited Grenada twice before, but this trip was a special one since it was my husband's first visit to the island. Our flight arrived on time and our car rental guy, Ray (from PArky's car rental) was there waiting for us. On our arrival to the hotel, Stacy promptly checked us in. Our room was on the top floor and the ocean view was nothing short of breath-taking!!!

The room smelled newly constructed and it was very clean. The beds were also quite comfortable.

The hotel is right on the Morne Rouge beach, which is veryyyyy calm. If you want to kick-back and relax on a beach, this is the perfect beach for you. Beach towels, chairs, snorkeling gear and kayaks are complimentary. During off-peak periods, there are little or no vendors on that beach.

Since we were celebrating our anniversary, Linthia (one of the receptionists), organized a lovely surprise. There was a bottle of champagne and flowers on the bed awaiting us when we got to our room. This was a wonderful gesture.

Stacy, another receptionist also befriended us and gave us some really great suggestions for dining to celebrate our special occasion.

Some good food places to check out:
For casual, reasonably, priced dining - The Owl (in flambouyant hotel), Umbrellas bar (on Grand Anse beach), Creole Shack (this place is in town itself)

For fine dining - Aquarium and Beach House rest

For brunch - Le Papillion - located just down the street close to the police station. Their French toast is a must!!!

For the BEST crab backs - BB's crab shack. The other food offered is tasty, but in my opinion,
it's a bit over-priced. The crab-back is like $36 EC, but it's wellllll worth it!!!!

All in all, this was one of the most relaxing vacations ever and Kalinago's resort contributed to that experience. It was truly amazing to get the quality of service delivered (ESP from Stacy) and knowing that I was in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks at the end of June - beginning of July, having both our wedding and honeymoon there!
We were really looking forward to our wedding but even the final balance to pay was not confirmed before we left for the airport so we couldn't relax just yet!
The manager decided to add-on an extra $850 for our wedding, saying that it should have been added on at the beginning. However, we had paid the deposit to secure our booking at the price originally agreed so felt this extra was unfair, unnecessary and shouldn't be allowed. The attitude that the manager Julia had, was to become a recurring theme - 'It was an error and not our fault'. Well, actually, the error was yours so it was your fault!

She gave us the ultimatum when we finally tracked her down, after 2 days of being there, that we have to pay it or look elsewhere! Trying to find somewhere else to get married at that short notice would have proved far too stressful so we had no choice but to pay it. But, we wanted something in return, something extra. She agreed to do the bbq on the beach for our meal after the wedding but would not do lobster (apparently out of season so very hard to get) or prawns. Lobster is my absolute favourite so insisted we have just the one, but we had to forfeit our 'couples massage' for the privilege of 1 lobster. She said we could buy our own prawns from the market/supermarket and they would cook them on the beach. Days later in the restaurant we discovered lobster was actually on their menu -so obviously not that hard to get hold of!
Doing the bbq for us sounded ok, but wouldn't be worth $850 as there was only 8 of us! So, when she said she wanted something back herself, we thought it was a bit of a joke! She wanted to use our photos from the photographer we had paid for to put on the website to advertise weddings at the hotel! We had no choice but to agree at this stage.

On the day, we had to provide our own music and set it up at the bar using my ipod and the docking station from our room. I was given a bouquet which, although quite adequate, was nothing like the bouquet that I requested via email using a photo for an example. Definitely short changed there, with the majority of the flowers used available on the local tree! I asked for bright pinks and purples, an exotic bouquet, -I got a predominantly white bouquet with the odd spider orchid thrown in and lots of tacky silver glitter thrown over! I didn't worry though, it's only flowers and there was no point getting stressed, although it did just add to the list!
The 'bougainvillea covered archway' on the beach which was confirmed, wasn't anything like what we got -just covered in local bits of tree and randomly picked flowers. Again, not something to worry too much about, but again, not what we asked for! All the emails to and fro, asking me what I wanted on the day, were proving to have been a waste of time!

The photographer was using a very old style camera, as was the videographer, but we had paid for professional photos and DVD of the wedding so we didn't think much about it, hoping that that's what we would end up with. It was lucky that the photos from our guests turned out so well, as the 'professional' photographs were absolutely awful! All either blurry or over-exposed with the wrong colours, stripes down the middle, out of focus, you name it, we had it! Heart-breaking really, from a day that is quite literally once-in-a-lifetime!
The DVD that we were sent home with, arriving at the desk 15 minutes after we were due to leave for the airport (our driver waited thank goodness!) was blank when we tried to play it on returning home. After various emails, the 'real' DVD arrived over a month later! Well, what a disaster! It looked like a home movie from the early 80's when video-cameras had just come out, not a HD-film like we were expecting. There were lines through the screen, the sound quality terrible, lighting changing from too dark to too bright. Such a massive shame because if we had known, my mum or dad could have used their little HD videocameras to film it, and the result would have been 100% better! Photographer and videographer = total disaster.

So then it was the bbq on the beach. We had asked for some simple 'picky' starters like nachos, dips etc that we could eat while having drinks on the beach before the main meal. Well, we didn't get any starters, but a few nachos with salsa arrived as a side dish half-way through the meal! Interesting! We had bought a large bag of giant prawns, costing a lot, that they were meant to cook for us. No-one had prawns on their plate so my hubby had to get up and find out where they were. Eventually they 'found' them and cooked them but by this time we were finished so they brought them to us on small side plates with a roll! Very faulty towers style, just like their restaurant (slow, bad service and over-priced by the way!). The wedding cake which we had for our dessert as they wanted to save yet more money (!) was so dry and tasteless, another disappointment.

Ok, aside from the wedding.......

The hotel itself has a beautiful beach which makes up for the incredibly steep long hill you have to walk up to get out of the resort (the taxi drive down is like the big dipper rollercoaster, not kidding!). Lovely fine sand and clear, calm sea, perfect for swimming.

The staff, apart form the manager (who is quite simply a liar), are mostly lovely, the nicest being Stacy and Chrystel who are just so friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you're happy. Shame it wasn't them who were organising our wedding! They really helped to make the rest of our stay very pleasant.

I just felt the need to write this review (having never written one before) to inform any of you who might be thinking about a wedding here. I know how much I rely on reviews before going anywhere so knew I really should spill the beans on our experience!

Room Tip: Ground floor are not very secure, 1st floor rooms are nice and quiet, 2nd floor are very noisy when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.0 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
1,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalinago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalinago Beach Resort

Address: Morne Rouge Bay | PO Box 58, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price Range: $119 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalinago Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kalinago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalinago Beach Hotel St. George`s
Kalinago Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing