We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dr Grooms... Quiet and Comfortable! Tranquil...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grooms Beach Villas and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dr Grooms... Quiet and Comfortable! Tranquil...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Grooms is located really close to the airport, less than a minutes drive but surprisingly the taking off and landing of the crafts are not a disturbance. It means though that the town is a little way off and you need a taxi/bus to get around. The Grooms has a very nice pool by the restaurant/bar that serve really great dishes. You just need to ask for what it is that you want and the chef on duty will prepare it. The beach is a stone's throw away, but you have to leave the property and walk along a foot trail to get there. There's a restaurant by the beach so you can have food/drinks when you are down there (they are a bit expensive though). A comfortable bed, internet, tv, ac, mini fridge, coffee maker complete the decor in the large space for the room. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom with ample closet space and storage areas. Very spacious! Room service is daily but they didn't always replenish my stock of tea and sugar or change my utensils. Nonetheless the Grooms is a wonderful place to stay and if you get the chance, make sure you do!

Room Tip: Get a room thats out of the way of people traffic, otherwise you will be hearing the footsteps passi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
64
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

My Husband and I are worldwide travellers, and I must say Grooms Beach Resort and Villas was a excellent choice.
The reosort is located in the ideal area, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The environment is peaceful and tranquil. The beach is only two minutes walk and the pool is clean and well maintained so you have two excellent choices. This is a fairly new development with spacious rooms that are clean,comfortable, well maintained and affordable.The services definitley exceeded our expectation. The staff members are professional and friendly.They ensure our comfort. I'll definitlely recommend grooms beach resort and villas not only to family and friends but to anyone visiting this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisapoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Service was excellent - staff was very cordial, friendly and accommodating. They helped us in accessing our tour guide, who was quite knowledgeable (Kennedy's Tours). We stayed in one of the standard rooms and it was quite comfortable for our purposes. The Kitchenette was very well equipped, although we didn't make much use of it, as we were out every day. The bed was a queen size - very cosy. We liked the fact that we could access cable, although the number of stations were limited. The patio had a beautiful view of the swimming pool, which we were allowed to use even way past the stipulated time. Not too much chlorine and the water was always warm, even at midnight, which we loved. The pool bar attendant was very nice and the chef who prepared breakfast for us every day was really courteous. He advised that we go to dinner at La Luna restaurant next door where he's the chef at night - an absolutely fantastic experience! We thank him greatly! Dr. Groom's Beach is really beautiful, so if you don't plan to travel much out of the resort and can't make it to Grand Anse, you'll still be in for a treat. The only thing that we thought was disappointing is that although we were advised that accommodation included breakfast - what they offered was very limited. Anything additional you were required to pay for it and food is very costly in Grenada. The resort's location was convenient as it's about 2 mins. drive from the airport and about 6 minutes drive from Grand Anse and about 10 - 12 minutes drive away from the capital, St. George's. Also, the resort is very close to another lovely beach called Magazine Beach and the popular Aquarium Bar/Restaurant located on the beach. A really breathtaking place. Lovely service, great drinks and tasty food. I fell in love with their "Hurricane Ivan" drink, lol. The cost of accommodation seems reasonable in comparison to other resorts and hotels we checked out. My partner and I were a bit sad to leave, we had so much fun and really enjoyed the resort. My advice is if you're in Grenada, be sure to do a couple of the tours - it makes the experience much more fulfilling.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacationer147388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

A large group of us (4 adults + 3 children) stayed at one of the "town houses" at Grooms. Proximity to the beach and a quiet pool area were highlights. The staff was wonderfully accommodating and very helpful. We loved that we could cook our own meals, and venture down to the Beach House Restaurant and Old Skool Bar at our leisure. We originally planned to stay for 2 nights, but had to stay another - the staff was very flexible and able to meet our needs; they even let us stay until 6:00 on our check-out day. They also helped us make our way into town a couple of times via mini-bus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Warm and friendly staff awaits you,i was recommended to this resort by a taxi owner our intention was to stay three nights in Grenada which we already stay four nights in Barbados not knowing whether we would like it there we only book one night,after we were finish and taken to our room i was force to come back and booked for the other two nights the service was good,the room was very spacious and clean we visit the beaches and also take the fiery to carricou for a day which we enjoyed.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank petty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

My friends and i stayed a week at this lovely hotel, we stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view villa and what i can say we enjoyed it.The rooms are clean well equipped and spacious.I enjoyed laying by the pool while sipping on the most delicious rum punch from the bartender who is always smiling.The Staff were amazing and not forgetting the Manager whenever we wanted to go to the shopping mall and didn't want to take a taxi the Manager was so kind to carry us there.we had so much fun at the Grooms beach about 2 minutes walk from the resort it was so quiet and beautiful.well we didn't go out much but on the Friday we were here we went to the Gouyave fish Friday and i must say if you're a seafood lover then Gouyave fish Friday is the place to be.We had the best time and will surely visit the Grooms beach villas and resort again.Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay and we would be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheri88NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Nine of us stayed at this lovely looking resort , the staff , the cook , the waitresses , the cleaners they were all lovely. The owner and the manager was the most ignorant woman . We paid for breakfast £10.00 a day . She said the was only the complimentary breakfast which consisted of a fairy cake , One grape, an inch of melon and a slice of starfruit. The bar was always short of even the most basic drinks and there was no price list for drinks. Everything was subject to a service charge that none of the staff got. The final insult was that this woman held her brothers wedding on that small resort , 300 people and she more or less said we had to stay in our room. I could go on and on but all I can really say is don't go there !!! PS the pool was closed for three days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bunnie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.7 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.1 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
1.1 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grooms Beach Villas and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grooms Beach Villas and Resort

Property: Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
Address: Point Salines | P.O. Box 1643, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grooms Beach Villas and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm friendly service, outstanding accommodation with the convenience of kitchen facilities in most rooms, a pool bar, restaurant and laundry room and a lush garden adds to the charm of this new Caribbean Resort. It is ideally located just a few steps away from the Dr. Grooms Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grooms Beach Villas and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grooms Beach Villas Hotel St. George`s
Grooms Beach Villas And Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing