We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Market is a Market” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Market Square

Market Square
St. George's, Grenada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$60*
and up
Samplers Tour of Grenada West Indies
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The gathering place for buying and selling produce and spices.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
494 reviews
243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A Market is a Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

When we went it was a Saturday and very busy. It is a great atmosphere but it is a market after all. We did it as part of a tour and after 15 mins found a small bar and sat and "people watched". That was fun!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not like the mall at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We usually go to the market for an hour or two each time we ae on Grenada. It happens on the way back from a bus trip to somewhere as the market is 2 o 3 blocks from the central bus station. My wife can always find another neckless and earings of seeds or shells to add to her collection.
The market square has three personalities. If it is Satuarday, the market is a beehive of activity with some tourists but many locals doing their grocery shopping on the surrounding streets covered with temporary stalls of vegetables. When cruise ships arrive the market is busy with people hawking souveniers. It is quiet and you get more attention on days there are no cruise ships during the week.
You might be tempted to buy a neckless made of spices. They are cute but they all get moldy in a day or two. Also know that "saffron" is Tumeric on Grenada so you might also avoid that.
Worth a visit along with a stroll around town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewinsavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great local produce & goods, but give people a break and forget haggling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited the market regularly for fresh fruits and veggies during our stay in Grenada. It took 15-20 minutes to get there by mini-bus from our apartment in Grande Anse but with a fare of $2.50 EC each way, it was well worth it the effort. The market featured a bounty of wonderful fruits at excellent prices, and a great assortment of just-picked fresh veggies. We also bought a few spices and oddments to take home. Given how hard these people work to make a living, and factoring the high cost of food and supplies in Grenada, we didn't haggle over the prices of anything. It made no real difference to us if we paid a dollar or two less, but it could make a great deal of difference to the sellers who have families to support.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat_n_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnowskie Gory
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Go and have a friendly haggle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely people all trying their best to sell you their wares, take lots of small notes $EC5 & $EC10 and have a friendly haggle.

You may end up with more Spice necklaces then 1 person will need but they are great gifts for friends back home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Bellinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take the Bus for $1 US Per Person.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Big selection of souvineers from friendly vendors who love to negotiate. A lot to see and enjoy. We'd go back again based on our experience this time. Take the bus. An easy and cheap ride from the road, just outside the resort property.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephus972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Square also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
South Coast, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing