We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not like the mall at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Square

Market Square
Book In Advance
$60*
and up
Samplers Tour of Grenada West Indies
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The gathering place for buying and selling produce and spices.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not like the mall at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We usually go to the market for an hour or two each time we ae on Grenada. It happens on the way back from a bus trip to somewhere as the market is 2 o 3 blocks from the central bus station. My wife can always find another neckless and earings of seeds or shells to add to her collection.
The market square has three personalities. If it is Satuarday, the market is a beehive of activity with some tourists but many locals doing their grocery shopping on the surrounding streets covered with temporary stalls of vegetables. When cruise ships arrive the market is busy with people hawking souveniers. It is quiet and you get more attention on days there are no cruise ships during the week.
You might be tempted to buy a neckless made of spices. They are cute but they all get moldy in a day or two. Also know that "saffron" is Tumeric on Grenada so you might also avoid that.
Worth a visit along with a stroll around town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewinsavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    88
    63
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great local produce & goods, but give people a break and forget haggling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited the market regularly for fresh fruits and veggies during our stay in Grenada. It took 15-20 minutes to get there by mini-bus from our apartment in Grande Anse but with a fare of $2.50 EC each way, it was well worth it the effort. The market featured a bounty of wonderful fruits at excellent prices, and a great assortment of just-picked fresh veggies. We also bought a few spices and oddments to take home. Given how hard these people work to make a living, and factoring the high cost of food and supplies in Grenada, we didn't haggle over the prices of anything. It made no real difference to us if we paid a dollar or two less, but it could make a great deal of difference to the sellers who have families to support.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat_n_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnowskie Gory
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go and have a friendly haggle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely people all trying their best to sell you their wares, take lots of small notes $EC5 & $EC10 and have a friendly haggle.

You may end up with more Spice necklaces then 1 person will need but they are great gifts for friends back home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Bellinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take the Bus for $1 US Per Person.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Big selection of souvineers from friendly vendors who love to negotiate. A lot to see and enjoy. We'd go back again based on our experience this time. Take the bus. An easy and cheap ride from the road, just outside the resort property.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephus972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
266 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fun and culturally educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you want to see what Grenada is all about go down to the market. Here the natives are selling spices that are locally grown here in Grenada. The great thing is you can buy them and bring them home. You can also buy fresh fruits and vegetables, soaps and handmade ink naks to take home. A definite thing to do.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Square also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Belmont, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing