We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wealth of history and a panoramic view of the city”
Review of Fort George

Fort George
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilltop with fine views from the harbor's western promontory across the town's red-tiled roofs and church spires and over the Carenage.
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wealth of history and a panoramic view of the city”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There should be a tour guide available - lots of history, but when we went we got a tour by someone who was not official, and while well meaning, was looking to make some money

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    202
    169
    41
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Long walk!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved the photo's we took and the views but the walk was crazy - wear comfy shoes. You will be tired - drinks lots of water

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank snapnstare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“worth it for the view!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am not a big fan of touring forts but I found Fort George very interesting! It is worth going for the view alone but we had a very informative guide who help to make it a great experience. I was quite happy we had a ride almost to the top because it was a hot day and then we had lots of energy to walk around and explore.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marchand66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice views”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The fort is still suffering the effects of Hurricane Ivan, but it is worth going there for the views across St George's and over to Grand Anse.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EssexPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice view of the harbour”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Suggest you get a ride to the fort and walk down, unless you're in very good shape and can workout in the heat. It's a quick tour, yet our guide seemed knowledgeable and passionate in her job. There is a lot of damage still from hurricane Ivan that took the roof and top floors off the fort. There is talk of restoration but that seems a ways off. Take your camera as you'll be hard-pressed for a better view of the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TorontoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Fort George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing