We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss Carenage...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carenage

Carenage
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.99*
and up
Carriacou Island Day Trip from Grenada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Busy harbor in St. George.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't miss Carenage...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

When you are in St. George's you must walk through Sentinel Tunnel just stay against the wall and it will be okay as you walk through. It is one way now - apparently it used to be two way! Walking through and around this bay gives you a chance to see the other side of the St. George's. Here you will find BB Crab Back - great place to eat right on the water; the Nutmeg shop - a must for all sorts of items nutmeg; a working harbour; the museum and so much more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    126
    46
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Bel of Spice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

It must be the prettiest capital in the Caribbean by a country mile. Although a lot more boats than the last time we visited. Just off the Carenage we went looking for Art Fabrik as we had heard a lot about it. It was nothing special but a few doors away was Bel of Spice which was a lovely shop with local gifts and goods.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2016-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

No other caribbean Island boosts a carenage as picturesque and unqiue as this! The carnage is littered with offices of local businesses restaurants, residences, parked cars and a variety of anchored boats - fishing trawlers, cargo ships, recreational catamarans e.t.c.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa, usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Some interesting places to shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our 1st time in Grenada and we did not know what to expect in St. George - there is some shopping along the Carenage and some restaurants, however, not as much for sightseeing as we expected. People in grenada and St. George are very friendly - probably the friendliest people we have come across in all our travels!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dannerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old World Grenada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Like walking around back in the 1700-1800s. Fort George overlooks the Carenage. the bay is beatiful and the architecture is 100's of years old !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank phi11y66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carenage also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
South Coast, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Carenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing