We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Happy ending to a two week holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Grenada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge Grenada
Save
You added The Lodge Grenada to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 20 St. George's B&B and Inns
Steuben ME
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Happy ending to a two week holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After sailing a week in the Grenadines, I started my land-based week in Grenada at the Lodge. Matt, son of the owner Mark, picked me up from the Osprey Ferry from Carricou. The first day I was treated to a short tour of St Georges by Mark. He pointed out some of the history of the area, its landmarks, and the beaches. He explained how to use the bus system which is frequent and cheap (except during elections!). The Lodge as many have pointed out offers spectacular views and in itself is an amazing residence. There is a standard breakfast each day of fresh local fruits, cereals etc. The real treat is at dinner with a variety of mouthwatering dishes accompanied by relaxing Jazz! I did a day hike with Grenada's infamous Telfor which was arranged by Mark. It is definitely a place to relax and unwind away from the resort bars and beaches.

Room Tip: There are only two so your chances are 50/50 that you will get the one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellin_Tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having seen adverts in The Vegetarian for years, we finally arrived at The Lodge in April 2013 as 60-year-old vegetarians celebrating retirement. We left as prospective vegans – such was the impact of Mark, the owner’s food and hospitality.

For two glorious weeks we were constantly surprised and delighted by the dishes he lovingly prepared for us. We awoke to delicious breakfasts bursting with flavour – each morning we piled home-grown, sun-ripened exotic fruit onto our cereal and enjoyed it blended into a different luscious smoothie. This was followed by toasted fresh bread with a varied selection of interesting spreads and several cups of tea or cafetiere coffee – just what was needed before heading out to explore the wonderful island on foot, on buses, or on guided tours suggested by Mark. We were never disappointed. Each trek was enhanced by the thought of returning home to one of Mark’s mouth-watering four course dinners. He had a flair for introducing us to some unfamiliar foods with a superb combination of flavours and dressings.

Our stay was simply unforgettable: fabulous food, breathtaking views, tranquil setting, clean, comfortable accommodation and, of course, a congenial, knowledgeable and inspiring host. The Lodge is a synergistic mix of ethos, ambience and fine cuisine – a glimpse of vegan paradise. We owe Mark (and son Matthew) a sincere and heartfelt ‘thank you’ for what has been a unique and life-enhancing experience. Jan and Richard T.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Lodge in January 2013. Some highlights include:
The orientation tour that Mark provided was extremely valuable. He showed us where to find the best beaches and how to get around on local transportation.The view from our room and private balcony, overlooking St. George, was incredible. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with an unbelievable variety of fresh fruit. Dinner each evening was spectacular with a wide variety of wonderful dishes that were all beautifully presented. The relaxing music each night added a nice touch to the dining experience. We added on a few lunches to our stay and enjoyed some great cooking instruction from Mark as he prepared each dish. Overall, we had an amazing time on our vacation in Grenada and most of that is due to our stay at The Lodge. We highly recommend The Lodge to anyone who appreciates beautiful scenery, fabulous food and unbeatable hospitality.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mgmeg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During our ‘orientation’ trip around part of the island on our first morning at the Lodge, our host Mark told us a little of the history of the place, and explained why the ridge on which the Lodge sits is called ‘Morne Jaloux’ which means ‘jealous hill’. The reason why other residents have always been envious of this location is the delightful cooling breezes that are a feature.
That is not the only reason why visitors to the Lodge should be envied!
This really is the most delightful place, a quite unique holiday experience, from the comfortable and characterful accommodation, to the wonderful views all around the island, the exotic gardens, lovely company of our hosts and fellow guests, and of course the fabulous vegan meals, taken on the terrace. Dinner is a highlight of every day, by candlelight and to a soundtrack of cicadas, tree frogs, and an amazing selection of Mark’s music.
The Lodge comes highly praised by previous visitors, and it does not disappoint, from the moment you are collected at the airport and whisked away to Morne Jaloux, high above capital city, St Georges.
Grenada is a beautiful tropical island, and many visitors come to the hotels along the beach or arrive for a brief visit via the large cruise ships that regularly appear in the bay.
But staying at the Lodge is a way to experience more of the real Grenada and its lovely people. It is situated among private houses, and the neighbours greet you whenever you go out for a walk. Staying at the Lodge also means that you probably need to use the local buses to get around, and that is quite an experience!!
If you want a restful, interesting, exotic, romantic, friendly holiday, with delicious vegan food, the Lodge is for you. Oh, and we didn’t even have much trouble from the mosquitoes!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

i did enjoy the tropical garden, the view, my veranda, the excellent breakfast and the best salads i ever had.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

It has taken me some time to get around to writing this review and, having seen others, I need say little more than that I agree with those excellent reviews. Mark and Mary are fantastic hosts and The Lodge is beautiful. This couple aim to make your holiday special and, although I am writing this review 3 years later than the date we holidayed there (I had to tick March 2011 as this was the earliest date I was able to select on the drop down, but in fact we travelled in 2009), I can still recall what a fantastic place it was. Mark and Mary show great attention to detail both in providing nutritious meals and also in providing an orientation tour. You really can't get much better than this.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. They are both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the midlands, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our recent stay at the Lodge was everything we hoped for and more! The hospitality, food, conversations, dinner music, and general ambience was second to none.
All our meals were super-yummy with special mention going to the smoothies, coconut ice-cream, soups and fruit salads. Everything was perfect - the room was spacious - sun loungers on the balcony & lap pool, sunshine & temperature were all great.
The only minor downside was the 43 mosquito bites we each incurred (despite using insect repellant) - but they weren't itchy so really no trouble.
We had a very restful vacation, and knowing all our meals would be vegan & exquisite was the best part. In fact, the food at the Lodge was so great, we had all 3 meals every day at the Lodge for our entire week long stay!
One of the best vacations ever :) We look forward to returning when it re-opens again...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smartprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
0.3 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kalinago Beach Resort
Kalinago Beach Resort
#1 of 20 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Grenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Grenada

Property: The Lodge Grenada
Address: P.O. Box 3540 | Morne Jaloux, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Lodge, our Vegan retreat, come and be dazzled by the panoramic views of hills, valleys, rain forest, mountains, the Caribbean Sea, sunsets and sunrises or just relax on the veranda and enjoy the cooling breezes, watch the boats sail in, the butterflies flutter by, maybe swim in the pool, lounge on the sun deck, or finally read that book...then dress for dinner and Vegan Cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge Grenada Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing