We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”

Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar
Ranked #7 of 66 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on sight for two nights in November, enroute home after a long vacation. We were tired, and didn't want to wander off the resort. We had two dinners and a lunch here. The setting is great, looking out at the harbour and watching the boats coming and going. Food was pretty good. The Callilou fritters are awesome! We had fajitas one night and they were very good. Caesar salad was fresh and flavourful. We had the Saturday night BBQ which was just okay. Everything had the same sauce on it and the salads and sides were pretty basic. The wine is cooled, which is a lovely treat in the Caribbean. We would go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank McIntyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    179
    64
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great waterside location”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

You had to walk past hotel boutique shops to get here, which was a distraction for the girls. The restauarant had a good lounge and bar area with enough cover to protect diners from a sudden dounpour. The rum punches weren't the very best but we survived. The food, Caribbean fish and meat dishes, was very good. Service was fine, no complaints there - and there was a crowd of us to serve. We all enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dodge440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent enough food but appalling service!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The surroundings of this bar are gorgeous surrounded by water. It is a sophisicated place to lime and dine. We ordered the pork belly which was nice enough, although some of the vegetables were fried so hard that it was a struggle to bite into them and worrying whether you would break your teeth.

We went on the student fried chicken night which was held the other side of the bar. This was part of the problem. It was very busy but they had completely insufficient staff. We turned up were led to a table in the restaurant. The staff appeared chaotic. After waiting 20 minutes just to order a drink, I got up and went to the bar myself. The barman noticed this and whispered to our waiter who asked me whether we wanted water as well. Again, another lengthy wait till we got it. Eventually we ordered. Food came but the fried vegetables were tough to bite into. We then didn't receive any service whatsoever, neither did we see our waiter until he produced the bill some 2 hours later. They didn't collect our plates, ask if we wanted more drinks or offer us dessert - my friend had to go up to the bar to ask for the dessert menu and she was handed a tablet before the waiter disappeared again. She was so fed up with us being ignored that she returned the menu to the bar. To be honest, I was tempted to walk off without paying as the service was the worst I have ever experienced in a restaurant. Another waitress could see we needed service but purposely avoided eye contact. Our supposed waiter asked if we had ordered yet, but he hadn't come up and asked us at all, so of course not! Great location, so-so food and appalling service. I would only come back here for the drinks. The menu wasn't that great and expensive for what it was. Not a great dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliemango30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueBlueGrenada, Manager at Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Wednesday nights are student nights and things usually get a little hectic for the staff. We now realize that this has been taking away from the experience of regular diners. As such, we have now separated the students from the diners, utilizing both sides of our restaurants, and assigning staff specifically to dinner service. Things have been running much smoother. Without your review, we may not have noticed this issue. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely for a relaxed lunch.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As a regular traveller to Grenada since 2001, I always make sure that I go to my favourite places when I'm on the island.
Dodgy Dock, part of the True Blue Boutique Hotel is one such place.
I love the relaxed atmosphere and the incredible views out to sea. I often go there for lunch ,to sit under the sail shades and enjoy the great variety of food. The fish is particularly good.
The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.You never feel rushed and it's very tempting to spend the afternoon there, sipping fruit punch....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, Great food, Good service”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We walked over from Prickley Harbor. It took about 10-15 minutes. We were just out looking around the area a little early for dinner but we thought we would give it a try since we were right there and hungry.

The service was good (Great for Caribbean). The food was excellent - I had stuffed fish and she had coconut shrimp.( the fish was better than the shrimp - I couldn't taste any coconut) We both enjoyed our dinners very much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing