We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local cuisine”
Review of Boots Cuisine

Boots Cuisine
Ranked #18 of 65 Restaurants in St. George's
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great local cuisine”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went to Boots following a recommendation and reading reviews on tripadvisor. We are not disappointed! We were picked up by the son of the owner, sampled the potent rum punch, enjoyed the extensive taster menu and company of both Boots and his wife Ruby. Of all the meals we had on the island I'd say this was the best in terms of presentation and variety of local cuisine. You must make a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    15
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A different food experience close to grand anse”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This roadside restaurant is about 5-10mins drive from grand anse, but you will learn about local food and meet a charming couple. Reservations are essential (so they know you are coming) and they opened specially for us on their night off. We had the goat which was excellent and wonderful lobster in coconut cream. The vegetable accompaniments were really interesting - things like dasheen and coucou which you don't find in most tourist places.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norbert8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, great local cuisine”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband had found this local jewel on Trip Advisor while planning our vacation. Boot's lovely wife, Ruby picked us up at our Inn and took us to their home where Boots awaited us, the cutest man in apron and chefs hat. They had our table set waiting for us on the veranda, and we were their only guests for the evening. Our menu was written on a blackboard, water and local mint and lemongrass tea were served while we looked at the menu. We started with callaloo soup followed by a wrap made with tettrie fish and eggplant. The tettrie fish is a tiny local river fish and it was a nice dish. A water cress, tomato and cucumber salad followed. We had a choice of lamb, fish or pork as our main. We picked pork- it was like bbq'd short ribs...with the meat falling off the bone, served with beans, mixed vegetables, plantain, cassava and dasheen. Wonderful local food, followed by a dessert that included nutmeg icecream, local fruit cake and a star apple tart. Over all a lovely evening. Ruby and Boots were great hosts and we will definitely visit with them again if we are ever in Grenada again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank happycat0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We loved this low key friendly place. We had the special lunch of a choice of four main dishes and plentiful vegetables, rice and peas, and ground provisions. One of us had the curried goat - tender and flavourful; and the other had the sauteed lambi -- tender and wonderful. Sorrel drinks were great too. And Enjoyed the special celebration! (cost for two for drinks and food was around $60 EC)Thanks Boots and family and staff for a great sendoff from the island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williej52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to have a quiet dinner!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Made a reservation for this restaurant before we got to Grenada because we were very excited by what we read. The Boots family doesn't disappoint. We were picked up at our hotel by their son Tillock at our hotel (additional charge) and he took us to their house (a 10 min ride from Grand Anse). The front of the house is a beautiful little enclosed garden with several tables. It is quiet and lovely and romantic. We were greeted by Ruby (and the family dog!) who introduced herself and her husband Boots. We were the first to arrive and had a lovely conversation with both of them. Ruby runs the front of house and Boots does all of the cooking.

Once seated, the menu for the evening was posted for us to see. Three appetizers (Calalloo soup, fritters and a garden salad) were all served as separated courses. All delicious. We had a choice of entree from about 5 great options. My husband chose the Stewed Goat (delicious!) and I had the Lobster in lime and garlic sauce. The meat/fish were cooked beautifully, but the star of both plates were the sauces. Boots may have been a French Saucier in another life. They were beautiful. Both entrees were served for 4 to 5 different sides to try including breadfruit mash, sweet and savory plantain, stewed peas, and steamed local vegetables. Dessert was served as a mini trio of local cherry ice cream, and two different warm pastries. Including our drinks, and the car ride, the total was $100 US. Definitely a bargain considering the quality food and transportation!

Cannot talk enough about how wonderful the dining experience was. The Boots family truly made us feel like guests in their home, not just in a restaurant. A special dinner away from the crowds, and restaurants. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rinaldi_christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boots Cuisine also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Boots Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing