We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good lunch spot overlooking the carenage”
Review of BB's Crabback

BB's Crabback
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 718 helpful votes
“A good lunch spot overlooking the carenage”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is located right at the end of the promontory, passed the new government buildings and the entrance to Sendall tunnel. The entrance is not overly impressive but the views across the carenage are very pleasant.

It's a great place for a light lunch or a beer while watching the boats and ships come and go, something we always enjoyed when lunching at the 'Nutmeg' restaurant but that was out of action this year.

The meal was well presented and generous sized portons. Service was competent, polite and friendly and overall it was good value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    271
    96
    25
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hate to say it....but it was average for me.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

With it's reputation I would have thought an 8pm arrvial would have a lively crowd....but no one was there except for us.

The juice of the day was really good, but the food seemed just average. The banana dessert was an amateur display...w/ a half scoop of ice cream. I was really looking for a wow factor overall...but it didn't happen.

Nice view of the harbor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuniorCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over-rated! (AND over-priced!)”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Saw all the reviews and decided to stop in for lunch on the first day of our vacation to Grenada.
The restaurant was quiet and in the midst of a paint job, but we got seated right by the water, so no worries (The painters were working inside the restaurant).

Honestly, the food was just okay. I ordered fish and ratatouille, and my husband tried the mango shrimp. Came with red beans and rice. After all the great reviews, I was disappointed. The food just didn't taste that great. Perhaps I should have ordered the infamous Crabback? :)

Maybe the owners got complacent and aren't trying as hard as they used to?

There are definitely better restaurants in Grenada where the food is yummier and the value is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reahana19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location is superb and the view, if you get a bay view table, is incredible.

The restaurant is casual and fun with a warm welcome and great family service. The food is very good and the portion size is generous. The eponymous crabback is delicious, as was the goat curry I had. Couldn't really fault the food for proper Grenadian cuisine.

Perhaps a little too informal for an evening meal but great fun and tastes for a lunch whilst in St George's

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveH302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good carribean cuisine”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went there last night for dinner. Restaurant is just beside the sea.so you have a good view of the port.
The menu is not that extensive , we tried few carribean dishes, all of them are quite good with lots of spices ,although its a bit pricy,there are many guests signed their name in the ceiling and beams,
Service is attentive and warm,I asked the waiter their signature dish is crabback, I didn't try as the crab is a bit too small in my opinion.
Recommended for those while they are visiting st, George .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwinHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BB's Crabback also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 

Been to BB's Crabback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing