We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere, great service”

Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
“Excellent atmosphere, great service”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

If I can describe Rhodes Restaurant in two lines, I would say just as in the title:
- Excellent atmosphere
- Great Service

Colorful landscape, great live music, helpful staff. Very nice place to have a great evening!

Recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Elvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele G, Owner at Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks so much ElvinP, we are dedicated to continuing to provide you with such great service, so please feel free to come back any time to have a great evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    41
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grenada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love eating at Rhodes!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I'm pretty tough to please but I always enjoy eating at Rhodes. The food is great - try the seared Tuna, it's may favourite. The menu is always changing, the staff are extremely pleasant and the atmosphere is wonderful.

A must do while in Grenada.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele G, Owner at Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear TriGrenada,

Thank your for your glowing review of Rhodes Restaurant.

Your kind words are so heartwarming and boost morale no end.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon!

Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up Your Game Gary!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I dined at Rhodes in Grenada during our holiday in May. We booked from the UK and were very excited. However, the experience did not live up to expectation at all. Our cocktails tasted nasty and were not mixed properly. We asked to taste the Sauvignon Blanc before ordering a bottle, the wine we were given was not very nice after saying this we were told they did not have any Sav Blanc! The food was average at best, we ate better food at local beachside places. Most entertaining point was little kittens looking for a free treat. We (and the table next to us (top fella behaving like character out of The Great Escape :-)) )enjoyed 'flicking/shuffling' very expensive fish for them to eat. Cannot fault the staff, they were lovely really professional and helpful. Great island and lovely people, Gary; you need to visit and dine at your restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele G, Owner at Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Tina M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I'm so sorry to hear that your experience at Rhodes wasn't what you expect. This is in contrast to the majority of our diners reviews and comments, so we would like to extend our deepest apologies to you.

The majority of our diners have very positive comments about the food and service, however we have spoken to our head chef, restaurant team and bar staff and we will use your comments constructively as it is our policy to constantly improve the standards at the restaurant.

Once again thank you for your review.

Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good meal with enjoyable entertainment”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had dinner here one evening and enjoyed ourself. The food was good but not great but the atmosphere was very good. There was live music and the Maitre d' sang as well. very entertaining and worth a visit on a night when entertainment is provided.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DocRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele G, Owner at Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear DocRaymond,

Thank you for your review.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed the evening but I'm very sorry to hear that the food wasn't quite to your taste. Most of our diners really enjoy the food, so I have passed your comments onto our head chef who will use them constructively to improve the Rhodes Restaurant experience.

Thank you again for the review.

Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not just a name..”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Amazing food, the teams lead by the talented Dexter in the kitchen and served by Michael and his team in a friendly but highly professional way.

Been to many restaurants with a "TV Chefs" name above the door only to be disappointed .. But no school dinners served up here.!!

Stayed at the Calabash Hotel for 2 weeks and Rhodes delivered first class food every time which would be acceptable at any top London restaurant.

A must try if you are over in Grenada

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adele G, Owner at Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Dave V,

Thank you for the glowing review.

You are quite correct - we are not just a name! Chef Dexter and Michael and their teams do a wonderful job and really do make us proud. I'm glad that you agree.

We look forward to seeing you at Rhodes again.

Best wishes,

Adele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash also viewed

Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing