We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality experience”

Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash
Ranked #7 of 65 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A quality experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a wonderful 3-course supper at Rhodes at the Calabash - this is a very serious operation, with genuinely fine and inventive food and charming, efficient, non-intrusive and intelligent service (particularly rare in the Caribbean, it must be said).

Most impressively, we felt the cost was quite reasonable for the quality of the whole experience on offer (3 midrange courses plus wine for 2 people including tax and service for under US$200). One can very easily spend as much at a number of other Grenadian restaurants and have nothing like the value for money. I'd particularly highlight the wine list which, although prices seemed high for some of the European wines, their Chilean selection was excellent and very keenly priced, and the same went for the Beringer from California.

In our experience this is the best restaurant in Grenada by some margin.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank drmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    42
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nolensville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had read many favorable reviews before making our reservations for our first evening on Grenada. I expected the experience to be nice, but I had no idea it would be as nice as it was. The dining room is outside and absolutely beautiful with white linen tablecloths and setting one would expect with fine dining. The lighting and music both added to the ambience. While the steel drum and guitar music was simple, it was very enjoyable and lent a true island feel to the evening.

The seafood we ordered was very fresh and beautifully prepared and presented. All of the items from the appetizers to the desert and coffee were nothing short of perfect.

I have travelled quite a bit and eating local dishes is a passion of mine. I rank this dining experience among the best I have experienced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Paradise at Hand"”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Imagine, exotic white flowered vines hanging above you. Lit torches marking the pathways, sounds of the sea in the background, two tiered open air bar and restaurant seating, and genuine happy, smiling, and professional wait staff. The stage is set. Now add the unbelievably delicious "callaloo and shrimp tart" and paradise is at hand. Rhodes Restaurant at the Calabash is one of the finest restaurants on the island. I have been to almost every restaurant on the island. This is "first class". Truly not to be missed. It is one of my first destinations every time I am in Grenada.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rhodes at the Calabash”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our experiences at the Rhodes, words alone cannot do it justice. Try it for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a lovely dining area surrounded by the night time sounds of Grenada and the sea a few yards away. The service at this restaurant was impeccable with a nice friendly touch.
The foods was also most enjoyable. So what more would you want.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash also viewed

Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing