We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place, Great Ribs!”

The Aquarium Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $65
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Expanded and refurbished in September 2009, The Aquarium Restaurant has a stylish yet relaxed atmosphere, right on Magazine Beach with stunning ocean views. Fresh cocktails or lunch under palm trees, fine dining, relaxed lounging… a breezy dining room with two seawater aquariums, bamboo railings and leather couches, a river-stone lounge bar with funky rattan furniture, a new Koi-pond and waterfall from the natural cliff. Local fish carvings and 3D paintings reflect the tropical underwater scenery.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Great Ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went to the Aquarium on a Sunday afternoon to take in the reggae band that plays and to have a feed of ribs and fish. We weren't disappointed other than the service lacked because it was so busy. The food in both cases was plentiful and delicious and we had just a blast listening and dancing to the reggae music. Great fun, great food!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LorneSeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    241
    105
    53
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having read the reviews, we went to the Aquarium with rather mixed expectations.
The welcome was friendly and the table we booked was ready for our use. The drinks arrived quite promptly but it was then that everything went wrong.
Even before our meal arrived we were offered two wrong dishes which were obviously prepared for other tables. When our food eventually arrived it was not accompanied by the side orders which were put on the table after when we finished our food.
During our meal we were asked frequently if everything was in order, only to remind them that we were still awaiting for our side orders, (the use of a pen and pad to write the orders would helped).

What should have been a delightful evening by the sea was to be honest an embarrassment- Need I say any-more?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Well where do I start.... After really looking forward to a lovely lunch with friends we left very disappointed!!!
Firstly waited 10 minutes at the bar for a drink. After sitting at a table and having first sip of a cocktail we got a mouthful of broken glass from the blender. Had to go and try and order food as waitress never came to be told I will be over in a minute. 10 minutes later still no waitress so again went and managed to order food. Guys went to bar for a second drink and after another 10 minutes with drinks but no change left without it. Fetched salads but then had to proceed to get our own cutlery. We then opened breadsticks that were obviously off so had to find a waitress to change them. After another 20 minutes and asking we eventually got our side orders which one was supposedly fries which appeared to have not been cooked for more than a few minutes and resembled wet matchsticks.After yet another 10 minutes and asking where our main course was we were told after another 5 minutes that the kitchen had lost our order and did we still want them !!! This was completely unbelievable so we refused and decided to leave so went to pay for what we did get which then took another 10 minutes or sort out
All in all a very very disappointing experience which on first appearances is a lovely restaurant within a beautiful setting but really needs to up its game and invest a lot of time into customer service and relations. To top it all after leaving the restaurant we saw the owner and expressed our experience and he totally dismissed anything that was said. What a complete shame !!!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Armitch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deteriorating service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our annual visit to this restaurant has proven that the service has been deteriorating year over year. We have been visiting the island for the past number of years and do like to dine at this restaurant although we have always experienced poor/slow service (thinking it was the island life) but this year has been the worst.

We (family of 5) were seated after advising we had reservations. Drinks and bread basket were served, dinner order taken. So far, so good. One other table with diners (party of 8, who we knew) was occupied when we arrived. A while after, in come other diners (party of 4) who sat at the table next to us. They were served their drinks and their dinner started to come out 20 mins after their arrival. So 45 mins passed after our dinner order was taken and we went in search of our waitress/server for another round of drinks as we waited on our dinner. A while after, in come other diners (2) who sat on on our other side. Their drinks were served and so too was their dinner. So 2 hours after with no food and no waitress/server in sight, we decided to pay for our drinks and leave for another restaurant where we would be able to get service. The manageress said that she had just come in, no need to pay for our drinks and that our order was misplaced (after waiting 2 hours). Mind you, each table (4 tables in total occupied) had a separate waitress/server, so clearly, we should not have been too much for her (waitress/server) to handle. Horrendous reflection on the owner when he is not around!

We then proceeded to another restaurant where service was impeccable and food absolutely delectable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank caribbeantraveler868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great view, Great Food, Slow Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful spot on the beach, awesome views, great food and drinks, but service was very very laid back...if you are from our standard high speed culture, it might be challenging to be patient and wait. No complaints about the meal or drinks, but be patient. Tell the server you are going to walk the beach for 10 minutes and will be back...it will help the time pass. See the turtles near the entrance. If you don't want to tip the server, then don't give large bills and expect change back. ; )

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aquarium Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Aquarium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing