We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Location, Food, Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Aquarium Restaurant

The Aquarium Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $65
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Expanded and refurbished in September 2009, The Aquarium Restaurant has a stylish yet relaxed atmosphere, right on Magazine Beach with stunning ocean views. Fresh cocktails or lunch under palm trees, fine dining, relaxed lounging… a breezy dining room with two seawater aquariums, bamboo railings and leather couches, a river-stone lounge bar with funky rattan furniture, a new Koi-pond and waterfall from the natural cliff. Local fish carvings and 3D paintings reflect the tropical underwater scenery.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location, Food, Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We loved this place and went back the very next day to try it again! The lobster was huge, done perfectly. Also tried other amazing dishes - Lamb Curry, Mahi-Mahi, Grilled Shrimp, Calamari Salad, Seafood Salad and the Spectacular Coconut Cake! Best Rum Punch in the Caribbean. As if the gourmet dinner is not enough, add to a perfectly appointed decor - Modern West Indies style with a stunning view of Magazine Beach (Pink Gin Beach so the locals say) - great body surfing, perfect sun set. It just doesn't get better than this. We drove for four hours the first day in Grenada and could not find a place to eat. This we found at the end of our trip, after really searching good places to eat. If you love great food and a romantic setting, don't miss this one.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank RedRoverhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    234
    102
    51
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

OK Aquarium, you need to educate your staff in their chosen profession; customer service. We walked into this restaurant and there's about 30 tables. TWO are occupied. Ask for a table - 'Do you have a reservation?" is the response, in a rather dismissive tone. No we don't. Well you can have this table by the toilet, or this one right by the kitchen. Really?? 28 of your 30 tables are availble? Even allowing for the ten best to be reserved, you must be able to do better than that? <Server suck through teeth>...'No'.

I might have been able to get over the ridiculousness if not for the rude, disdainful manner with which this message was delivered. We spent 2 weeks on Grenada, uncovering nothing but gems of restaurants and hotels - but this palce was equalled in surly attitude only by the government offices where you go to sort out you wedding license.

Aquarium, I'm giving you the benefit of the doubt (which you don't deserve), and therefore 3 stars on all rating apart from service, which was 1 star. And you barely deserved that.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Iva-and-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

A bit spendy, but the food and the view were delicious! Capped off a great day on the island.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank daymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“4 hours for dinner?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were a large group (14) of divers visiting this restaurant with the owners of the dive operation we enjoyed all week. They had arranged a family style meal to be served prior to our arrival. We arrived on time at 7:00pm and were promptly seated. It was very dark in the area where we were sat, which was soon remedied by a fresh light bulb being installed. The view was great of the beach, and the restaurant was beautiful. I have two really major issues with our evening there. Each course took a VERY long time to arrive, and at around 10:00pm, they cleared out several tables and cranked up VERY loud dance music for non-existant partiers. The food was good - I especially liked the pepper pot beef, but not good enough to cover the terrible service and obnoxious music. So, then the bill came... or did it? After waiting another 20 minutes to get bills, we were informed that we would have to each go to the wait staff billing station to pay for our meals, which took a very long time. During this time I peeked into the kitchen, and it did not exactly look like they worried much about hygene. Bottom line, go elsewhere. I really liked the Beach House restaurant.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glimfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dreadful service, over-rated and over-priced !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Our first visit was in November 2010, when we walked away after waiting more than 40 minutes to get somebody's/anybody's attention. There was nobody willing to meet, greet or show us to a table. The owner/manger was unapologetic and indifferent.
Gluttons for punishment - and only because the beach and views are quite stunning - we returned again in both February and March 2011, only to have an identical experiences. At least, on our last visit, we did manage to order a couple of beers albeit from surly, reluctant, belligerant waiting staff. Maybe next time, we'll stick to our word never to return.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank annyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aquarium Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Aquarium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing