We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Grenadian food at excellent prices!”

Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Pink and white building made to RESEMBLE a typical Grenadian home (it is not an actual place of residence, only made to look like one). Located on the left hand side if you are traveling from St. George's, across the street from the marina's entrance. Outdoor dining, indoor lounge area being redesigned.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Grenadian food at excellent prices!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I recently visited with my partner and son whilst on holiday and a visit to Patricks really is a must when in Grenada.

If you want a true taste of Grenada, then this is the place to come. You'll get almost 20 dishes of food brought out for each to try, all of which are Grenadian dishes. There may be one or two you don't like, but i can guarantee you will leave happy and full.

The calaloo soup was, as advertised, the best on the island.

My girlfriends family is from Grenada, and as much as her aunties may not like me saying, the food here was as good, and at times better than what has been eaten before.

Superb. Will come again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Egan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    97
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful and as authentic as it gets in Grenada!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's rather austere appearance and condition only adds to the authentic dining experience that is Patrick's. This restaurant offers a taste, tapas style, of many traditional Grenadian dishes. Our hosts (my cousin) and residents in Grenada for two years had not yet visited Patrick's and were very disappointed that they had not visited earlier so they could add it to their list of must do things for visitors. Our server was very gracious and the food was delicious, lots of food, come hungry! (Anybody who says there is not enough food is comparing this place to an American style all you can eat restaurant) The food here, I think, is what you would find on a Grenadian's table both every day and on special occasions. If you are adventurous and appreciate true authenticity in all respects you will love this restaurant. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you for dining with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
“Very good home style Grenadan cooking”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We really enjoyed this evening dining experience. The food was delicious. The meals were brought out in just the right amount of time intervals. The people were very friendly and fun!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great place to taste local cuisine, good service, but expect to leave still hungry.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Patrick's was a great place to taste the different foods of Grenada (although disappointed no oil-down). Atmosphere was classic Grenadian and service was friendly. However, if you are very hungry, may want to go elsewhere for the evening. While you get around 18 dishes to try, it's only a bite or two per dish. Maybe it's me being accustom to American portions, but I left the restaurant still hungry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dakota N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for dining at Patrick's. I'm sorry you didn't get to try the oil down. We try to advertise that it really needs to be requested in advance as it takes a while to prepare. That being said, I'm glad you enjoyed the food. We usually are told that 18 tapas are too much, but everyone, including their appetite, is different. We try to be as down-to-earth and easygoing as professionalism will allow us, and I only wish you had asked for more of what you wanted. The truth is, we have tweaked our portions based on the general response. It feels better to simply serve more, as opposed to throwing out expensive ingredients when we have too large portions. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks are Deceiving”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went to this restaurant because of it's rating/award; and if I'm honest I could have turned away on initial appearances. It looked dingey, seedy and the bars up at the front weren't overly inviting; but, books and covers.........! Thankfully we didn't pull out and were served a selection, in tapas style, of some wonderful local food. Whilst I'm a lover of the local food it really is an ideal place for newcomers to the cuisine to get to know what is what and what they might like.
Atmosphere? - we drew a blank. Just one other table in. The owner looked tired, didn't say anything to us and seemed to wish we hadn't come in. But her son, who served us had a droll humour which really appealed. So even when he tipped us the nod not to hang around, they'd like to close for the evening - it felt ok.
Interesting evening, lovely food, reasonably priced. Just don't expect to 'feel wanted' and you might get a nice surprise!.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DylansMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-New-Patricks, Owner at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello.....

Thank you for your business. This happens to be the peak of the tourist season and as such, we do tend to feel tired later on during the night, especially as closing time draws near. That being said, we value every single guest to our establishment and apologize for seeming contrary to that. As it relates to the appearance of the restaurant, built to resemble what a typical, wooden structure, country-styled, Grenadian home, may not appeal to everyone. And that's just fine. The books at the front desk are free island magazines and road maps. Again, it was prior to closing time and no doubt in a slight disarray due to an earlier crowd. We are sorry you had to witness our untidiness. At the same, we are thankful you at least enjoyed the meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing