We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Fun Trip to the Waterfalls!”
Review of El Salto del Limon

El Salto del Limon
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.99*
and up
Samaná Peninsula Tour from Samaná
More Info
$289.00*
and up
Samana Day Trip by Air from La Romana
More Info
$185.00*
and up
Samana Day Trip Via Bus From Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Brockville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Such a Fun Trip to the Waterfalls!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We learned from our experience with Samana Roadrunners, our group tour provider, that to go the El Salto del Limon Waterfalls was about a 30 min horseback ride on the way up to the falls as well as on the way back down. We were not at all afraid of the horses as we also learned that they really are very adept at navigating the rather bizarre looking trail, with a couple steep inclines, although we did begin to feel very sorry for the very hard work that these horses have to do! As well, by DR law and to ensure your safety, there must also be local horse handlers who will walk alongside each horse within your group. Do they ever deserve their well-earned tip! They would also stop the horses from time to time to pick the local fruits and coffee beans for us to sample as well as several spices for us to smell.

Once we arrived at the cliff of the waterfalls we got off of our horses and then walked down a steep mountainside the last 300 yards which included walking on some very uneven surfaces that became quite muddy and slippery. Boots and long socks are absolutely essential to wear in our opinion. It is worth it though when you arrive at the bottom of the incredible El Limon Waterfalls!

We got to spend some time swimming in the refreshing waters of the waterfall’s large natural swimming pool. After our swim and picture taking we walked back up the steep steps to the top of the falls ( not an easy feat for those individuals who are not physically fit!) where, after a short break, we got back up on the horses for our ride back out. This whole trip was quite an adrenalin rush for us!

Once we arrived at the ranch we enjoyed a delicious healthy home cooked buffet lunch.

We strongly recommend this trip if your health permits you to do so.

PS This tour is strongly not recommended for wheelchair guests, those with mobility concerns, recent back or neck injuries, people with heart problems or pregnant women.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deb-terr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    248
    92
    26
    33
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Avoid!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

when getting there you will be told that the walk to the waterfall is over an hour. it is much less, they are just trying to sell you the horse trip. the waterfall is not half as nice as on the pictures, big disappointment. but if you insist on going, do NOT horse-ride up there: the horses (technically ponies) are underfed, not cared for, sick and wounded, and all we have seen today is huge fat dominican tourists riding tiny super-skinny, exhausted ponies to the top of the hill. The ponies are beaten all the way up. It is sad to watch. They are not even given water. horrible experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank pakqom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good half-day trip”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've never been on horse-back before, but this was a great experience being taken through the jungle for half an hour - it was a bumpy ride but really glad we did it. Our guide was great, taking control of my camera to get some really good pics. The waterfall is stunning and worth having a swim underneath.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mem Martins, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“65$ for a trip and still have to pay for the local guide”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the waterfall and we had a lot of fun even with all the mud and smelly boots!
the bad part, still have to tip the guides even after the expensive package we payed. Just it's not fair. After all you pay for a horse trip with guide but the guide fee is not included? Seems like a rip-off.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved, loved, loved El Salto. The ride was exciting and a bit adventurous. We took the rougher road, which you climb down by horse then leave the horse and go further down. Our guide, Chicho, was awesome. We appreciated being able to see the waterfall from the front and enjoy its beauty from several points. These horses are not thoroughbreds. They are horses kept on strict diets and are trained for these tours. My horse, Moro, was adventurous, which fit me perfectly, lol. I will be going to El Salto again. I can't wait to show others this beauty. For those faint at heart I understand there is a shorter, less rocky route.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanaLola10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Salto del Limon also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to El Salto del Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing