We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday with only a few faults”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
billingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great holiday with only a few faults”
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed here for two weeks in September and had a really good holiday.
We had already been given our room key cards and all inclusive bands when we arrived at the airport, so we went straight to the room as soon as we got there. Unfortunately we were given a corner room that faced the courtyard, so that everybody that walked down the corridor adjacent to us could see straight into our room, we went and complained and were given a much better room the next day with no fuss. The rooms were spacious with queen size bed, and were very clean.
The beach is small but it is clean and not filthy like it has previously been mentioned. Sometimes if there has been a storm debris will wash up on the shore but staff are there cleaning it up immediately.
The main pool is where we spent most of our time, although it was annoying that there were not enough parasols, so it did get to a point where we got up early to reserve a sunbed. The good news is the day we were leaving there were brand new parasols around the pool. Zinelda who works at the pool bar is lovely and when she gets to know you will keep lining up your drinks for you, just let her know when you've had enough. There are 3 jaccuzzi pools down by the other beach and snack bar but we didn't use these so can't really comment much. We did go down to the snack bar a couple of times, which is ok but the bread rolls are left on the side and get stale quickly.
The buffet restaurant was very good there was plenty to choose from. They have theme nights as well as the normal buffet food so even the fussiest eater will find something they like. The eggs at breakfast are good, the chef will make them exactly how you like.
We tried all 3 of the themed retaurants and enjoyed all 3 the first week, on the second week we went to the italian restaurant again because we had enjoyed it but had a completely different experience, they were short staffed and were a bit rude and seemed to want us to eat and get out as soon as possible, yet friends went the next night and had a good time. So don't be put off it's still worth trying it at least once.
The biggest problem we had while there was problems with the lifts breaking down and being maintained in the middle of the day. The lift to the beach broke down alot and it's a long walk up the stairs. They were also maintaining the lifts in the hotel and when your room is on the fith floor this can also be quite a trek.
The animation team are ok and do their best to entertain, we joined in a few games but if you say no to them they won't pester you. The evening entertainment in the disco isn't very good at all, they dance and mime to everything, but for comedy value it's worth a look.
Be careful when booking trips with the holiday reps, they say not to go on your own or with Raymon on the beach but we saved alot of money by getting a taxi for 6 people to playa rincon. Thompson were charging $170 for 2 of us that included food, we ended up paying just $220 that included our food for the 6 of us. That just shows how the tour operators rip you off. The thompson rep at the coyacoa is claire and she isn't very helpful at all.
All in all it was a great holiday and wasn't spoilt by the little things that went wrong.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,975
    1,310
    412
    128
    79
See reviews for
702
2,237
116
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Glad we reviewed this one on Trip Advisor before we booked.... was only there for 7nts from 13th Sept. We had a great time. Hotel was immacultely kept, food was plentiful and tasty, rooms were clean and well looked after. .... would recommend it to anybody.
The animation team were always enthusiastic and encouraged participation but did not take offence if you declined. The pool perhaps needed some more parasols as it did get a bit hot during the day. It did rain occasionally for short spells... then the sun comes back out like clockwork..... We would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClarkieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This is the second time that myself and my girl friend have been to Dominican (the first being in the Riu Mambo Hotel in Porto Plata) and we really enjoyed our two weeks at the Cayacoa. Like the previous reviews, the country is very poor but don’t let that put you off because its very beautiful green lush place with the friendliest of people.

Overall

The idea of this trip was to have a relaxing chilled holiday on the beach and that’s exactly what we got. If this is what you’re looking for, we fully recommend this package (we went with First Choice). It also a good idea to make the effort to try and speak a view words or phases in Spanish as the staff and animation team really appreciate it. Don’t worry if you can’t speak much before you go as you’ll pick it up from generally hearing it and from the staff and the animation team.


Hotel

As previous reviews said we were greeted by the Animation Team dancing and singing and there was a welcome drink which was nice to have after a 9 hour flight. Originally we were allocated a room on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard which was nice, but it wasn’t very private and it was overlooked by the maids cleaning storm room and we were a bit disappointed. But after speaking to the very helpful man at the main desk and Claire the Rep we were moved to the 4th floor having an amazing view over looking the bay of the village Santa Barbara (I think that’s what it was called) the next day. Although people say the best view is over looking the sea but the view we had, we were more than happy with. Chilling on the balcony with a drink, lovely view, and the misses; can’t fault it.

Although the pool was lovely we mainly stayed by the beach in the morning up until 2ish as we found it the nicest. Plus it had a bit of a breeze which was welcome given the heat. We mainly used the pool in the late afternoon / early evening. The lady at the pool bar was excellent.

Food – Excellent both in the Buffet restaurant and the 3 special restaurants. We especially liked the Fish Restaurant! The Red Snapper was 5*.

Entertainment – We found them good fun (both in the morning on the beach with their games and in the evenings entertainment), always ready to have a chat and interested in what you’ve got to say. Considering the hours that they do, you can’t fault their efforts.

Location
This is completely different to Porta Plata as its less commercial and more of the real Dominican were you’re able to go out of the hotel with no worries. We went to the town a couple of times and it’s a lively busy place were the people are very welcoming and friendly. We mainly stayed to the shops and bars owned by the hotel, but when we did go outside this there were no problems. You can get a few bargains if you stick to your guns too.

Trips
We went on two trips (all through First Choice) the first being a boat trip to Los Haiteses & Bacardi Island which we really enjoyed. It’s a boat trip which will take you to the National Park were you’ll see red and white mangroves, birds, caves in the forest which have petroglyths on the walls and bats and a final trip to Bacardi Island where you have lunch and time to enjoy the stunning beaches on the Island. Amazing white beaches and clearest sea water you’ll see. On the second trip we went to Playa Rincon beach which again we really enjoyed where we spent 3-4hours spending time chilling on the amazing isolated natural beaches. Tip: You can pay $15 each for some snorkeling gear which is worth it as the beaches have beautiful reefs which had many tropical fish to see. It’s rated as one of the world’s ten best beaches and I can understand why. Although its takes close to 2 hours to get there (not the 1 hour that you’ll be told) it’s definitely worth the journey to get to this place. On the journey you’ll also travel through many villages which will show you the way the locals live which is a worthwhile trip in itself. You also get a lobster lunch (can also have chicken or fish) which I really enjoyed.

All in all a fantastic holiday and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GazCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenitystar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

First things first,ignore any negative reviews you may have read.
I stayed here for a week,and what a week it was.The customer service is outstanding,as are the rooms,views and bars.
The entertainment team work round the clock to ensure there are always things to do,if you want to.From archery and such like on the beach,to games around the pool,to shows in the evening.You just cant fault them.Efrain and Romeo especially!
(all together now 'Oh my god! I love my job!')
The food was fab,lots of variety in the Buffet,with themed nights to keep it interesting.Mexican was especially good.My only one (possible) complaint was that we couldnt get a reservation at any of the a la carte restaurants.we attempted to book on the tuesday,having had our welcome meeting the day before,to be told there was no availability untill nearly a week after our departure date.
The beach is lovely.Yes,its smallish,but well kept and large enough to accomodate all guests,even at the height of season,
Not a hotel for those with walking difficulties,as many many steps,especially to the jacuzzi pool's,but without them,you wouldnt have the spectacular views!
Did an amazing safari,saw so much of the surrounding area,which is absolutley beautifull.
Yes,Samana is a very underdeveloped area,so if you want to get out and about un escorted,maybe not the place for you,although I did venture into Samana Town,and the locals were very freindly,albeit a tad pushy.
So my advice to you would be go,and have a great time.Get involved,see the sights
and come home with great memories of the place

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank serentiystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Place was beautiful and they food was very good. But there was a problem with one of the staff members named Nicolas PeÑa, who ended up being the Disco Surpervisor according to himself. He was very rude and had a very cocky attitude because of his position. Another problem was the lack of good drinks at the Disco. Along with the time everything ended, it was still early in the night and you were forced to go to sleep due to there not being much else to do. But besides that, it was a beautiful facility and the rest of the staff memmbers were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiiQuiiTa145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleet
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Hotel: Very good and would go back very clean hotel and friendly staff

Rooms:
Spacious Beds are Huge (queen/imperial)
Fridge is restocked with soft drinks
Nice balconies, with views cleaned well each day

Food and drink:
Buffet restaurant is excellent, lots of choice and everyday something different
Ala carte restaurants are good, can be a bit hit and miss.
Book to go early eve as they can get busy.
Bars are very good; the alcohol is not bad for all inc

Animation team:
They try very hard and put on a lot of games and sports throughout the day.
Also perform some shows in the eve.
Some of the team are great but some can get annoying

Beach:
Very nice quiet
Water is very warm
Snorkelling is good
You can free hire mask and snorkels
Free hire catamaran
Some locals but doesn’t effect you


Swimming pool:
Nice and plenty of loungers
Too warm for pool water can get crowded
Good for exercise early morning but beach is better

Gym
Terrible
Ac broke
Not much kit in there

Running
I used to run to the city and the bridge to nowhere, both were safe although you may feel its not. Leave your valuables home just in case


Samana Town:
The town is not developed yet to cope with a great hotel, but i am sure they are getting there. Definitely not a place to go out for dinner and browse the shops, it’s not Greece. You are safe down there but there is not a lot to see and the sellers pester you. Word of advice with the sellers, ask them to leave you alone and let you look and then remind them of that twice. Be strong with them.

Excursions:
SCUBA DIVING: STAY AWAY FROM THE SCHOOL, DIVE MASTER MICKY, Dangerous bunch of cowboys on the beach, dive master took my wife and I, both novice divers. Forgot his flippers, broken mask, let the safety boat leave us and to top it all off, put us in a very strong current next to a rock face. Needless to say i lost it. Novices stay away AVOID THEM

El limon - Tip top, value and a great day out

Rincon beach- Prob excellent but a storm came in the day we went. Lobster was good

Dolphins- Once in life time for my wife and I, but be warned its a very long day, long drive, rushed day, expensive and its very theme parky. Animals are enclosed not natural... But glad we did it

Bacardi island: gorgeous beach, lots of little stalls selling trinkets and art.


THOMSON REP
If her name is Claire, then unlucky as she is very unhelpful and rude. Always an excuse as to why she wasn’t there and most replies to problems were “oh well there is nothing I can do” or “I am not working at the moment, as you can see I don’t have my uniform on”
Wont rattle on here as am making a complaint about her, but just to say unlucky.

Overall

The hotel makes up for Samana city not being very good for anything really. I had a great holiday none the less. The people were nice and friendly and the island is beautiful, there is some poverty like you may not have experienced.
Shame about the Thomson rep and the Scuba

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank simeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Even though, the beach was a bit small, the hotel and the surroundings were excellent and unforgettable. We have been in the Dominican Republic five times now, but this location was the best so far...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grandtrip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 53 in Samana Province
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
17.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 34 in Las Terrenas
769 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing