We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 23rd June till 7th July had a fab time . Hotel is very clean and the food was very good. Pool bar staff were very good Evelyn and Jose and had a good laugh with Carlos . Stayed in golden rooms and walked up the stairs everyday . The views were beautiful and we walked to the end of the bridge to nowhere . Had a great time and would go back tomorrow .

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jarmin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Jarmin ,

Thank you so much for such good opinion about our Hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team’s work and the devotion and commitment of each member of our staff. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them.

We hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 4,015 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stayed here for 2 weeks in June. After a 4 hour bus trip from the airport we arrived at the hotel and was welcomed with a cocktail which was very much appreciated. Our room was on the 4th floor with a sea view and we could not fault it. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The buffet food was great, had a wide selection and was always hot. The restaurants menus we found to be a bit poor and only enjoyed the Italian. The pool did have a lot of bird droppings in but the hotel did try to keep on top of it.
Towards the end of our stay there was more and more kids arriving and eventually they took over the pool which spoilt it for us.
All in all a fantastic hotel just need to bar the kids again

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Karl,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with our TripAdvisor members, we believe they will be motivated to visit us thanks to all feed backs.

We would like to express our gratitude for these nice words that you have shared and also for appreciate the excellent services and facilities our Hotel offers. Your review help us to improve and raise some our services.

We look forward to your return to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks from 29th June and I have to say it was bordering on paradise. Our huge villa room (3224) overlooked the bay and to sit on the balcony in the morning and watch the pelicans and frigate birds displaying was amazing. There are a lot of steps from the villas to the restaurant but there is always transport available at the press of a telephone button. The rooms were kept immaculately clean at all times. The food was very good and plenty of choice and all three gourmet restaurants were lovely with a high quality of food. I can't praise the staff to much, they were very friendly and nothing was ever too much. The only downside, as the title suggests was that it is no longer an adults only hotel which is what we booked. This meant that children did arrive to a hotel that had absolutely no facilities for them. The main pool we went to was supposed to be a quiet whirlpool but as it was shallow it tended to be used by the children especially in the afternoon. Not nice if you are there to relax. In conclusion, a lovely hotel but no longer for couples only.

Room Tip: any room in the villas (room 3224) amazing view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Ian:

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our services and staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality that we offer.

We expect the family hotel mode does not become a reason not to return to our facilities.

We hope to welcome you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Returned from Grand Bahia Cayacoa last Monday, and overall we had a brilliant holiday. Firstly the transfer from Puerto Plato to the hotel is horrendous. 3 hours on a couch after a nine hour flight was not good, and that would be the only reason we would not go back. We paid extra for the golden villas. We were supposed to get a private check in at the private reception. This did not happen and we checked in with everybody else. The room was lovely and clean and we had balloons, champagne and rum waiting for us as we had told our travel agent it was our 10 year wedding anniversary whilst we were away. The turndown service was hit and miss, we must have received this service about 5 out of 14 nights. We had to contact reception once also as our mini bar hadn't been restocked. The food was excellent. You have to use had sanitizer before you enter the restaurants which ensures there's no cross contamination from serving spoons ect. there was a large variety of food, all hot and fresh, very impressed. In some all inclusive hotels the spirits are watered down, these are not! Be very careful with the rum. Ebony and Hose from the pool bar are lovely and a credit to the hotel, always singing, always smiling. The staff at the snack bar near the whirlpools are miserable. Ramon does all the work. There are always 2-3 other people stood behind the bar who appear to be doing nothing and Ramon does all the work. These people need to cheer up. The entertainment staff around the pool work very hard. they ask you if you want to join in, but don't pester. Although I did see the two girls drinking beer behind there clipboards one day. I properly wouldn't go again because of the transfer, its simply to far, but the hotel is lovely, the views are breath-taking. The food, drink and cleanliness could not be faulted. The main pool needs to be cleaned with the net more often. This was done but not enough. At times you were dodging dead bugs. Most staff very friendly. Daddys from the buffet never spoke or smiled, Robbie was fantastic at the pool. Overall a very nice holiday.

Room Tip: The golden rooms are not worth the extra cost. The only real benefit is slippers and roobs in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Gail ,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comment and value your opinion for the overall betterment of our hospitality.
Accept our sincere apologies about the check-in at your arrival and the turndown service at night , we are committed to our guest receive. Please be advised that the housekeeper manager and the front desk manager were properly informed about the particular situation you experienced. Be assured that corrective and preventive measures have been determined with the departments involved, in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

Once more we thank you for your kind and sincere words. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a great time.
The staff we helpful and friendly.
The food was great in all the restaurants in the complex.
We had a sea view room overlooking the pool. This gave us a great view of the bay.
The only drawback was that we had a 3 hour coach trip from the airport.

Room Tip: At certain times of the year Humpback whales come into the bay to breed and charter boats can be hir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RICHARDJFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Huesped ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments about your stay with us and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home.

We really appreciate your nice comments regarding our hotel, rooms and services and even more the ones regarding our staff! All them will be so happy to hear the nice words that you have for them! we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services

We hope to welcome you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana for next vacation ever!

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The first thing I have to say is ignore the negative reviews!
The hotel is in a beautiful location, the welcome from the main reception was quick and very easy, our cases were with us in less than 10 minutes. The view from our room (214) was lovely, we could see one of the beaches and the main pool area.
The food was a very good quality, always hot and fresh and plenty of variety.
The buffet staff were very friendly and they worked so hard, we must say a massive thank you to Brenda she made us smile everyday and she works so hard with a massive smile all the time. ( I hope she is told by the management that she is an asset to the hotel.
The entertainment staff also work very hard and the entertainment is all good fun, there is no pressure for you to join in the pool activities but there is probably something for everyone.
Our maid was fab, leaving pretty flowers/petals on the bed and the towels in different designs.
My husband and I had the most relaxing, holiday and had no complaints with the hotel at all.
Thanks for a fabulous holiday.
* Please note that the transfer from the airport to the hotel is a minimum of 3hrs.30mins although this is a VERY long transfer, the coach we were on was very comfortable and had air con so that helped, if you can get past the transfer time you will have a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Happy to answer any questions x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DeeAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Huesped ,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a week in a small intimate hotel in las terrenas I thought I would try one of the large chain all inclusives. The Hotel is located on a point overlooking the bay and the city of Samana. Though the hotel offers several resturants they are on a rotation on days they are open often meaning only one was open. For an all inclusive I found the foods to be fairly good compared to others. The wait staff in the resturant was attentive and friendly. Having to pay for extras like a room safe, better brands of liquor, and the constant sales pitch for timeshare vacation weeks was very frustrating. Also thesize and layout works against this hotel. Long walks down hallways, long waits for elevators to get anywhere became a pain especially when my door lock needed several repairs to get open and I was on the 5th floor no hall phone and the desk was on floor 1. The staff all seemed friendly and aattempted to make my stay pleasant but so much was so inferior to my experiences in the previous hotels in the DR I was definitly let down by this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Dear Robert ,

Firstly , we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our TripAdvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
17.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#10 of 54 in Samana Province
201 reviews
6 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: $125 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing