We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punta Bonita Beach Resort(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$69
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$265
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$449
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$94
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sublime Samana Hotel & Residences(Las Terrenas)
$221
$200
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alisei(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$116
$107
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
$117
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$302
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,197)
Filter reviews
4,197 results
Traveler rating
2,124
1,399
454
137
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,124
1,399
454
137
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolsnack barmain buildinga la carte restaurantsanimation teambuffet restaurantseafoodjacuzzi poolbacardi islandevery hourtwo weeksdominican republicsamana townfirst choicegrand bahialower poolspaghetti
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,863 - 2,868 of 4,197 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Too bad that the hotel management and maintenance is so poor that it negates all that is good about the hotel. You be the judge of our experience:

1. We had to be relocated to another room because the phone, A/C and fridge were all broken. The phone is critical as you need to call a shuttle to be taken to the buffet for all meals.

2. We were relocated to a room where the bathroom floor and toilet seat were soaked in urine from previous guests! A/C was not working (again!), TV was broken, sliding door was broken, room key was not working. This is unbelievable! and they claim to be a 5-star hotel? Is this a joke??

3. I spent 5 hours with the maintenance staff and that was only my first day at the hotel. They fixed everything but the A/C.

4. After a horrible night without A/C, we were horrified to find that all guests were complaining about not having A/C. It's the middle of summer in the Caribbean, where "hot & muggy" is a blatant understatement. Add mosquitoes and other bugs, and you have your perfect "Caribbean nightmare holiday".

5. I escalated to duty managers, Public Relations, everyone I could find. These people were oblivious to complaints - I frequently waited in a line of screaming guests complaining about the same thing. We got a t-shirt and a bottle of rum (to drown our sorrows?).

Having said that, I should say that the hotel has a stunning location perched atop a cliff with a breathtaking view of the Samana peninsula. The main building and guest rooms have top of the line finish (abundant marble and nice decor). That's the good news.

We have stayed at excellent hotels and resorts in the Dominican Republic - This is NOT one of them! And PLEASE don't use the 5-star designation for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank al3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

All i have to say is that the Animation team are great, always helping, always trying to entertain you-Always managed too. The Discos were great fun, different show each night, so no repeats. The Djing was great, different music. The dancing was fabulous. A big thanks you to- Yonatan, Alfonso, Antonio, gabrielle, Andy, Victor, Yeison and the girls!

The rooms were good, always kept cool and each day the maids would clean it. The bathrooms were nice, bit small but i didnt mind. The wardrobe space was good, except there was not enough coat hangeers in it, but most of my clothes were scattered accross the floor anywa. The balcony was nice, we has a side view, where we could see the sea and the pool and also The trees!

The main pool was lovely, always has music playing and activities throughout the day which kept everyone entertained evern the little children. the water was great in the pool, managed to be warm at about 12oclockl onwards! The beqach was lovely, we didnt spend much time there was we were always with the animation team throughout the daytime.

The food was great, ,they had different themes each night, which gave a good varitey. The Chefs were freindly and we managaed to get friends with them so they would give us more food! We ate in the buffet everynigt and never got bored!

The enetertainment was good. After dinner we would go to the lobby, until 9.45 when the animation team would come and collect everybody to go to the disco/show. Even when the disco wasnt busy they would put on a great show and try their hardest.

Overall it was a fantastic holiday, and we plan to go back next year and cannot wait!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank paige0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Date of stay: 18th Sep-2nd Oct 08

Flight/ Transfers

We booked this resort with First Choice who i would highly recommend as a travel agent. Patrick (First Choice Rep) visits the hotel daily and is extremely helpful. He deals with any problems and answers any questions. Trips can be booked through him too

Hotel
Welcome dancers and fruit punch on arrival. Room lovely, jacquzzi bath, mini bar, king size bed, balcony overlooking bay, t.v, safe (at extra cost) no tea or coffee in room. Our room key broke 3 times (as well as others we spoke to )usually in the evening when we wanted to go to bed. Problem was sorted quickly and apologies.

Food/Drink

There is a buffet restaurant and a choice of 3 a la carte restaurants (gourmet, seafood and italian). Gourmet restaurant was closed for refurbishment however served in the italian restaurant. We found the a la carte restaurants too formal so couldn't relax. However they are worth trying as its just not some peoples cup of tea!! The food was lovely and always hot. Some dishes exist as a dot in the middle of your plate but they are very filling!! We ate in the buffet for 12 out of 14 days. The presentation and variety of food is excellent but can become cold very quickly. Themed nights add variety to evening meals however are repeated weekly. Only one type of beer and no cider...much to my partners disgrace!!! Swim up bar is great to cool off and serves most drinks. Lobby bar shuts at 11pm however drinks are available at the show bar after this time. Mini bar in room is stocked daily but only 2 cans of beer.

Cleanliness

First of all i have to say how clean the hotel was the whole time we were there. The staff work really hard to ensure high standards at all times. Maids did not accept tips but do a fantastic job at tidying the room. Although the guy cleans the pool in the morning, bugs, dead skin and leaves filled the pool by lunchtime which put a few people off!

Swimming pool/ beach

Comfy wooden sunbeds, only a few parasols so need to be up early to get one. Pool good size with swim up bar. Pool can get busy at the weekends with the locals who are quite rude. jacquzzi pool is located down from the pool and is a very steep walk. (If you ask the guy at the bar he can call the caddy to come and collect you to save your legs!!!) Snack bar is great for lunch, always hot and cooked to order. Animation team around pool are great. loads of energy. Not much for young children although the team are very friendly and do their best. Music is loud by the pool however most people get into the atmosphere and have a laugh with the scheduled games. Some spa treatments are available by the pool side for a small fee but there is a spa complex at the front of the resort.
Beach is relaxing but not crystal clear waters. panoramic lift down to the beach. speedboat costs $46 for 2 people for 25 mins...well worth it. pedalos and body boards available free of charge.

Trips

Booked with Patrick (first choice) as we knew we were insured and safe. No complaints about local trip organisers just very high risk if something went wrong. 'Raymond on the beach' offers much cheaper versions of the exact same trips but its a personal choice. Jeep safari trip cost $79 each and is well worth it. Visit to local house, school (no children though??) waterfall, and restaurant on the beach.

Key points: Long trousers must be worn in a la carte restaurants and 3/4 length and trousers in the buffet.

Beach towels available by the pool each day...lose them = $20

Hairdryer in room is good...and i have v. long thick hair so i know whats good!!

Internet access available $6 for 30 mins.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 182Brittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Flew out to Samana to the Bahia Principe Caycoa in sept '08'
This was the first time that I had flew to the Dom Rep, I loved the flight and the coach transfer to the hotel, We got to the hotel there were dancers there to greet us and staff there handing out the complimentary drink which was very enjoyable but when I walked into the hotel it just didn't have the Wow factor that the pictures showed on the internet.
A majority of the staff were fantastic but the restuarant staff well that was a different story as I did think that a majority of these were rude and ignorant the same as the locals when they came to stay at the hotel for the weekend.
The pool is fantastic not especialy clean though as the pool maintenance guy was very slow at that as it seemed that the pool itself and the pool man just couldn't cope with the amount of leaves and bugs that kept getting into the pool and the bottom was dirty too and there was dead skin that was floating around in the pool a majority of the time which is digusting, the pool swim up bar is fantastic and the lady who works behind there is an absolutely fantastic member of staff got to know her very well as once she has seen you a couple of times she has a very good memory of what yu drink and you get your drink without even asking and the entertainment staff they have there are fantastic with the adults and the families they have a laugh and a joke with you and they really go out of their way to making sure that you have a truly special and enjoyable holiday which we did with them and by the pool.The evening entertainment is great the entertainment team really do put their heart and soul into their shows as they have so much energy we enjoyed the shows very much,
We enjoyed the buffet restaurant but when we got into the second week the food seemed to be the same as we had in the first week and the a la carte restaurants we all thought that these were digusting too as none of it was what we liked and some things that are on the menu you would think are something simpl but please don't be fooled as a lot of it is not what you think it is we only tried these once as we really didn't like.
The complex is also not a 24 hour complex either which we were dissapointed with and the lobby bar shuts at 11pm which we all thought was crazy and if you want a drink after this time then you have to go to the show time bar but you are limited as to what you can have to drink you cannot get Pina Colada over there or Banana Mama either.
We suffered alot with the tiny creatures that look like ants in our room we were told that these were not ants just very similar but these things do crawl on you and they sort of leave a acid but it feels like a bite as you can't stop itching and my foot blew up like a balloon at night where they had been on me but by morning it was back to normal but these things do get everywhere in your wardrobe, in your clothes and they do like the bathroom round the door frame and especialy the sink and some on the balcony so we hardly used ours as they were constantly out there which was a little annoying to us as if you wanted a quiet night on the balcony you couldn't without scratching like mad.
Locals that come onto this complex are very noisy and very annoying and are rude when it comes to meals times too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank starryeyes2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We have been back a week and weve got to say
YES this was a great time.
We have been to the dom rep a lot of times and we have had some good times..but this was brill...the crowd of guys there were great. Everybody talked to everybody....we all joined in games and entertainment.To the guys that was there....john &danni...the luvly (irishglad)...lee..taff&blodwn ha ha...to everyone THANKS
food....ok
rooms....good
scenery...WOW
Entertainment crew....do there best with wat they got..
WELL DONE
All in all it is a place were we will come back to
so if your thinking of going ..dont think twice GO
So back to the guys who were there CHEERS
even hurricanes cant stop us
Gary&Joan
x
ps..maybe see u at Tonys sometime

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews