We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good everything but no night life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Buffet is good. Gourmet restaurant was bad but others were great. Premium and international alcohol COSTS EXTRA! No booze after 2AM! Nightlife is only in the village (shady). Beach is cloudy but clean

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Many rooms had AC issues but they were resolved. To turn on room electr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob-Toronto-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Rob:

Thank you so much for taking your time to write us this nice review about our hotel.

We are really happy that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. This review helps up to improve and raise our services.

We regret so much that we could not meet your expectations related with our bar schedules. However, we sincerely appreciate all your review as it is through communications on this nature that we can see what specific points we must focus to our attention.

We hope to welcome you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 4,109 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am quite new to this whole writing review things but i feel i have to start somewhere and i might aswell start with a great review

The Hotel was amazing the staff were really friendly and helpful especially the chaps that drive the buggies down to the apartments

The food was great and plenty to choose from i would recomend an omlette from Alberto they were the best omlettes i have tried also try the speciality restaurants Italian Gourmet and Mediteranian (excuse the spelling)

Also i have to have a special mention to Frankie he is the most fun and helpful person i have met in a very long time

I did read others reviews before leaving and i wasnt sure how to take them as some good and some not so good but i really would recomend this hotel to anyone

It wouldnt be a fair review without mentioning a few slightly negative things

1 Check which airport you are flying into i landed in Puerto Plaza and thats a 4 hour transfer to get to the airport (This is not the hotels fault)
2 I was in one of the apartments and would quite often be woken by the maids chatting outside my door
3 Lots of steps though it will keep you very fit

All in all fantastic holiday didnt wanna come home to the uk but i will be back again

Room Tip: If you wanna quiet pool go down to the onw near the Med reastaurant as the main pool gets very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Arsenalguy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for taking your time and write this comment about our hotel! We really appreciate your nice comments regarding our food and hotel staff.

We hope to have you back in the near future at any Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I just recently stayed at the Grand Bahia Cayacoa in Samana Dominican Republic between May 24th - 31st, and we had an amazing stay!

To begin, Danny at the front desk was amazing in promptly setting us up with the perfect room. We stayed in room 210 (which he suggested) and it was central to all important locations, including the beach, the pool, the buffet, and the lobby. We had read reviews that there was to be lots of walking on this resort, but thanks to our room placement we never had to take the shuttle anywhere. Everything was in short walking distance! (By short I mean literally twenty steps). What's more, Danny was always happy to greet us in the morning, and help us with anything we needed - he was professional while maintaining a personable character, which I really appreciated.

I recommend this resort primarily for couples as the nightlife and "party atmosphere" wasn't extraordinarily prominent. We're young (22) so we were expecting some kind of party vibe at an all inclusive resort, but this is NOT that kind of resort. The pool area was quiet and relaxing, and the activities were fun but calm, mainly things like darts and mini-golf - not like the drinking games I've played at other resorts. Though it wasn't exactly what I was expecting, it was not a let down at all. We had an awesome time relaxing in the sun, playing ping-pong or volleyball, and just catching up on some R&R. Still a great time - just a different kind of vacation.

That being said, Manuel and Victor at the lobby bar KNOW how to party! They were so awesome at reading the vibe at the bar, and knowing how to pick us up! We spent a lot of time with two other couples who raved about these two and how they made the quiet lobby bar a place to party - they weren't kidding! These two were awesome! Samuel and Davison at the pool bar were much the same - very good at getting the party started in a quiet environment.

We had our photos professionally taken on the resort grounds and the beach, which was nice but a little time consuming (about an hour and a half). You don't have to pay for the service of taking the photos, that's free. You only pay for the photos you want and if you don't want any, you don't pay a cent! Take advantage of the service, but be aware of the amount of time it takes! Merlin took our photos and he was awesome (he studied photography in school and it shows). We got some beautiful shots. However, they are expensive (ten dollars a photo) and they will want to try and up-sell you. My advice, choose three to five nice photos. We also got to take a photo with a monkey (Louisa - the cutest creature ever). Do it and buy it! You don't get to hold a monkey every day!

Weather wise, we had been nervous about rain as the forecast had called for thunderstorms everyday. SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN every single day. It rained TWO out of the SEVEN days and only for 15 minutes each time! So pleasantly surprised.

Finally, the food. My boyfriend and I are both Italian, and we fit the stereotypical bill of hard to please food wise. We're spoiled at home with fresh cooked meals daily, so we were not expecting to be impressed by the food on the resort ... BUT WE WERE! The food in the buffet is excellent! Very tasty and always fresh. All three a la cartes were amazing! Including the Italian food! We were never disappointed or left hungry.

Overall this resort proved to be a scenic, relaxing, and beautiful place to stay. We had such an awesome time and it was greatly due to the amazing staff. We were asked if we would travel back again, and we undoubtably agreed that we would in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Danny set us up in room 210, which in our opinion could not have been any better. Not only do you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Elena:

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you took the time to remember us and your holidays

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

It would be our pleasure to host you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Four of us, ages 22-25, just got back from this resort from May 24-31, 2014.
The biggest thing I noticed was how nice and friendly all the staff were. Even the people who couldn't speak much English still made every effort to communicate with you and smile. The resort itself, including the buildings and grounds was beautiful. It was kept clean and tidy, the grass and trees were constantly being trimmed and kept looking good. The beach was clean and the water was nice. The pools were also great.

FERNANDO was a notable staff member for us. He did everything from running the pool shack, exchanging towels, calling the numbers for pool side Bingo, leading the water aerobics in the pool, to dancing and singing poolside, and dancing and singing on stage at the disco theatre Bachata shows. He made an effort to learn our names and talk and joke with us every day. Really nice guy and really funny.

I think the most notable part of the resort throughout the evenings was the lobby bar. The guys working on this bar really made our evenings enjoyable. Most notable for us were MANUEL, VICTOR, and DAVISON. Even a couple of nights we felt tired and didn't think we were going to do much that night. As soon as we went to this bar, these guys remembered us by name, they remembered what we liked to drink, they made plenty of conversation with us making jokes, teaching us some Spanish, telling us things about the Dominican Republic and Samana Province that were very interesting. Every now and then they would even randomly mix us a special drink each. And they turned a night that we would have ended up not doing a whole lot and being tired, into a night full of fun that we will talk and joke about for a long time. These guys work long hours, we would see them at 7:30 AM on our way to breakfast, and they would still be there at 11:30 PM when the lobby bar closed. But they were ALWAYS happy, friendly, and pleasant to be around. They are really genuinely nice people!

The shows at the disco theatre Bachata were always fairly entertaining. Between singing and dancing, and circus acts, it was a good way to spend an hour or so at night. The Mr. Bahia Principe competition is fun and hilarious, and it's great to take part in (if you're not shy).

We went on 2 excursions:
1. the catamaran party boat, which I would highly recommend. We booked this tour with MARTIN from ScubaAquatic. David and the rest of the crew on the boat were really nice and they made sure you have a great day. They picked us up at 9:30 AM and we got back around 4:30 PM. We went snorkeling around some coral, then again around a shipwreck, which I found very enjoyable. They then let us swim off the boat and jump from the fly-bridge (if you wanted to) before bringing us to Cayo Levantado (Bacardi Island) for a snack. There was alcohol available to purchase from the resort that is on that island, and we stayed there on the beach for a few hours. This beach was beautiful!

2. the El Limon Waterfall on horseback. We booked this tour with ENMANUEL from Bahia Tours. This was a half day trip (9:30 AM - 12:30 PM). We took a safari truck to the horses and rode them through the woods into the waterfall where we went swimming. I would warn you that it was fairly difficult to swim in the fresh water at the base of the falls, so if you aren't a strong swimmer, I would be careful. There were a lot of locals at the falls with shops set up that you could buy jewelry, paintings or other souvenirs.

There were other excursions that we were interested in, but we only wanted to do 2 excursions on a 7 night trip.

We went into the Pueblo Principe, which is a small grouping of buildings that resort owns in the town of Santa Barbara next to the resort. There are a couple of bars and restaurants here. The shuttle at the resort will bring you there for free, but you do have to pay for you drinks at this location. There were mainly locals at the bar we went to (Blue Lagoon). We were told that it was perfectly safe to go here, and we felt safe while we were there. When we walked in, someone even ran and grabbed some chairs and set up for us. The only complaint I had about that place was that we came to find out the next day that the bar tenders grossly overcharged us for our drinks because we didn't know any better as to what drinks cost. It was a big deal for me but I would suggest asking someone you know on the resort what the drinks should cost you over there and then ask the bartender for the price before ordering. If they tell you more than it's supposed to be say you don't want the drinks and they'll probably give you the proper price. That being said, this did not put a damper on the night or on the trip. I kind of just laughed it off and carried on with our awesome vacation.

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. We had a blast and would like to go back again. It would be good to see the staff members again and spend some more time with them.

Room Tip: We booked the Junior Suite Club Golden rooms. They were bigger rooms in a villa building separate fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Adam:

We thank you for youor comments and for recommending our hotel; the best publicity is the one that people make at home after their holidays. We will be happy to receive you again for another visit with us.

It is comments like yours who motivate our staff and show us what we do is right. We certainly however will be seeking for excellence

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here in the future at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Beautiful and clean room with a fantastic view. Loved the veranda overlooking the bay. Buffet was very good (and I avoid wheat). Staff are very friendly and eager to please: special thanks to Alba, Yissel, and Juliana for making our stay so pleasant.
A few disappointments: 1. being charged for room safe on checkout 2. limited umbrellas at the pool 3. bed/pillows were very hard (literally put my arms to sleep) 4. music from pool extremely loud in the late afternoon: could not nap.
Overall, we greatly enjoyed our vacation and would recommend to others. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid lower levels (too much foot traffic in the halls) between the lobby, veranda, and buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonCarmelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor member:

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We regret so much that we could not meet your expectations related with the safe, pillows and our pool area. However, we sincerely appreciate all your review as it is through communications on this nature that we can see what specific points we must focus to our attention.

We hope to welcome you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The rooms are good. The service is very good. The access to the beach is great. The transportation to the different points within the complex is also very good. The SPA is superb. The food is excellent with a wide selection of Dominican and international dishes. After reading this you must be wondering why the regular rating.... The only reason is the amount of pressure they put you through to try to make you buy their time share (or whatever other name they have for it. It is just annoying how persistent these sales persons are. I said I did not want to buy anything from day one, but then they ask you to pick up your welcome gift and when you go, they keep trying to sell. I said no at least five times and I kept getting voice mails in my hotel room, from different people inviting me to pick up more gifts, etc. It is just unbelievable how insistent they can be. They are ruining the reputation of a very good hotel by over-trying to sell their version of time share.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank 1Arlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Briant:

We deeply regret to read that we did not fully exceed your expectations. In Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts we believe that only by listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests we are able to immediately detect areas for improvement and can therefore take actions instantly. We assure you that your observations were taken with the utmost consideration.

Once more thank you for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in any Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at GBP Cayacoa for a week and couldn't have been happier. After visiting, I feel like people just like to complain.

We were checked in very quickly after a 45 minute drive from the airport (which was actually nice as we travelled through many small towns). We were shown to our room immediately and even given a quick tour of the facilities so that we could find out way around. The room was immaculately cleaned and we had no isssues with this the entire week. There was no mold/unpleasant smells etc. Housekeeping kept us fully stocked with exactly what we wanted. We requested additional towels and no issue here as well.

All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved the animation team. Shout out to Carlos, Carlito, Fernando and Carolin who helped to make our stay that much more memorable. There was always something to do and we never had a problem finding a seat by the pool.

The food was good. We found there was enough selection to please anyone and the a la carte restaurants were very good. We dined at all three and were happy with both the food and service we received.

The beach was fine, be advised it is not a white sand beach.

If you like rum and fruity drinks, order a banana mama! You won't regret it.

There are a lot of stairs, however you never have to use them unless you want to. There are shuttles running all over the resort at all times.

Overall, we had a great vacation and would return. Samana is beautiful - do not pass it over!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrsbrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Mrs. Brant:

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing you are really happy with of our serices and effort to do everything to make your holiday relaxing.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff.

Hope see you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
17.5 mi away
Sublime Samana Hotel & Residences
1.2 mi away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#9 of 54 in Samana Province
215 reviews
6 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
573 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: $136 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing