We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have just got back from a three week stay 3/10/13 to 24/10/13 and I would like to say we had a great time.
Please ignore negative reviews and go see for yourself. The food is plentiful and of a good standard. The gourmet restaurants are very good with exceptional food. The entertainments team work very hard and make you feel happy and welcome. All the bar staff in all the bars are friendly and work very hard. The hotel staff from the management to the maids all make you feel welcome. I would recommend the Italian restaurant the food was plentiful and well presented, with very good service. We met some great people whilst we were there from the UK and Canada thanks for the great water volleyball games guys. The only negative is the lack of sun shades around the main pool and the fact that people seem to have reserved these before 7am, Management please do something to rectify this problem. This hotel is exceptional value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it. Thanks to all the team there for a wonderful stay and we were sorry to have to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms101 to 103 are close to the pool area and the buffet they are very good rooms. We were in room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Mr. Edward:
We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience in our beautiful Hotel, which give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. We would like to thank you for recommending us and for mentioning our good food, good service, and the nicest staff.

Rest assured that your observation have been transferred to the General Manager to analyze the point you mentioned.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,952)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,487 - 1,493 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This really is a fabulous location, the staff are so genuinely friendly. The food choice is varied and I doubt anyone would struggle to find something to eat. You do have to be up early to get a sunbed by the pool but to be honest with the sun also being up early this is not really a hardship. I enjoy my wine so disappointed with lack of availability of wine from wine menu - this you actually pay for so I think hotel needs bigger stock - but this is just a personal thing and cos I had such a fabulous time is no real big deal. I was really lucky and met some fabulous people - you know who you are! Go on try it you'll love it x

Room Tip: I had room 526 great view of bay and quiet late afternoon sun on balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Mrs. Jackie:

We are proud to hear that we have provided you a great vacations, thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Dominican Republic.

We hope see you soon!

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were here Sept 26th for two weeks and we had a lovely time. The hotel is clean and the staff work hard to please you.
We had 3 problems with our room the balcony door didn't lock , low water pressure in the bathroom and the safe went wrong.
Within 5 minutes of reporting these problems someone had turned up to fix them and the problems were solved.
We found the room fine with plenty of storage space the air con could have been colder but with the overhead fan going as well it was cool enough. You don't get a lot of English channels on the tv but then we didn't travel all that way to watch tv.
The food was ok some days better than others but you can generally find something to eat. The snack bar was good though a bit of a trek up and down the steps and at night you can get late snacks burgers and toasties etc from the Italian restaurant next to the disco.
The weather was mega hot and there is a lack of shade around the pool but we coped and a lot of people went to the beach as there was more shade. We went in the lift down to the beach ( only once ) and it gets very hot and stuffy in it but you have the option of steps as well. We are not beach people but what we saw was ok and there is a bar down there.
We did book into the restaurants once in the Gourmet which though the food was good the staff were rude and made us feel out of place. And once in the Seafood which we couldn't fault it was lovely both the staff and the food were lovely and they deserved the tip that we that left.
We met some lovely people and had many different cocktails at the pool bar made by the lovely Evelyn the best bar lady in the Dominican. We did take insulated mugs for around the pool as you only get small plastic cups and had no problem getting them filled up. Good work again Evelyn.
In the evenings they only have one bar and it can get busy but a little bit of patience goes a long way the staff work hard to please you. And they do have waiters/ waitresses that will come to your table if refills are needed.
The only complaint we had was problems on the fight to and from Samana which is being dealt with by Thomsons.
Please ignore any negative reviews and relax and enjoy your holiday.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Squiffy7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

It is a pleasure to read that you loved your trip. Our team working will be proud to know that they make your experience a good one. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am letting people know do no let people who write bad things about a resort make you not want to go their. i read about this resort Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa the reviews some of them were so bad , I thoughted do I want to go their but I said in my mind I will go regardless of what I read about it on the internet. I went to this resort Oct 14 - 21 2013 with my sister and my mom and dad. The check in was fast and our luggage was taking quickly to the room. The resort had lots to do all day thanks to the team of Joan , Julian , Veronica, Fernando their was so much activites that were great. The food was above and beyond my expectations. The hotel had great entertainment each night also. The beach was also beautiful. This resort was above and beyond my expectations and I will be going back next year. My family they also enjoyed their time their we were all treated with so much respect from all the staff and management everyone was so pleasant and happy all the time. Thanks again everyone Marcia , Sandra Marie and Loxley

Room Tip: Their is a main building with hotel rooms and their is also villa's
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Mrs. Marcia:

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience in our beautiful Hotel, which give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

It is wonderful to know that you experienced an very good vacation with us and it is a pleasure to read that you are considering coming back to our Hotel; and will be an honor to host you again in our premises and continue providing you the most enjoyable experiences.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Myself and my husband spent two weeks here at the end of September 2013, and had a wonderful time. Below is some information I hope you find helpful.
Staff: friendly and helpful
Food: varied, tasty, readily available, gourment very good
Drinks: good choice, plenty of them
Room: clean, well maintained, excellent views
Hotel: beautifully set into the cliff, clean
Grounds: well maintained, very pretty, good exercise to walk around!
Beach: plenty of beds, clean water, exciting trip on the lift down
Pools: good choice, games if you want, or peace and quiet at the smaller pools
Exercusions: did the jeep safari with Thomson and the buggy tour and barcardi island with the local rep. All were excellent days out!
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to couples of any age. We met some lovely people and had lots of fun talking to the staff.
Please do not be put off by any negative comments on this hotel. If you need any other info please get in touch.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel has a great view, either other the bay or beach.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Mrs Annie:

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Hotel as your holiday destination in Samana. Thank you for highlighting the good aspects, such as hardworking staff, beautiful rooms, grounds and delicious food and drinks.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to cater you once again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned Oct 21/13 from 1 week stay at the Bahia Principe Cayacoa and it was the nicest vacation that we've had in the Dominican Republic.The hotel was clean,well kept and the service was second to none.The food was top notch and the pools were excellant.All the staff were very friendly and helpfull.The resort is spread out so you have lots of walking to do to wear off the meals,and if you wished not to walk the shuttles were there in minutes.Even the buffets had a good selection.We ate at all 3 a-la-carte and had nothing bad to say about any of them.The town was 5 minutes away by shuttle(free)but was quite an eye opener.They pester you from the time you get off the shuttle to the time you leave.One store owner told us that if they escort you to the store the prices increase and the guide gets the difference.Be persistant and tell them no and look for yourself.The beach was small but clean and had ample shaded areas to sit in.We don't normally go to the same place twice,but this place I would return to at a later date.The entertainment was just ok to us.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 33,the view was good but buildings 32 and 31 was better.The rooms were huge.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review an to mention how great was your experience with us. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed an absolutely delightful week with exceptional and outstanding treatment in Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa.

Looking forward for you next stay in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

food is average and wine tastes like piss even at the a la carte restaurants- it's like someone emptied the bottles and filed it with sock water or worse. the hotel is not kept up - there are dead flies if you look around. really disgusting. the entertainment staff is really not interested in doing their job, they'd rather sit and drink or hustle you for some tip money for doing a "favour", every wait staff expect to be tiped (meals start to become expensive at this rate) for bringing you water or coffee, hotel management is completely disinterested as well- saw a man who had a gash on his sole of his feet, and no first aid kit on beach. he had to go back all the way up to front desk, and even then they couldn't figure out their *** from their heads before finding a first aid kit. sure it's relaxing because it's an all-inclusive, but the relaxing factor starts diminishing after being hustled by staff for tips, you have to be worried about sharp objects on the strip of beach (which is open to locals so get hustled again). this was at best a 3 star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CoyneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction.

We really hope to consider coming back to ay Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and and be able to change any negative perception

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
881 reviews
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
805 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,722 reviews
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: $110 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing