We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$85
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atlantis(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Albachiara(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$132
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Dolce Vita Residence(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$78
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort Costa Las Ballenas(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$302
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,199)
Filter reviews
4,199 results
Traveler rating
2,126
1,399
454
137
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,126
1,399
454
137
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolsnack barmain buildinga la carte restaurantsanimation teambuffet restaurantseafoodjacuzzi poolbacardi islandevery hourtwo weeksdominican republicsamana townfirst choicegrand bahialower poolspaghetti
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,713 - 1,718 of 4,199 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for one week which was too short a period if you are flying from Europe. We enjoyed the food, service and pools. There were no complaints about the hotel. Our Thomson rep was first class. A major positive was that every window had a breathtaking view. It made us so much more relaxed. Another positive related to the premium drinks on the all inclusive deal. This included Gordans Gin which was a nice change from the usual all inclusive drinks selection.

We went on a boat trip to the national park and it was lovely. The main tip I would give you is to take a lot of insect repellent.

The only negative was the 3 hour transfer. After a long flight it was the last thing we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonianAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

Your opinion is one of our top priorities and all feedback from our guests is valuable. We are happy to learn that you had a great vacation in our Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa!

We are already looking forward to have you with us again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, I would like to ask Olga if it was a first trip outside New-York. We came back yesterday from Samana and we enjoyed pretty much our week. We are in the late 50's and have traveled in many countries and I can say this hotel was one of the cleanest we saw.

The food was very good with a lot of choices. About the fruits, we never ate so good mangos. Most of resorts offer mangos once in the week but Bahia Principe Cayacoa had a full plate at each meal. Regarding the staff, everyone was polite, it's true sometimes it was few minutes before to get service from the bar but it's the way they work on the islands, they don't run...

The beach is small but very well maintained. There were gardeners cleaning the sand and removing shells left from the tide early on the morning and along the day. We knew from comments on Trip Advisor that the beach was not exceptional so we had no bad surprise and we enjoyed a warm water with waves.

This hotel is rated 3½ stars from Air Canada so you get what you pay for. In resume, an excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sovila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel which we will take in the highest consideration. We sincerely appreciate all feedback and comments in relation to our food, facilities and services. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Also we agree with you, our mangos are the best!!

It will be a pleasure for all of us to host you once again

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was fantastic - the service was great, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room we had (sea view) was clean and tidy with a huge bed. I really couldn't have asked for more!
There was a wide variety of food (and drink) available, and the a la carte restaurants were all top notch.
If I had to make negative points, as I said above it really would be nit-picking. The food was sometimes lukewarm as you often find in all inclusive hotels - its all about timing - get there when its just put out and its fantastic, get there when the foods been out for a bit and obviously it cools down.
The beach was lovely, but it wasn't the white sand/blue sea you imagine in the Caribbean, although I know other hotels in the area do have beaches like that. However it was clean, sandy and the water was warm and refreshing.
It rained a little bit, usually for 5 min spells but this was in no way a bad thing - it was quite refreshing in fact!
All in all a wonderful top rate hotel in a lovely area - many thanks to everyone who helped make our stay special.

Room Tip: We chose a sea view room (309) and it was worth every penny of the extra paid - the view really was drop dead gorgeous and the view from the balcony was amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morbidmoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. For all of us it is a pleasure to hear that you had an amazing holiday and to know that you enjoyed our location and facilities.

In the name of our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you again for vacationing with us and we hope you could consider giving us the opportunity to host you again in Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was skeptical when I booked at first but once I arrived it was worth every cent! The staff was pleasantly accommodating and friendly to me and my prima. We enjoyed the buffet, gourmet restaurant and evening shows presented by the animadors Juan Carlos, who was an amazing dancer, Blaky and Spaghetti...what a team! We laughed, we danced and enjoyed the lush surroundings that took your breath away every day. I felt safe even at night when walking the grounds and the staff never hesitated to make us feel welcome and even remembered our names! I came back relaxed, refreshed and recommending this resort to my family and friends. You will too! Cheers Nancy and Diana

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Nancy and Diana:

Thank you for your nice review. It is wonderful when we see that our guests have enjoyed their stay in our hotel and we appreciate to know that you felt delighted with the general services, the food and the staff friendliness.

We are thrilled to know that you will come back to us soon and cannot wait to see you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

In two sentences: bad beach, bad pool , bad food, bad drinks, worse ever service, no privacy in the room, this vacation left a bad taste in the mouth and things to throw away because they are ruined... i like to write good reviews, but no such thing this time. And it is long since we had a lot to reflect on.
In details:
From the first step we had made into the main lobby of this hotel it was a total disaster. The service was just always bad at the front desk and at the bars. The people were just either rude or totally ignoring us. This kind of an attitude towards clients made our vacation just terrible. Many people at the front desk did not speak English- so we literally couldn’t get any of our messages through majority of the time (unless our Apple vacation guy was there to help us translating). They charged us for a room safe/ locker 28 dollars, though we found out later it suppose to be $4 (on their pricing list). The room smelled like the worse stations of NYC subway (strongest smell of urine in the closets, our entire luggage and our clothes smelled like we were homeless people). The majority of the people working their treated us like we were a nuisance, for the exception of a few ladies working at the restaurant ( Jessah was always friendly and I wish I could write a thank you note to her, but she wasn’t working last days of our stay so I didn’t write down her full name). The hotel in the evening is a replica of the scary movie “Shiny” especially when it rains. Dark place with long twisted corridors with no light whatsoever create a seriously depressing environment. You can’t get to the beach after 7 as they close the elevator to the beach.
We arrived in the mid afternoon and since we didn’t eat since 6 a.m. we started to look for food after check in. But there was none in the building. Yes, we had to take a shuttle bus to go to the buffet place. There some greasy leftovers were waiting for us, the food covered with flies buzzing all over. By all means it didn’t look healthy or attractive or SAFE to eat. I asked for a drink at the buffet bar, they said they don’t do it here( they don’t mix drinks) and gave me something from a bucket- sugary drink that tasted like cane syrup with a hint of alcohol). On the way out we saw garbage floating on the beach water. What? We still hoped for the better. So we waited for the dinner just to be disappointed even more. To the hungry eyes it looked ok, but to the taste it was awful: too much salt, fat, sugar, always overcooked, with very little choices of fresh veggies and fruit. The presentation was ok, but the variations or quality food (0): same tasting food everyday - dry dolphin fish, grouper, mackerel, meats was not eatable. But you got to eat, is that right? So on the third day we began to turn into salt crystals from all this salty food. Every dish was overcooked. I couldn’t eat and survived the rest of the week on farmer cheese, packed yoghurt, some fruit and leafy salad, some veggies. Cut up passion fruit and watermelon, tried desserts- far too sweetened. Most of the time we were not allowed to open the windows at the restaurants (though the breeze could be refreshing along with the view), so we had to sit at the table and suffocate in the smell of the kitchen (guarding our utensils). To get a full set of utensils (and napkins IF YOU ARE LUCKY) at the table was a trick to be learned. Yes, and their desire to get your plate before you finish eating was rather strange. Coffee of quality was not on the menu.
Don’t start me on the service at the “free” bars. We couldn’t get any clean fresh drinks and had to wait forever for a service. On the first day this guy, Victor ignored us for 10 minutes (I still had my sense of humor on that day so I timed his response that never happened) before we gave up and left (he was taking all other orders from the people who he apparently knew already and totally avoided us even though I asked for his attentions with friendly NewYorker tune “Excuse me, please” several times). Moreover, one of the bartenders was so rude to us on our last day we had to leave the bar. There is no way ANYBODY can behave like this with the clients. Take your attitude home. BE POLITE AND PRESENT for the customers. They made us feel unwelcomed and like “second class” people. They would chit-chat friendly with each other ignoring customers and then turn to the customers with the blank absent expression on the faces. You ask for sparkling water- they give you still water from a pitcher, and so on. No fresh juices, all tastes like a drink from a fruit concentrate.
The beach…We dreamed of swimming and relaxing on a clean beach. The beach is very small and is taken over every day by locals, so you have no privacy (they ask for money or get a drink for them at the bar) or quiet time - forget about reading. The waters were not that clean as advertised. The garbage floated on the ocean water every day, so we had to wait for it to float away. We noticed a few pregnancy tests sticks washed on the shore (that means that the sewage is probably very close), so we stopped getting into the waters at all. While we understand that quality of ocean waters out of control of the hotel but something had to be done, at least be truthful and say it on your website- our beach is polluted. No swimming at the pool was possible either. IT IS TOO SMALL and not deep enough for swimming (140cm). Though we saw people standing for hours in the pool and at the walk in bar. I guess it is for drinking and soaking only.
The room service was strange at the least. They would leave us without the towels to wipe off after the shower or give us one and not another, and we had to look for the maid to take the towels to shower. One day I got out of the shower and bumped into a “supervisor”- Impressive to show up naked and see a complete stranger in our room. She mumbled something like:” inventory” and instead of leaving, she continued to check our room and look inside the closets! Speaking of PRIVACY!!! “inventory” of what? an iron board and iron? I was stunned and so frustrated. We didn’t complain about this incident, because every single day something negative had been happening, our vacation turned into a serious of unfortunate events.
When we asked to get us out of this hotel, we were offered to transfer at our own expanse to another hotel. We couldn’t do it financially, and we argued that we would lose a whole day of vacation while checking out, transferring and checking in, etc. The hotel people were not even apologetic. We paid them our money already.
The restaurants (3 choices that we could book only on the 4th day) were clean and had good overall presentation and service was slightly better, but once again, everything was so salty that it went into waste.
The entertainment/ sports- one table with ping-pong right under the scorching sun (or rain) next to the screeching and booming music; the archery was a joke with one broken bow and two out of three arrows functioning, etc. When we see full hotel of clients, it makes us think that the hotel would want to invest in good quality various equipment (like at other hotel chains), and more sports opportunities, right? Water sports were most attractive but you don’t need snorkeling equipment if the waters are dirty, you don’t want to get your face in this waters. AND there is not much to see- all fish is gone, though we saw a few star fish out of the water (and one baby stingray!). We had to book a day trip to the far island to see a clean beach and had a swim there for a few hours (paid extra money to taste how real vacation should look like).
And I forgot to mention the smell of urine in and around the beach elevator. Yeh, and getting stuck in this beach elevator on a hot day- big time fun.
So we must say that the only highlight was a view from the balcony. And a few people (like Jessah, I wish I wrote down her name and the names of other exemplary people) were very nice genuinely, the rest of the staff should learn from them.
We invested in one week vacation after working hard a whole year and all we wanted is just have very healthy and sweet time as couples in a clean environment, so we can have a couple time ( without "inventory" in our room). In return we got stagnated environment when we had been treated like we were a nuisance. In addition, on return from this hotel all our suitcases and clothes needed to be washed twice, because they continued to stink of mold and something else even after a first wash!!! Things that can’t be washed will go into trash (like hats, books and not washable travel bags) they still stink, stink, stink of mold even a week after!

Room Tip: If decide to go choose the rooms away from the pool- too loud till 6 p.m. and could be loud at night with drunk people having fun in the pool- and you not sleeping
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 228JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

We would like to state that the feedback expressed by our clients is our top priority and our main goal is to offer a service at all times according to your expectations. We are sorry that the above situations mentioned have tarnished your stay.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Always at your disposal,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews