We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid 4-star resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The only reason it is not five-star is because of the beach - too close to the marina, so the water is cloudy, but still nice and refreshing. The view from the buffet restaurant is a million-dollar view! The hotel is excellent! Staff is very accommodating and the food is great!

Room Tip: Junior Suites are large and have a beautiful view of Samana bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 4,053 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Hotel is very clean and the food was great and the staff was amazing. I don't recommend this place for the kids because there are lots of walking and lots of stairs and there are absolutely no entertainment for the kids in the evening and the performances are very poorly organized by the un-professional staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the main buffet resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BahiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location was good, the food was favourable, but when the maid service walked in without warning, and when I was explaining to her that we were both not dressed, she continued to come in. We were also interrupted from our showers twice after complaints from room below us, the staff attempted to fix it the first time, and then after the second time we had enough. After speaking with the front desk about getting a new room, they offered me 2 terrible rooms with views of a construction site and a roof with an AC unit. Would we go back? Maybe, but at the island property near by.
Jeff & Steph
North Bay, ON

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This resort is a hidden treasure in the DR. My wife and I had a tiny window of opportunity to escape and celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. We read the reviews on tripadvisor and decided to book. We've travelled extensively throughout the Carribbean and have no difficulty saying that the resort and its staff are first rate. The property has stunning views and vistas. Each turn in the walkways revealed a new opportunity for a postcard quality photograph. Our lodgings in the in the well appointed Golden Suites looking out over the ocean were excellent.
The detailing in each of the three restaurants as well as buffet was a wonderful treat. Paintings reflecting the culture of the DR hung on walls in each of the buildings. The food was fresh and delicious. Staff were polite and respectful and often playful. Juan, at the La Casita pool bar was especially fun and attentive. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to friends.

Room Tip: Upper floors have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunsetdreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Leo G. March 13 2013 Philadelphia

Is it really chip, 2 persons $2600 I not think so.
Stuff, cleanliness ok....And that about all.
Let me put this way: U speak English only, U are in a BIG TROUBLE. (Reception guys ok) Entertainment-0, food assortment and quality..U wish U have Mc D,
Beach forget it: water cold, windy, waves, opens at 7am, not enough space for everybody, cleaning on the beach starts after, if U lucky, got the place to relax.
Wait, more to come, keep reading. yeh, hell, Im angry.
Smoker? Good luck No smoke in the room or hall,(alarm is on)... mini bar:. soda, coke, 2 cans of beer, safe-$4 a day, no iron They not allowed U to carry glass or cups ( not enough personal to clean) out of buffet or else. Look I can go on and on...Listen to my advice Add $500-600 and go Riu Tropical Bay Negril any time of the year, major minus there is a sand fleas( read how to avoid them).
And another advice Don't look for something new if u have been in La Romana , Mexico, and of course Jamaica (only6 Golden apples) in Carribean Region, U will not find anything better.
Never will go here again for even $1 dollar. it suck. Hate it,
Sorry for grammar, still learning.

Room Tip: Ocean front, 5 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I traveled here Nov 2012 with friends. The island is a beautiful example of the splendor of the carribean. The weather held out most days with for the sun-worshipers, others even the rain was a refreshing change to the heat, leaving the island fresh. Despite these positive attributes, i found the hotel took advantage of this fact and that the clientele were paying 5* prices for what i considered 4* by British standards. The rooms were OK quality, but for the prices we paid, i expected quality throughout. this was lacking in the fine detail of the workmanship of the rooms some facilities. Mix ups and mistakes were not quickly rectified adding to disappointment. Food was well presented although predictable, more variety was needed.branded drink selection was better than most i have visited but still for what I paid it was lacking. The best facility one wants to have after being on hot and sandy Island is a fully functioning and well pressured shower! Not here, not in my rooms, yes rooms! The entertainment team was amazing though, they went to great efforts and it was well received!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljunky4evea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

i was with 2 other couples and had a great time. staff very friendly food was very good and always a place to eat no matter of the time.there is alot of stairs but that was awesome for me but not everyone.a few great people i want to recognize is from the pool Fernando,Altagracia and Jose A. My god the energy they had entertaining the guests from morning until night was amazing.Fern ando even came to the bus to say goodbye to everyone. They were amazing to my group.The bartendar Faulto kept serving us and we did not have tip money in the water and he was always happy with us we did take care of him later. The d.j.Jaison was valways thinking of us playing the music we liked he never forgot.Carlito from the Aqua Scubaquatic was great with us we booked 2 excursions with him and were very happy.Very honest.The most fun we had was in the seafood restaurant the staff entertained us alot. Wanda,Santo,Genaro,and Vanessa were so amazing to us that we begged to go back the next night changing our reservations.From the buffet the 2 that standd out for me is Nataly,David,and Cesario, and Johanny they filled my coffee all the time and got us what we asked.A wonderful staff at this hotel.

Room Tip: we had the upgraded gold room so our rooms were twice the size and we were out of the way and if u l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
17.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#10 of 54 in Samana Province
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: $126 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing