We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went for a one week family vacation to Bahia Principe Cayacoa during the Holidays, we were 8 scattered in 3 rooms. The hotel was advertised as 5 star but is rather a 4 star hotel. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, but you could hear the city noise (the town nightclub music playing until the early morning). Samana is not a destination to enjoy long walks on the beach, it's very short. But expect to be walking a lot around the resort, a lot of stairs going up and down, a lot distance to cover to go to the restaurants, to the pool, to the beach, etc. An elevator takes you down to the beach as the hotel is located on a cliff, or you can try the long set of stairs down. The beach is a bit dirty but ashore you can go for great snorkeling, a lot of starfish to see! Staff very friendly and helpful. Food is good, entertainment is OK, drinks are not all inclusive, which was odd for an all inclusive resort. Pool is nice. Resort casino is not located on site, you need to take a shuttle to go in town where the casino is, but not much worth the trouble. The town is very noisy, very polluted and every local trying to get your business. In all, very happy we got to see Samana but would not go back. If you want to enjoy nice beaches at a ground level resort, spend the extra bucks and go to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventure25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,826 - 1,832 of 4,015 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Thank you so much to the amazing staff there for all the fun and feeling of warmth. Fernando, who could forget you and your crazyness and much energy. You made the trip so much fun with all of your animation team including spaghetti legs Jose A.
This was our second time there and will certainly go there again God willing. The waitresses and waiters, just to name some Yissel, Junior and so many more. We always feel so important. And we cannot forget the wonderful shuttle staff that are so kind and so prompt. and they ask what you have done in the day for interest. So worth going there and we dont mind the stairs when you think of all the amazing food that is offered.
And the amazing housekeeping staff Lewis and Martha. Thank you for the clean room and the hugs.
Thank you and hoping to see you again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Villas are so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a great place if you want a relaxing vacation, if you are out to party, you will not be satisfied here! We found the grounds very well maintained, beaches beautiful (our preference was for the east-beach near the ocean villas. Quiet, secluded, and lots of fish to swim with if snorkelling is in the plans. The site the resort has been built on is very steep - if you want, you can get a lot of exercise climbing stairs. If you don't want to, take the shuttles!

We visited the Italian and Gourmet dining rooms and really enjoyed the meals there. The buffet had an excellent variety although we found much of the fare bland compared to what we are used to. I noticed an very high standard for cleaning and food safety on the premises which was appreciated - better than other places I have been at home and abroad.

The staff were universally friendly and motivated - service was excellent - and we particularly appreciated Juan at the oceanside snack bar. The front desk staff were also excellent and highly enthusiastic about solving issues for customers.

The area around the resort is a nice change from Punta Cana. It was refreshing to be able to walk out of the resort without any significant security concerns - I went jogging twice into the village of Samana, and was met with friendly people and no hassles at all.

Minor issues; Brief periodic power outages (4-5 during the week) made entering the elevator a bit of a worry for some. There are no screens on the patio doors, so doors really need to be kept closed unless you have a love of geckos. Several people we spoke to (and ourselves) had maintenance issues with their rooms, but they were quickly dealt with.

It would be nice to be able to get wine or spirits for mini-bars rather than just the beer and pop.

Bottom line: this was a great resort and a fantastic experience. I would definitely consider another Grand Bahia resort if they are anything like this one!

Room Tip: We loved the Oceanside Villas. Fantastic for a quiet lifestyle with the ocean right next to you-but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICFY95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Firstly this hotel is located on an enchanting site. Staff was very attentive, fast and very welcoming. I went alone and all of people/staff take care of me during my vacation. The place is safe, excellent food and music. Tous les jours il y a des activités organisés par l'équipe d'animation. Ils sont vraiment excellent! I highly recommend you go. Try to adopt it!

Room Tip: My room was in the middle of the site between the main hotel and the beach. It is a place which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently enjoyed a week at the grand bahia principe cayacoa, along with 3 other couples. Air Canada vacations brough us to this beautiful resort, and I mean breath taking view, as your located on the top of a cliff. The town is so ruggid and beautiful, and we just happened to luck out and be in Samana for the Dominican Republic Independance Day. IT WAS AMAZING! WE DANCED IN TOWN THROUGHOUT THE CARNAVAL, DRANK COLD BEER :) it was such an experience, and the locals are great as they don't hassal you, and arnt pulling at you for money. The Bahia Principe is a small resort and the main building is only 4 floors and contains everything you need. The pool is always warm, just make sure to put a towel out before 10am to save a spot as seats are limited. We lucked out with 8 days of 40 degree weather with absolutely no rain or clouds. The glass elevator to the beach is such a convience, and the ocean was so warm and the beach was clean, and so beautiful. We deffinitly recommend lunch at the ocean beach bar, the BBQ is outstanding.

We also really noticed the high food and drink quality, the drinks were make perfectly and deffinitly check out the lobby bar for a "banana mama, or a tequilla sunrise". So yummy! The italian a la carte was our favorite and the gourme was a close second.

When every review on here says there is a view from every room they are NOT joking! We were on the first floor, and had views of both oceans palm trees as well as the pool. We were in room 117 and anything near there is so close to the pool, buffet, and main lobby.

We also particiapted in the water fall tour, the eco tour and walk the plank zip lining. All were amazing and should be experienced, but by far the best was the "walk the plank". Bart the owner is so cool, and is building this eco hostal where you sleep in the middle of the jungle on his mountain. The zip lining is so safe and secured by 2 lines, and proper equiptment. Make sure you do this excursion, it will make your trip!

We highly recommend this to young, old, family, couple, quite, loud, etc. All types found there perfect santuary there.

We will deffinitly be going back within the next two years to experience the hostal where you sleep in the jungle!

P.s make sure to take home some mamajuana (the drink! ) guys youll love the benefits, and it tastes amazing.

HIGHLY RECOMMENED!

Room Tip: All rooms had the same type of amazing views. We didn't pay for the upgrade and loved our assign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Prince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What else can I say, clean, great food and drinks, wonderful friendly staff, breathtaking views, great weather.
Yissel was our waitress in the buffet, always made sure we had everything we needed.
Fernando part of the entertainment team kept us well entertained and laughing.
Oh ya, lots of stairs, but we ate so much we needed the exercise.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Dianne5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The resort is spotlessly clean, everyone is very friendly. We have never seen such a variety of food on the buffet for all the meals. We will definitely be back. The hotel is situated at the top of a hill, and If you stay in the villas there is transportation to the hotel, or you can walk up the steps. It is definitely good value for money. Fantastic bar staff, thanks to Dario, Angel, Junior and Manuel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank renee_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
17.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#10 of 54 in Samana Province
201 reviews
6 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#5 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: $125 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing