We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Fantastico!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa - Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Excellent accommodation and service, wonderful people, interesting and friendly town. The restaurants are very good, though they could feature more local fare. We had lunch once in town at the Bahia View, which was terrific.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back and the beach are quieter - farther from disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidKempton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,825
    1,193
    388
    122
    74
See reviews for
632
2,075
106
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and me stayed at the resort for a week from Feb 3 '13 to Feb 10, 13. We were in the main 5 storey building on the 3rd floor.This building is built on a cliff and the view from the building is very beautiful in all directions. Our room was facing the town of Samana which is partly on hills with a beautiful bay harbour in between our hotel and the town. Rooms on the right of ours face the ocean where cruise liners stop on weekly visits - again very pretty view as well. This resort also has villas on the beach level which can be accesed by walking down on stairs thru the beautiful well kept grounds with a very scenic view of the ocean and surrounding hills and cliffs.There is strolley service for those who dont want to walk up and the stairs.There are two small beach areas which we found clean and very scenic. There is an elevator from the main building area which took us down to the main beach where we found the water clear and we loved swimming there.
The staff everywhere - in the buffet,restaurants,bars,reception,etc are most friendly,welcoming and helpful - very pleasant people indeed. The entertainment staff were very friendly and pleasant as well.The main swimming pool near the main hotel building was clean and surrounded by scenic area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TorontoSolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks from Jan. 8, 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, thus the maids in the lobby bar could be better organized in the rutines; sometimes you were waited, sometimes not. All flew around like bees in a bottle.
The hotel is spotless clearn everywhere you go, and very well maintained. The room - 517 - was in a fine size, kingsize bed and a stunning view. Needles to mention; spotless clean.
Breakfast was world class, lunch cosi-cosi, evening buffet could be better. It seem the chef has forgotten all about spices, herbs, salt 'n' pepper. But a great varity of food to chose from.
Of the theme restaurants we would recommend the gourmet, lovely food and high service from our special friend David, the restaurant manager. The fish restaurant was also good, even for a non fish eater. The Italian... don't go if you are eager after italian food - It's no way Italian.
Pool and beach are both very well equipped with comfi sunbeds and umbrellas. Not to mention the staff at the beach bar - so nice, friendly and service minded.
Only one main downer during our stay; the shop owners of Samana! If going downtown with the hotel shuttle, be aware of the shop owners - they are all hungry like a wolfs, and somewhat anoying.
All in all a fantastic holiday in a great country in a great hotel - with room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanishDelightOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed from 2/2 thru 2/8 with 3 other couples and had a blast! All couples were in there early 30's to early 40's. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews and you always have a handfull of negative reviews which those people are always going to be unhappy at any place. The food was good. They always had something good at the buffet and we liked all of the ala carte resteraunts but the gourmet was our favorite. The staff was very friendly. We especially liked Dario at the lobby bar. We'll miss him. Not much for entertainment but the couple shows we went to were good. We stayed in the main hotel and did go to the snack bar by the villas which yes there is a lot of steps but for all of the people that complained about the steps you can take a shuttle. The elevator to the beach didn't bother us becuase you have a bar/bathroom at the beach. Some complained about the beach but it was nice, once you got in the water it was excellent sand and no rocks and the beach itself had great sand. We went on the booze/cruise and snorkeling tour thorugh the scuba hut on the beach and even though we had a boat breakdown for a short time it was great. Benjamin was on this tour and he also did our zipline tour and he is a great guy. Lived in the states for years so he speaks good english and knows his stuff. You can usually find him under the bridge/road to nowhere. A few of the other couples went on the whale watching tour and had a great time. The ziplines were excellent, got to each lunch on a beautiful beach. It was the walk the plank ziplines and we booked it in town at "Terry's Tours" I think it was $85/ea. They have shuttles that start at 10am and take you into town and there are plenty of little shops to go to. Always bargain and never pay the asking price. Overall it was a great resort and great town and I would say our only complaint was the language barrier. We speak minimal spanish and a lot of the people don't speak any english. My wife and I have been to Jamiaca and both said we'd go back to Jamaica before DR just becuase of the language barrier. One other thing I couldn't find when looking at reviews was the alcohol selection. The beer was Presidente which was the local beer and was great. They had all kinds of local rums and for top shelf liquor which was extra you could get Jack Daniels and some others.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel in the upper floors. Any room you'll get a sea view. Ask for one that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lchristman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksvaerk, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Bahia Principe Cayacoa is situated in an excellent location, easy access to Samana town with street life and local tour operators, as well as an amazing view of the Samana Bay and its surroundings. The outdoor pool area impresses with its location among lush tropical vegetation and the sea below. Easy access to an excellent beach with elevator. The staff is helpful, courteous and very service minded. The a'la carte option (3 nights a week) was excellent, giving some variety to the usual buffet, which was a bit too influenced by non-Caribbean cuisine (burgers, hotdogs, pizza) - would have liked a larger variety in salads, and seafood. Also, we enjoyed the grilled lunch at the beach on several occasions.
Unfortunately, we were suffering from a lot of noise from the terrace at the end of our stay, especially on Super Bowl night, which was transmitted on a big screen at full volume.
Free Wi-fi is only available in the hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the terrace, if you want to enjoy a peaceful evening on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnieFrederiksvaerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

had a fantastic stay at the cayacoa for two weeks jan23rd/6thfeb. the hotels location high on a hilltop is outstanding with beautiful views in every direction you are looking. the staff there welcomed us there from as soon as we arrived after our long journey from uk and long coach transfer. All the staff here are the most helpfull and friendly we have ever come across.The management team must be training their staff very well as most of them could be working in any top class hotel anywhere in the world.We had a great room in one of the villas overlooking the small pool and great veiw of the sea.There where many steps to climb to get to main building but the walk may have helped keep some of the weight gain after eating too much of the excellent food we kept having from the buffet.The alacart resturants are good and the staff there treat you like v.i.p.s thanks carlos for making us laugh so much.Some other reviews have said that the beach is small and dirty. small it maybe but not dirty.Staff work really hard to keep it cleared at different times of the day especially after rain.To make the beach bigger it would mean cutting through rocks and trees this would spoil the natural beauty of the bay.We met some lovely people during our stay english/canadians/belgums/ danish eveyone was friendly towards each other it really helped us to have such a nice time. The cleaning staff also need to be mentioned as everywere was cleaned to the highest standard.If you fancy a change of scene take the free shuttle into town which goes from the lobby every hour. Its good to look in the shops ..and have a stroll by the harbour . The shopkeepers may try to call you in to look but didnt find too much pressure to buy anything if you didnt want to as a few others have said. Overall this is a beautifull hotel to relax and enjoy yourself meet new people enjoy good food and excellent drinks at the bar. Our only wish would be for Thomson company to realise that a lot more people would visit this beautifull part of the island if they start to fly into samana in the winter instead of a four hour bus journey.

Room Tip: every room has a good view. if you are less able choose a room in the main building to avoid the ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second time here. In my opinion the resort lives up to its 4.5 star rating from the food to the rooms to the service to the beach. Check-in was done during the bus ride from the airport. All we had to do upon arrival was to have our lunch and then direct the porter to our luggage which was promptly delivered to our room where a mickey of rum was waiting for us on the bed. The Maitre de and a couple of waiters remembered us from last year and happily greeted us in the dining room. During the day there is bocce ball, archery, darts, horseshoes and volleyball available on the beach for your pleasure as well as enjoying the water. We did not find the beach too small as others have commented. Water is clean and the bottom is nice hard sand. There is different types of entertainment at night and a few daily excursions if you are so inclined. We never bothered with the al a carte restaurants, but heard that they were quite good. We were happy with the quality and variety of the food in the buffet. They also had a barbeque on the beach on Saturday and Sunday, so we did not even have to take the elevator up to the buffet. (In case you did not know, there is an elevator to take you down to the beach about 8 or 10 stories, because the hotel is situated on top of a hill.)
Last year we took advantage of the Golden Club which gave us a junior suite and a few extra perks. The only problem was that the suites are at the bottom of a large hill with a private secluded beach away from the main building . The walk up the hill is too much for most people, (unless you are 25, and we are considerably older) so they run a shuttle service every ten minutes up and down the hill. We asked to move up to the main building and had to forgo the suite for a standard room, but we were still satisfied with that.
We went whale watching one day, went into town a couple of times, and went on an all day excursion to see the area. The hotel provides free transport to town every hour. It only takes 5 minutes.
We certainly enjoyed our stay and would return again in a few years.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms would be awesome followed by those facing west and then those facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
15.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 62 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
11.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
67.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing