We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We got off to a rocky start with our room not quite being ready and our A/C not working, but everything else was great. They do a lot to try and remedy any complaints. The staff were incredible, super friendly and helpful. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and the room was nice and comfortable. The pools were nice. The beach left a little to be desired, but it was not too bad. We used some vendors on the beach for our excursions. They warn you against doing that at the resort, but we had a lot of fun and there were no problems whatsoever. The food was pretty good too. They try and change it up at the buffet at least a little bit, and there's enough to pick from that you don't have to eat the same thing everyday. The a la carte restraunts were great too. I didn't have a problem finding food that was good, which is saying something since I'm about as picky as they come. The power goes out a lot there, so if you set the alarm clock chances are pretty good it wont actually go off. The front desk is really good about getting you a wake up call on time though. I highly recommend this resort, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennybeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Mrs. Jennybeak:
We hope you had a nice trip back home and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to manifest your impressions about us.
The customer feedback helps us improve and elevate our service. We are happy to see that we have achieved your satisfaction.
We hope to have you in the near future with us and please remember write us before your next trip!
Thanks again for your comments
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,952)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,920 - 1,926 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed from 19 Dec to 2 Jan and enjoyed evey minute of the stay. The staff are fantastic, animation team, buffet staff and the bar staff, all great! Daria, Angel, Fernando, Wanda and Emmi especially stood out and it was always a pleasure to see them. We also met some fab people especially two Canadian girls from Montreal, Gayle and Pat, sorry we missed you on your departure. You can contact us on anthmurr@aol.com. We found the buffet good with a wide choice and it was always topped up even toward the end of the evening. Drinks were easy to get and the waitress service second to none. Some days were rainy but the hotel has good reception areas and plenty of space around the bar to relax and watch the rain till the sun comes out. The Christmas Eve and New Year Gala Dinners were great with a large selection and plenty to eat. Our only slight niggle was the food was not as hot as we like. We will deffinatly be returning and we can't wait!

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the town can be noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Tony M:
We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel and also for taking time to share your comments with our TripAdvisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service and facilities we put our greatest interest and value in our guest´ opinion.
It is a real pleasure to us to get yours impressions. We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us. We regret your comments regarding the food temperature but at the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.
We would love to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel and please remember write us before your next trip
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. Food good, hotel clean. Beach small, not a walkers beach. Recreation staff was excellent esp Jose A. And Fernando. Resort offered night time entertainment but once it was over not much other night life at resort. Shopping in town not great and shopping in resort expensive. Lots of hills and steps to climb to get up from some of the villas. Would recommend staying in main hotel. Shuttle service was provided and it ran very frequently. This includes shuttle to town and back. Small area of sales on beach and towns people a bit pushy but not overly. Beach gets very busy when cruise ships in town. All beaches public. Overall a nice resort. Would return again or return to stay at another bahai principe resort on island.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fame402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review about our property and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We would like you to know that your positive feedback is very much appreciated.
It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your holiday and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you will probably be coming back.
We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.
Please write to us before you arrive in case you need assistance, we will be more than happy to help you.
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Dec 15 - 19 Went by way to quick!!!! Went as a family for Christmas. Had an amazing vacation!! The hotel staff made this trip memorable!!! Dadys, Manuel, Claudio, Carlos and David always made sure you were takin care of at the resturants. Dario, Manuel. Victor & Angel always made the perfect drinks!! Who can forget Cristian & Pierre they were always smiling and dancing while serving drinks at the pool. Last but not least the animation crew. Never a dull moment and always full of surprises. Jairo, Fernando (Akon), Juan, Yeson, Felix, Carolin and Jose (Spaghetti) Evening Dancers Manuel, Emmanuel, Cely & Mary.

I would return in a heart beat!!!

Room Tip: Upgraded to the seaview room. Amazing view!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
Is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff, especially to our Animation and Food & Beverage employees. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please remember write us before your next visit.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon our arrival met by a cold drink and told room not quite ready...not a problem, had a look around and a bite to eat in buffet restaurant. After lunch, room ready. Very nice rooms...had one overlooking the bay on top (5th) floor. Friends had a seaview, same floor...awesome views.

After settling in, went to book ala cartes. Told we had only 3 whereas Air Canada Priviledges said 4.No problem it takes sometimes a little too long to eat there. Average around 2 hours. We had a large group (12) and trying to get everyone together sometimes impossible. One dinner our family only. Prior to going on our trip, I asked in advance to have a reservation for the New Years Eve Gala dinner set up for the 12 of us. Was told there would be one for us, no problem. When we went to confirm this, it seemed all new to them. They gave us a slip for our party anyways. Upon arrival for the 8:30 seating, told it was too many of us for one table and that they didn't do more than 10 at a table. Funny thing was, there was a table for 14 right next to us. Not too happy about squeezing into a table of 4 with a round table of 8, Daddys and Raphael made best the situation and offered us a complimentary bottle of wine. They explained to us, there was no record of reservation. Point here, if told one thing...get in in writing and with a name. Even then, no guarantee. Meal itself okay, nothing special.

The food in the buffet in general is tasty but often repetitive. The ala cartes better quality but often not enough quantity. I felt the gourmet was the best of the bunch with the seafood next and then the italian. Another word of caution...men must have CLOSED TOE shoes for dinner for the ala cartes. But after viewing one male patron with sandals on and confirming this after talking to them outside the restaurant, both the restaurant manager and hostess denied that they were in there. They refused our friend entry earlier. Seems a little fishy...who you know maybe? The food and beverage manager Raphael was called and situation was explained. He apologized and made sure we were looked after the next night in the italian restaurant.

The hotel offered many things to do for both children and adults. Day trips were numerous and both Juan and Carlitos explained everything. We tried SCUBA in the pool...very good. A group of people went to see the sea lions on "Bacardi Island" aka Cayo Laventado. More went deep sea fishing and others went ziplining with "Walk the Plank" zip line tours done through Air Canada. The animation staff were wonderful and we had a lot of fun at some of the shows. The wait staff and bartenders were excellent all the time. A little tip here and there is very appreciated. My favourite was Evelyn at the beach bar. Nice bloody marys almost tasted little caesars. If looking for clamato juice, it can found in gift shop outside front lobby but very expensive. Town is a short shuttle away and wine and other necessities can be purchased there a lot cheaper than at hotel. You can bring your own wine to the ala cartes...do it as the house wine is a little rough.

Trip from airport quick and I mean really quick...fast drivers. Joel from Air Canada met us at airport and very helpful here and at the hotel. Doesn't deserve the negative reviews previously posted.

All in all a good trip with a good bunch of friends and family. Yes it is a little harder with a group of 12 but they try to fix their mistakes. Just get their names when promised something. Beautiful hotel, nice location, average food and most of the time great service. A lot of steps, especially if elevator is broken to get to beach...happened one day.

Last note of caution for the Canadians coming home from Samana airport. The manager at the duty free shop will try to sell you more alcohol than allowed by customs. Only 1.14 litres a person is allowed. He tells everyone that two bottles...any size allowed. I wish, lol.

Room Tip: Higher floors, less noise I feel. But rooms overlooking bay will pick up town noise and disco noise...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Pyac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:
In the name of our General Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing us and for sharing the experience you had in our hotel during your holidays.
We would like you to know that we put our best interest and value in our guest opinion; we also take note of those comments that indicate opportunity for improvement.
Also we want to thank you for taking the time to write this review about our property and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We would like you to know that your positive feedback is very much appreciated.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel is on a cliff, surrounded by small lush mountains, lovely walkways and gardens with private gazebos. Our room was 441 facing the harbour and the town. Very pretty, especially at night. Villas are further down. Shuttles were always available to take you down, or up. An elevator takes you down to the beach, or you can walk down on the north side. Lovely, warm staff at the reception, main bar, beach bar and the restaurants, . Made some special friends at the buffet. Leonardo, Claudio, Emperatriz, Yistel, Esterlin, Carlos, Julio, David, Dady's and three greeters, Wanda Mirelba an Emmi etc. Can't remember all the names! Had very nice conversations with the Privilege Club group. Juan Vargas, Joselin Gomez, Martin and Antonio. All three restaurants were quite good but I preferred eating at the buffet. (Dominican food).Very clean, quiet and relaxing environment. Not a party place

Room Tip: Al rooms have good views . Not sure about some on the first floor. First floor hotels in the Caribbe...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, as this is the best way for us to continue to improve in all areas.
We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us.
We would love to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel.
Please do not hesitate on contacting us before your netx trip
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our trip was fantastic from start to finish,When we arrived I asked if we could have a room on the main floor due to my wife's condition as she has a hard time going up and down stairs and at the check in they said no problem.Our room was beautiful our balcony was overlooking the bay great view.The staff was very friendly anything you needed all you had to do just ask.The fridge in our room was restocked every day,the food was the best we ever had in the DR.I would recomend this hotel to anybody.Looking forward to go back someday.The beach is small but OK.

Room Tip: Any room with 200 numbers ocean view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member
First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory.
We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.
We hope to welcome you again here with us and thank you in person your great comments,
Greetings from Samana,
Albis Corredor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
880 reviews
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
805 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,722 reviews
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: $121 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing